We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel's prices are outrageous depending on the night of the week. The atmosphere is pleasant and the room was decent with a nice bathroom. There were no real amenities to speak of for the money but I'd recommend it due to it's location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PineNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,376
    1,472
    443
    199
    109
See reviews for
1,102
2,482
209
1,344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pencoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I based this pick on the history, look & location and was not disappointed. From the moment the ever present doorman opened the way all the staff were extremely helpful and by the second visit the breakfast team were calling me by name. I would point out that the concierge always seems to be in demand so some patience may be required.
My queen room matched the elegance of the hotel decor and was peaceful regardless of the hotel being on one of the main streets.
The hotel houses the revolving Carousel bar which was always busy with live music playing. At the time of visit the hotel restaurant was going through a refurbishment so I can only comment on the breakfast buffet which was reasonably price and very plentiful.
Stepping out of the hotel almost every required location is just a few minutes’ walk away. Left to Canal St, right to St Louis Cathedral, up to Bourbon St and down to the Mississippi River so it could not be better located.
Overall because it’s not one of the larger chain hotels on Canal St, and is still family owned, the staff makes you feel very welcome and they've maintained the old look throughout.

Room Tip: Given the location if you want a room with a view then you only have the Mississippi the choose from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

I attended a convention at the hotel. Meeting facilities were very nice. I stay at many chain hotels for work so this was a treat. The last night my 2 children joined me and the rooms are small for 4 people. They were out of double rooms so the front desk offered me a king bed room with no windows that was larger and could hold a roll away bed. This worked great!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wonderful hotel and a great staff. From the door man on up they are committed to making sure your stay is a good one. I travel a lot and rarely do I find such a terrific hotel and staff. The rooms are very nice, some are a little small but still very nice. Their famous carousel bar is also a fun experience. They are located in a great section of the French Quarter and a block away from Bourbon St. so you are close to it and yet you’ll still have a quiet room when you want to sleep. The beds are also very comfortable and the shower has great water pressure, a very nice change from many hotels where the water barely comes out.

Room Tip: If you like to "people watch" ask for a room facing Royal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We attended a tourism conference here and the whole experience was exceptional! the service, food, rooms all wonderful!!! Than you for a wonderful conference!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone for our anniversary trip in October of 2011. It was a bit of a splurge, as there are other hotels in the French Quarter that are cheaper, but this was worth it. The lobby is gorgeously decorated and massive. The service at the hotel was also great. We checked in on a Saturday and when we arrived at noon, they weren't ready for us, but they gladly held our bags and called a cell phone when the room was available. The room was not large by American standards, but it was comfortable and had plenty of space for luggage, had all the ameneties that anyone would need like hair dryer, nice clean bathroom, storage space, iron, etc. The rooftop pool was also fantastic. It was perfect for lounging, being in the water on a hot afternoon, and they also have a bar that serves food and drinks. The location of the hotel is wonderful, right in the heart of the French Quarter and within walking distance of many fantastic restaurants, attractions and the St. Charles streetcar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great elegant hotel. Perfectly located in the French Quarter. You will not find a finer hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing