We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bar, Great Location, Decent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Monteleone is a very clean and nice hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Unfortunately during my stay, they were completing construction and the restaurant was not open. However, the Carousel Bar was and it is quite beautiful. The rooms are very basic and on the small side, but that is to be expected for a hotel of that age.

I was here for a conference and the one day I had to sleep in was the day the construction crew needed to use the jackhammer at 8 AM. Other than that, everything else was "acceptable". The staff is very nice and, as mentioned, the rooms and overall hotel are very clean. This hotel is in a great location with almost everything you'll want to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavanburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,542 - 6,548 of 7,614 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I brought 15 friends to New Orleans for the first time to experience the City and Mardi Gras. Having stayed at this property before, I knew it would be the perfect hotel for all there is to see and do in the French Quarter. Not to mention it's only a block away from the parades on Canal Street. Everyone in my party was completely impressed with the Hotel and their staff. The rooms have almost as much character as the employees. You never get a corporate or brand hotel feel, you know you're in a nice property. The Hotel's famous Carousel Bar is a great atmosphere for drinks, conversation and the live music is great. I would highly recommend the Hotel Monteleone for anyone looking to experience the French Quarter by walking around. This is a great hotel full of history.

Room Tip: This hotel is 1 block off Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, which is great, but the crowd noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Montelone is a wonderful place to stay. It is perfectly situated on Royal St. so you can grab the street car or head towards Frenchman St to catch great music. Our room was great and the service exceptional. I did recommend, however, that they should put bottled water in the rooms daily. Other than that, we plan on staying there on our next visit. And don't miss the Carousel. Very unique, great drinks and entertainment nightly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Spent 5 days in NOLA for our wedding anniversary so we wanted someplace special. The Hotel Monteleone did not disappoint! Staff was very courteous and accommodating, gave us a terrific room with a view when they heard it was our anniversary. Room was clean and comfortable, housekeeping service was great. I like a hotel where you can count on housekeeping coming to tidy up the room at pretty much the same time every day. They were great, very efficient and friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful, has undergone a big renovation. We liked the historic building and modern amenities make all the difference when it comes to comfort. This Hotel got it exactly right. Would go back in a heartbeat. LOCATION CAN'T BE BEAT, you are literally steps away from the heart of the French Quarter, we were easily able to walk everywhere. TERRIFIC OVERALL, will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. First floor has a bar that can get a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceisacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I just stayed the weekend here. It was a beautiful "historic style" hotel. The service was wonderful. We stayed in the traditional king and it was more than we could of hoped for even though the room and bath were small. You feel like you are in old New Orleans. The decor is very "French". Great Location. Walk around the corner and your on Bourbon! The doorman suggested breakfast a short walk away at Mena's Palace. Nothing fancy but great hashbrowns and eggs and the coffee is good and strong! Mr. B's bistro is just across the street. We will definitley stay here on our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I love this hotel. On Royal in the French Quarter and lots of parking. Not cheap, but optimizes both convenience and quiet. Easy walk to Arnaud's for dinner and antique shops. Always has lots or room, great service and has always been clean. Like to take a bottle of wine to the rooftop pool to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvanderford60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for a business conference which coincided with the very beginning of Mardi Gras. It's a perfect location for going to the parades and for quick forays to Bourbon Street. Also can easily walk around the French Quarter We were on the 11th floor and still had plenty of street noise especially Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDawg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,867 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,543 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $240 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing