We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just stayed at the hotel and while nothing the rooms are typical Westin rooms (which is a good thing) the resturant is good, but you are in New Orleans and not eating at the Westin much I hope... The views from the room and the pool are top notch.

They need to update the furniture on the pool deck, it is very outdated so we did not stay long to hang out in the sun... however I went up every morning to enjoy the amazing view of the Miss. River and the french quarter...etc

If you can get a decent price on this hotel its going to be a great choice... so close to the quarter but close enough to walk to many of the great places to eat in the Warehouse District... Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High Room ask for side closer to the quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you were able to start your day, refreshed, with the magnificent views of the French Quarter and Mississippi River. We are also pleased you found the location to be convenient to the sights of New Orleans.Thank you for the recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    548
    276
    112
    62
See reviews for
311
434
56
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, location for enjoying the quarter and river perfect, room clean and comfy, property extremely considerate of my Jack Russell constant companion. What more could I have needed?...the attached upscale shopping mall didn't hurt;)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for compliments on The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad you enjoyed our staff, location and guest room.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was very impressed with the Westin. I loved the location being right on the edge of the French quarter. There are so many things in walking distance from this hotel. My only complaint was the elevators were a little slow so you have to plan on sometime to get on them. I loved the room great open space.

If you stay here be sure to go up to the pool. The rooftop pool is amazing and just a great place to take a six pack of beer and hang out. I loved looking over the Miss. river and just chilling. I would book this place again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you were so impressed with The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad you found our location to be convenient to the sights of New Orleans. Thank you for stopping by our rooftop pool deck. It truly is an incredible experience to view the French Quarter and Mississippi from such a great height. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, perhaps in the warmer months so you may take full advantage of our pool.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were able to check in early. Awesome! Great location-on the edge of the French quarter, and Harrah's is its neighbor. The trouble was that the room was a little shabby-stains on chairs, what looked to be red pepper flakes under the bathroom counter, and an odd, stale smell in the hallways and elevators. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was big. The night staff was very rude to my husband (FYI you cannot take pictures in the lobby unless you are taking pictures of family who you can easily photoshop out if you want plain lobby pics), and the price of a coke at the bar is THREE DOLLARS. I would stay here again, but only if I got a discounted rate. I'm sure there are more charming, friendlier places to stay in town. Oh-the valet guys are super sweet and nice. Maybe they should work at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for an even number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our location and were able to take advantage of an early check-in.
Please accept our apologies on some of the experiences you encountered. While you were pleased with some aspects of your visit, we are sorry for the negative experiences. Your feedback is very important to us as we are constantly working on improving our hotel and service.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Daivd Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is exactly what you would expect from a Westin Hotel.

When you arrive, you are taken to the 11th floor lobby by way of a glass elevator. 11th Floor? "YES!" The hotel is above a local upscaled mall which includes shops like Anthropology and has a Starbucks. The hotel is on Canal near the river a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street.

The lobby is very upscaled. The rooms are large and well appointed. The beds are VERY comfortable. The staff is attentive.

If you rent a car, there is a valet parking or, if you choose, there is a garage attached to the hotel with parking for less than half of the cost of valet parking.

I was very happy with my stay, and I will choose this hotel on my next visit to New Orleans (The Big Easy).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamlipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are glad you enjoyed your guest room as well as a rejuvenating sleep in our Heavenly Bed. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right on the edge of the French Quarter. Lobby and meeting rooms were nice. Concierge was very helpful with boarding passes. Rooms look a little worn. The purpose of my recent stay was a business meeting. Check out was fine. However, after being home for a few days, noticed on my charge that the hotel tacked around $7.00 onto my bill. Called hotel and they told me it was the mini bar--hard for that to happen since I didn't even take the mini bar key!!! Said they'd credit my account. Would have chalked this up to an unfortunate error until I found out that this also happened to several of my colleagues...Not a good practice, Westin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindybelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location convenient and our Concierge associates to be helpful. Please accept our apologies on the billing inaccuracies. Rest assured, we are investigating these issues. Thank you for your patience and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for the mardi gra celebration the location was perfect, in the middle of everything, if u stay here you probably wana take a high floor away from all the noise, the hotel is preety quiet, every night it was a peacefull sleep even in the midts of mardi graw, i had a great time, hotel room was clean, very nice and spotless, bathroom was clean, the shower head is AMAZING! i took like 1hr showers ..hahaha....i have only good things to say about this hotel, i didnt really deal with the staff much for i was in and out, but check in was great the guy was professional and helpful, so i would definately recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: If you go during mardi graw, id suggest higher floors away from nosie, but i think lower floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsKid1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for choosing The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to spend your Mardi Gras celebration. We are glad you enjoyed our location and amenities, especially our Heavenly Bed & Bath line. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing