We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view on the river”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have got a large, nice room on one of the upper floors with view on the river. Large LCD screen. Location is good close to the center and the French Quarter. However very complicated and expensive parking (only valet parking). Could be useful to look for a public parking near the hotel. During night it was dangerous to go to the French quarter (in the halloween night a lot of crime there).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George123Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    1,349
    686
    217
    105
See reviews for
459
820
125
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here one night for a business trip (convention). Room was ok, clean, decent. Pillows were soft, and the bed was just right for sleeping. Was in a far end room, so it was quiet as well. Booked online, had no problems with my booking and room was ready when I arrived.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuvalooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is pretty architecturally common. Nothing spectacular inside or outside. Looks more like a mid / late '80 hotel. Clean hotel, courteous staff and very helpful. The rooms are well cleaned and supplied and the beds are extraordinary nice. If I would have a comment is that the hotel feels a bit dated...some plumbing needs upgrading, and an inventive paint job is needed in some areas. Something to bring it to New Orleans style....not another Marriott. Also the furniture would need a new look, but I guess is ok. Food at the 5 / 5 / 5 is also OK, nothing spectacular. Overall is OK...but not great as one would expect from a hotel in a such privileged location and spectacular view to the Mississippi.

Room Tip: pick a room with the view to the Mississippi river - and choose the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

check in was easy and location is great. Hotel/Room was clean, pools always fun, the bar they set up outside one of the days was a great touch, and they had staff along the pool to bring you drinks as well. Cleaning dept always had our room cleaned quickly and efficently. the only thing that I didnt like, and this is small and just a personal preference, but the incense used in the lobby gave me a huge headache, so I had to get through it quick and not linger in the lobby too long but overall I really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Last minute 3 night getaway for Mardis Gras and Fat Tuesday(last day of Mardis Gras). Location is great, Canal street is on the parade route and the hotel is on the outer edge of the French Quarter which is a good place to be unless you don't plan to sleep. Bourbon street is only a couple blocks away and many good restaurants within a couple minutes walk. If into gambling the Harrahs casino is also a short walk. Price was very reasonable for the location and quality. Check in was very fast, room was nice, clean, comfortable and staff was friendly. Bed was comfortable and room was adequately quiet for Mardis Gras. There's a lot going on and it's loud well into the morning hours. Room service was good with good quality food. Buffet was also good and reasonably priced. No complaints, ate a lot of seafood, enjoyed the party and hauled a bunch of beads home.

Room Tip: If staying during Mardis Gras don't expect it to be perfectly quiet and expect to walk a few blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefandchickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

During Mardi Gras we stayed at the New Orleans Marriott for the second time. This is a great property in every respect. Location, staff, amenities. Very quiet rooms and such comfortable beds they encourage you to hit the snooze. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keepthosebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here 1 night as we were getting on a cruise the next day. It is located in the French Quarter and close to the Garden District.
We were on the 16th floor overlooking Decatur St. and Canal St. Lovely view from our window.
Check in went smoothly and we were in our rooms very quickly.
The room was large and clean. You have to pay for internet service in your room, but I went down to the lobby with my tablet and you can access it there for free.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing