We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great party balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great party balcony”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had to wait until after 4:00 before we could get into our room. The service was good. Several at the desk were very helpful. Our room was tiny but comfortable. I think that if a business is in the heart of such a historic place, it should reflect the history in many respects.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    1,144
    346
    118
    98
See reviews for
521
1,779
119
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was approxiamtely our 20th stay at the Royal Sonesta. We have a group of friends that stay in a bank of rooms for French Quarter Fest in April every year. The property is located in the middle of all the activity of Bourbon. Great location for the Fest. There are rooms on Bourbon and rooms facing the pool/courtyard. Location is best decided by your tolerance of noise. We totally enjoy the benefits and fun of Bourbon St., so we always bring earplugs.
The service is great. Restaurants around the hotel vary from the 5 stars to the pizza joints. Begue's was the restaurant in the hotel, but it has been closed for some time. There is a Sunday brunch which we have not eaten.
This is a wonderful hotel, albeit expensive. But IT IS the Quarter and it's an event weekend!

Room Tip: Decide how much noise you can tolerate, as rooms on Bourbon St. are noisy through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnMagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you so much for your years of loyalty to the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans! We’re pleased to know how much you enjoy coming back annually to attend the French Quarter Festival and our hotel’s prime location. If you like to experience Bourbon Street from your room and choose a Bourbon balcony room, don’t worry about bringing your earplugs; they’re provided complimentary at the front desk! And since you liked Begue’s Restaurant, you’ll love our Begue’s themed Sunday Champagne Brunches. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We loved this hotel! Our room was super...2 comfortable double beds, comfortable chairs, great housekeeping. Best hotel bathroom we've ever had in his country and abroad...mirrored on 2 walls, large marble counter, excellent lighting for make-up, hair dryer. Thick white bathrobes. Lobby, restaurant, bar, courtyard...all very nice. Friendly & helpful front desk staff, bell captain. Best location right on Bourbon Street across from Legends of Jazz plaza with enjoyable Dixieland bands in an outdoor setting. Close to Canal streetcars to Garden District, Audubon Park & Zoo, Botanic Garden, Sculpture garden, and within walking distance to the riverfront attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpsonDownsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Wow, we really appreciate such a rave review! We are thrilled that you felt pampered with the spacious bathroom and comfy robes while preparing for a day or night out at the various award-winning restaurants and entertainment located within walking distance from our front doors. We’re proud to provide our guests with such an authentic New Orleans experience complete with live Jazz, fresh Gulf seafood, and old world hospitality! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with everything you could ask for, in the heart of the French Quarter, right on Bourbon Street. The hotel is refined and tasteful, but step outside and you are swept up in the Bourbon Street craziness.

The staff was great, and the jazz club in the hotel is terrific (and mostly free). The Desire restaurant served the best Po Boy I had in town (try the soft shell crab po boy). The location can't be beat!

The pool area is an oasis. It is on the third floor and in the middle of the hotel. You wouldn't know you were on Bourbon Street. It was great.

MAKE SURE YOU REQUEST A ROOM OFF OF BOURBON STREET!!! The rooms on the B Street are really on B street, and people said the noise is terrible. Our room was overlooking the courtyard and in the back. It was silent and fantastic.

Room Tip: DO NOT ACCEPT A ROOM ON BOURBON STREET. We were on the 7th floor Royal Club level. It is excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorapWilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during the Final Four tournament, and we had a blast! The hotel is in SUCH a great spot, close to everything! We were very pleased that we were able to get a Garden View, as I had read the reviews about how loud Bourbon Street could be. We slept wonderfully!

We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, and it was delicious! Everyone we spoke with on the phone, in person, and who came to our room (room service, housekeeping, etc) were so nice and welcoming. We really enjoyed it!

The hotel is beautiful! I wasn't expecting it to be as gorgeous as it was. They have security at the door to keep out random wanderers (which is good because there are a lot of them on Bourbon!)

And the restaurant in the hotel was GREAT! We ate very well here one night, and resisted coming back (we like to try different things). Don't miss out on the great food!

Room Tip: If you want to party, get a balcony room. If you want to sleep, get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel has an awesome location. We have been to New Orleans many times and usually prefer to stay at the edge of the French Quarter. I was a little worried about staying right on Bourbon Street. Our room was on the 5th floor facing Bourbon Street. Because we were so high, the noise really did not affect us. Due to Bourbon Street being so narrow, we also did not get a good view of the street below. The room was nice, but the bathroom was extremely small and had no countertop space. The main issue we had was trying to reach the hotel by car. We arrived on a Friday around 7 PM, and it was almost impossible to reach the parking garage due to all the pedestrian traffic. Note that parking is $40/day. Overall a good place to stay if you want will be spending most of your time in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemKiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebringville Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent Easter weekend 2012 at the Royal Sonesta right on Bourbon Street. Wonderful hotel with superb service and friendly and helpful staff. The doorman Malcolm embodied the spirit of New Orleans - his wide and genuine smile was our first impression of the hotel upon arrival and every time we stepped through his doors, his happy outlook was contagious. One of the wait staff at the Jazz club also deserves our thanks. Tashara was trying to explain how much better her own homemade red beans and rice were than the restaurant variety, and finally she just decided to bring us some and let us decide for ourselves. Tashara, you are the story we tell first when people ask us about the trip! And you were right, your version was amazing - and the fried chicken was the best we ever tasted! Can't wait to return to New Orleans!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,122 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,561 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,105 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing