We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic bar!”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
northern california
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic bar!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel has nice rooms, nothing super luxurious. In fact the rooms are the least intersting thing about Hotel Mazarin. The beds are quite nice with nice linens, but the room decor is average. The bathrooms are much nicer then the rooms, with beautiful showers. The best thing about the hotel is the lovely bar. It's not a typical roudy Bourbon street bar, but rather an elegant small enclave away from the crazy noise. Great if you are over 30!

The location is ideal. The hotel borders Bourbon street, but because it actually faces Bienville it's just a bit quiter. The staff is wonderful and friendly. The included breakfast is quite filling and includes typical continental items along with eggs, bacon, grits, cereal, fresh fruit and more.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonomazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,024
    975
    182
    91
    30
See reviews for
647
2,389
109
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Nice clean room. Tiled shower area. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chs247you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Perfect location, just steps from Bourbon St and yet no noise could be heard from our room.
The room was very comfortable, looks like they have just renovated it, super clean and cozy.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon grits, croisants, everything delicious.
We had a great time in New Orleans and the hotel Mazarin!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelicious7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I were given a gift of a one-night stay at Hotel Mazarin. We decided to make a full weekend of this and go for our anniversary. We arrived to the hotel almost a full 3 hours before check-in time and the staff was more than willing to permit us an early check-in. From the moment we walked into our room, we were in love! We loved everything from the design of the room, the comfortable bed, and the view of Bienville!
The breakfast was a typical continental breakast but the courtyard in which we enjoyed our breakfast was perfect!
The location of the hotel couldn't have been more convenient. Bourbon is around the corner and since the hotel is in the heart of the French Quartner, nothing is outside of walking distance.
My husband and I truly enjoyed everything about this hotel. The madelines at the front desk are delicious and addictive! The staff is quite accommodating and very helpful with any needs you may have! If you will be traveling to NOLA and you're looking for a new boutique hotel to try, you should definitely give Hotel Mazarin a chance!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located to the elevator. And if you want to go to sleep early, ear plugs may be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Had a quick overnight business trip and stayed here. I loved the non-traditional feel of the rooms. Very classic, with a number of modern touches. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. It's also in a great location. The breakfast that was included with the room stay was also delicious and there is a beautiful courtyard to enjoy it. Valet parking is a little steep, so it's probably best to leave the car if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our first visit to NOLA and when we return this will be our hotel. The staff was outstanding, thank you Solomon for all your advice and hospitality, thank you Larry and Manuel for your hospitality. Everyone showed how great NOLA is. The beds were oh so comfortable, the courtyard made for a great breakfast, I miss my breakfast. I just can't say enough about the staff from the front desk, doorman, housekeeping, and the ladies serving breakfast...Thank you for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We travel quite a lot on business and were excited to try out this newly renovated hotel. We often bring our 2 year old daughter with us when we travel and have been met with excellent customer service everywhere that we have traveled with her. We made reservations at the Hotel Mazarin for our week long business trip, only to find out that they did not offer a crib or roll-away bed option at all. When I contacted the hotel directly, I was advised that they did not cater to children and that, if we wanted her to have a place to sleep, we should purchase a suite with two rooms and two queen beds. We were so frustrated and disappointed with the lack of customer service that we cancelled our reservation and elected to stay at the Hyatt. This might be a great place for those traveling without children but we were sorely disappointed by the lack of customer service and the general disregard for our family's comfort. Their lack of service means that they've lost our money and our recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear georgifisher
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and bring it to our attention. While we may not offer the amenities you requested, I am disappointed to hear of unacceptable level of service you received. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that it will not be overlooked. I welcome you to provide more information by contacting me directly at michael.dezura@interstatehotels.com so I may address the issue appropriately and ensure it does not get repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,543 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,153 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,099 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing