We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel...Clean and Upscaled” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel...Clean and Upscaled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is exactly what you would expect from a Westin Hotel.

When you arrive, you are taken to the 11th floor lobby by way of a glass elevator. 11th Floor? "YES!" The hotel is above a local upscaled mall which includes shops like Anthropology and has a Starbucks. The hotel is on Canal near the river a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street.

The lobby is very upscaled. The rooms are large and well appointed. The beds are VERY comfortable. The staff is attentive.

If you rent a car, there is a valet parking or, if you choose, there is a garage attached to the hotel with parking for less than half of the cost of valet parking.

I was very happy with my stay, and I will choose this hotel on my next visit to New Orleans (The Big Easy).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamlipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad you enjoyed your guest room as well as a rejuvenating sleep in our Heavenly Bed. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    523
    264
    103
    60
See reviews for
284
411
54
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right on the edge of the French Quarter. Lobby and meeting rooms were nice. Concierge was very helpful with boarding passes. Rooms look a little worn. The purpose of my recent stay was a business meeting. Check out was fine. However, after being home for a few days, noticed on my charge that the hotel tacked around $7.00 onto my bill. Called hotel and they told me it was the mini bar--hard for that to happen since I didn't even take the mini bar key!!! Said they'd credit my account. Would have chalked this up to an unfortunate error until I found out that this also happened to several of my colleagues...Not a good practice, Westin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindybelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location convenient and our Concierge associates to be helpful. Please accept our apologies on the billing inaccuracies. Rest assured, we are investigating these issues. Thank you for your patience and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for the mardi gra celebration the location was perfect, in the middle of everything, if u stay here you probably wana take a high floor away from all the noise, the hotel is preety quiet, every night it was a peacefull sleep even in the midts of mardi graw, i had a great time, hotel room was clean, very nice and spotless, bathroom was clean, the shower head is AMAZING! i took like 1hr showers ..hahaha....i have only good things to say about this hotel, i didnt really deal with the staff much for i was in and out, but check in was great the guy was professional and helpful, so i would definately recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: If you go during mardi graw, id suggest higher floors away from nosie, but i think lower floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsKid1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for choosing The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to spend your Mardi Gras celebration. We are glad you enjoyed our location and amenities, especially our Heavenly Bed & Bath line. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three days on business and it was a great stay. The room is updated and clean. The staff was very professional and friendly. The hotel is in a great location where you can walk to the French Quarter and "touristy" attractions. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajamani369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place as well as your time in New Orleans. We are glad you agree that our hotel is in a great location and in close proximity to attractions.

We look forward to your next relaxing and rejuvenating stay with us.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANSAS CITY, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to the French Quarter and Harrah's casino. I didn't like having to enter one elevator in the shopping area, take it to the hotel lobby and enter another elevator. I stayed on the 20th floor and had a beautiful view of the river. The room was large with two double beds, I was surprised there wasn't two queens since that seems to be the norm in room with two beds. The room was outdated. The rug was old and was pulling up from the baseboards. The bathroom was large and I liked the extra room but I noticed that the tiles around the shower were stained. I did like the two shower heads in the shower and it worked well.

The pool at the top of the hotel was very nice and the view was wonderful. It closes at 10:00 PM and I wished it stayed open longer so you could sit out there on warm nights after a evening out.

This hotel could be a wonderful place to stay, if the management would just remodel it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Westin. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the beautiful view from your guest room and rooftop pool deck. We are sorry for some of the conditions you encountered in your guest room. We are currently working on correcting these issues and appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Enjoyed the short time spent at the Westin New Orleans. The hotel is very central to everything I needed. The GM came to the restaurant and greeted guests...very nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your compliments on The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be central to the sights of New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future for another relaxing and rejuvenating retreat.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

While the hotel is in an ideal location (walking distance to French Quarter and Business District) and our room had a great French Quarter/River view, the interior was generally lacking. The set-up was a bit awkward with the lobby on the 12th floor and then a separate elevator bank to get up to the gust floors. The elevators are old and a bit shaky. Our room was a typical Westin room with comfortable beds and nice shower products, but the bathtub's drain was clogged. Our room was cleaned every day to satisfaction, but we noticed each morning there were glasses and leftover drinks littering the hallways and elevator lobbys that would stay there all day.
We did enjoy the Green Bar in the hotel; it was a great place to grab drinks before heading out for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awesometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you found the location to be convenient to the sights of New Orleans and enjoyed the view from your guest room.

Please accept my apologies on the confusion of our lobby layout as well as our elevators. We are currently preparing for a full elevator renovation that will correct the issues you had stated. We appreciate your patience in this matter and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#76 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing