We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Here for Mardi Gras and you couldn't ask for a better location. One (crucial) block off Bourbon Street near Arnaud's and Brennan's. For the money the rooms are small but hey it is a 125 year old hotel so it is quaint rather than confining. The Carousel Bar off the lobby actually turns like a carousel and is always packed. Staff is nice and the place feels very safe-even during the craziness leading up to Fat Tuesday!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,543
    1,502
    451
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,140
2,555
214
1,411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A beautiful hotel. My stay - room 339 Feb 11- Feb 15. Two problems: 1) Less important - their rediculous Wifi charge of $10/day. Nobody charges for wifi anymore. 2) We unfortunately encountered very loud and continuous construction noise beginning at 7AM on Monday Feb 13. When we called the front desk, they offered to move us to another room. TOO LATE. While moving may have provided restful sleep for Monday and Tuesday night, it did not come close to providing restful sleep or making up for the night our sleep was disturbed - a night, I might add - that came at a substantial cost. Further explanation was that the restaurant work had to be completed that week so that it would be ready for Mardi Gras. l guess my stay was not as important. Anyway - major disappointment that no discount, or even a free drink for that matter, was offered. It would have meant a lot. Doormen were great. I do not think I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask about construction. They obviously knew they would be working the week I went, and if I asked I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Rob B,

We would like to apologize not only for the construction noise during your recent stay with us but the way it was handled as well. Although, we cannot change how the situation was treated, we appreciate you sharing this information with us so we can ensure it does not happen in the future. Once again we are truly sorry, you and all of our guests deserve nothing but the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in a more elegant area of the French Quarter devoted to antique shops and an historical mini-museum. The rooms are small and basic, but clean and updated. Expect a very long wait (over 20 minutes in line on all the days that I was there) for the elegant breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealLilyBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a special night! My husband and I stayed in a Jr. Suite at the hotel for Valentine's Day.
The room is beautiful and spotless! We had a lovely view of the Mississippi River and a slice of
the French Quarter as well. Bed was so comfortable and room service was excellent.
The staff could not be more helpful and professional. The hotel has been updated and the fabric
and furniture is truly beautiful. And the Carousell Bar is so fun. Bartender was personable and knew his New Orleans drinks! I think this hotel is good for all categories of travelers!
The location is perfect for French Quarter, which we love.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Monteleone is a very clean and nice hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Unfortunately during my stay, they were completing construction and the restaurant was not open. However, the Carousel Bar was and it is quite beautiful. The rooms are very basic and on the small side, but that is to be expected for a hotel of that age.

I was here for a conference and the one day I had to sleep in was the day the construction crew needed to use the jackhammer at 8 AM. Other than that, everything else was "acceptable". The staff is very nice and, as mentioned, the rooms and overall hotel are very clean. This hotel is in a great location with almost everything you'll want to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavanburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I brought 15 friends to New Orleans for the first time to experience the City and Mardi Gras. Having stayed at this property before, I knew it would be the perfect hotel for all there is to see and do in the French Quarter. Not to mention it's only a block away from the parades on Canal Street. Everyone in my party was completely impressed with the Hotel and their staff. The rooms have almost as much character as the employees. You never get a corporate or brand hotel feel, you know you're in a nice property. The Hotel's famous Carousel Bar is a great atmosphere for drinks, conversation and the live music is great. I would highly recommend the Hotel Monteleone for anyone looking to experience the French Quarter by walking around. This is a great hotel full of history.

Room Tip: This hotel is 1 block off Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, which is great, but the crowd noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Montelone is a wonderful place to stay. It is perfectly situated on Royal St. so you can grab the street car or head towards Frenchman St to catch great music. Our room was great and the service exceptional. I did recommend, however, that they should put bottled water in the rooms daily. Other than that, we plan on staying there on our next visit. And don't miss the Carousel. Very unique, great drinks and entertainment nightly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,067 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing