We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wonderful hotel and a great staff. From the door man on up they are committed to making sure your stay is a good one. I travel a lot and rarely do I find such a terrific hotel and staff. The rooms are very nice, some are a little small but still very nice. Their famous carousel bar is also a fun experience. They are located in a great section of the French Quarter and a block away from Bourbon St. so you are close to it and yet you’ll still have a quiet room when you want to sleep. The beds are also very comfortable and the shower has great water pressure, a very nice change from many hotels where the water barely comes out.

Room Tip: If you like to "people watch" ask for a room facing Royal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,441 - 6,447 of 7,617 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We attended a tourism conference here and the whole experience was exceptional! the service, food, rooms all wonderful!!! Than you for a wonderful conference!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for our anniversary trip in October of 2011. It was a bit of a splurge, as there are other hotels in the French Quarter that are cheaper, but this was worth it. The lobby is gorgeously decorated and massive. The service at the hotel was also great. We checked in on a Saturday and when we arrived at noon, they weren't ready for us, but they gladly held our bags and called a cell phone when the room was available. The room was not large by American standards, but it was comfortable and had plenty of space for luggage, had all the ameneties that anyone would need like hair dryer, nice clean bathroom, storage space, iron, etc. The rooftop pool was also fantastic. It was perfect for lounging, being in the water on a hot afternoon, and they also have a bar that serves food and drinks. The location of the hotel is wonderful, right in the heart of the French Quarter and within walking distance of many fantastic restaurants, attractions and the St. Charles streetcar.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great elegant hotel. Perfectly located in the French Quarter. You will not find a finer hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Admittedly, I am a New Orleans native, and this has always been the go-to hotel for locals in the Quarter.

That said, I highly recommend it, for every possible reason.

Starting with the staff .. The staff here is very friendly, helpful, and attentive. If you're a regular, they certainly remember you. When asked if I was staying for a special occasion, and mentioned I was coming home after a long time to celebrate a birthday, they upgraded me to a jr. suite, and added complimentary champagne, choc-covered strawberries, and a handwritten note. Class!

Location: Perfect location, close to all Quarter destinations without being in the thick of the noise and nuisance. It is also on Royal St., the "gem" of the Quarter streets.

Look: The hotel itself is beautiful. It is old world style, with a breathtaking lobby, especially at Christmas. Yes the rooms are smaller than your usual chain hotels, but please keep in mind this hotel has been in operation since the 1800s ... it's history. It's elegance. The rooms are spotlessly clean, decorated beautifully, and the beds are very comfortable.

Lagniappe: The Carousel Bar. Must be experienced to be believed. One can spend an entire evening, slowly moving around the room, and people watching, while sipping incredible drinks. Let's be honest. Can Faulkner and Tennessee Williams *really* be wrong?

If you can, don't miss the experience of the Hotel Monteleone!

Room Tip: You can see the Quarter from pretty much anywhere in the hotel ... you don't necessary need a &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CreoleTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I spent 4 days here with my family during Spring Break. The hotel is elegant and timeless. Its proximity to excellent restaurants and major French Quater attractions make doubly attractive. We took breakfast at the hotel each morning. The food and service cannot be beat. Our children loved the rooftop pool. The room, while a little small, was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I just returned from my yearly trip to New Orleans and The French Quarter Festival. I always stay at The Hotel Monteleone and have done so for many years. The Carousel Bar has been enlarged to include entertainment on the Monteleone Stage; very nice. Currently, the restaurants are closed for renovation but they still provide a buffet breakfast for those who are interested and room service 24/7 with good service and food. I request the larger of the preferred double rooms for myself and find the room is very accomodating and the bathroom is large with bath and granite tiles; my room is quiet and always very clean. The hotel itself is beautiful in architecture and perfectly located in the quarter; I highly recommend a stay. Laissez les bons temps rouler! Bon Jour

Room Tip: Larger of the preferred double rooms have a tendency to be on the higher floors and have a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,867 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,543 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $240 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing