We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Very Few Perks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel was clean and it is centrally located in New Orleans. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and accomodating. The drawback is that you have to pay for every little thing! Parking is outrageous! Internet service is not free unless you are in the lobby. It's pricey at $15 a day. With the price of the room, those things should be free for guests! Just not happy with the digging at my pocketbook!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,481)
There are newer reviews for New Orleans Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,674 - 2,680 of 3,481 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Valet parking is $36+ and very rude, they broke the key to my Lexus
And didn't tell me about it till we checked out on Sunday. They had to give us plyer to turn on the car. These ppl don't car about your car they just want to get a tip and move you out the way. They said they are going to pay for it will see.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEXAS-SA-2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Perfect location! Right by Bourbon and Royal Streets, a short walk to the French Market. Clean, and very friendly staff. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cootersugarbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We ended up with this room through the "name your price" on Priceline. It was Easter weekend so a crowd was possible. We stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday. I called on our way to NO, around 3:30 pm, to request a king size bed. I was told one had just come available but the room was not clean yet. I let the lady know we would be a while. We arrived at the hotel around 7:30 that evening and the room still wasn't ready. Luckily we didn't need to change clothes for dinner reservations because we left our luggage with the front desk and went out for dinner. Long story short, we didn't get back to the room until late and didn't pay much attention to detail. We left the room early Saturday morning and when we got back, noticed there was what looked like a soft drink splattered on the wall, toothpaste on the bathroom wall and what had to have been vomit on the side of the toilet. Since it was so late and we were leaving the next morning, I didn't bother saying anything until we checked out. The desk clerk apologized as if it was no big deal.

Don't plan on having left overs to save and keep for later. The rooms don't have refrigerators. Also, the hotel has Pepsi products.

The hotel is in a great location if you plan to walk around the French Quarter. It's an average hotel and I'll probably stay again if that's where Priceline puts me. I did name my price for a 4 star hotel and I just didn't see it here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed 1 night and left for another hotel. Bed had some type of pillow top that did not fit, ended in a lumpy mess. Blanket was a puff type of thing that weighed about 15 pounds, not too good for sleeping. Pillows were a couple of blob type things that had no filling. Elevator binged all night down the hall. No one really cared one way or the other as the front desk help was all foreign. Room was small and filled with furniture, hotel is old-- even has popcorn ceilings.The charge to park was $34 and the internet fee was $13 per night. Bad experience.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Got the Marriott on Canal on Kayak for a really great price. I was worried that being on the edge of the quarter would be inconvenient, but it was truly a perfect location. For being such a large hotel the service was outstanding. I mentioned that it was my birthday while checking in and was upgraded to a corner river view room at no charge. Awesome! The beds were delicious - I love white bedding with duvets! Rooms were really clean and I thought the elevator system was really neat and efficient. Yes, parking was $33/night + tax, but where in the quarter isn't it high? I would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reneeover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Comfortable large, full-service hotel in a "perfect" location to enjoy both the French Quarter and the central business district. Our king-size bed room had a spectacular view of the city.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor in the River Tower, with either a river or city view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $179 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing