We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exactly what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

just what you need for a visit to the French Quarter!

Room Tip: The breakfast in the cafe is wonderful. Its quiet. There's a courtyard and no one knows about it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Effie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    733
    247
    100
    59
See reviews for
291
737
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If this hotel were in a different location it would maybe be worth around 50 bucks a night. Unfortunately, I paid five times that price. Where to begin: the staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. The ENTIRE hotel needs a renovation. There was no coffee with the coffee pot in the room. No conditioner in the room. There were random holes in the walls covered in plywood. The door to our balcony might as well have been a screen door for the amount of wind that came through it. The decor, carpet, odor, and especially TV were straight out of 1985. See attached photo of TV, which didn't work properly, and had a radio built in to the right half of the set (when did those go out of production?) If I have to stretch to find decent qualities, our balcony was interesting, and the location is nice. New Orleans is one of those town where hotels like this can get high rates on busy weekends. I encourage you to SEEK EVERY SINGLE OTHER OPTIONS BEFORE PICKING THIS HOTEL. Maybe after a while the owners will renovate and make the St. Marie what it should be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I liked that the hotel was close to Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to the party but quiet when I was ready for bed. The hotel is an older establishment so the rooms are small and there aren't very many plugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenmar5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had extended family in town for Mardi Gras...couldn't put them all up at our home, so we booked the Hotel St. Marie. Great staff--the front desk, valets, stewards, and even the housekeepers said hello with a smile! The rooms were just perfect for our needs-- a little dated, but very very clean. Close to all that the French Quarter and Bourbon Street offers but a little off the path so they could get some sleep. We joined our family for breastfast one morning in the Vacherie and what a great find--we will be back as "locals". The service was great, the bloody mary's were to die for and the food was outstanding--try the specials. We enjoyed it so much that we joined our group for dinner one night--again, another great meal and friendly service and also stayed over into the bar to watch the local sights of carnival. Again, we will be back and I will book future stays at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent one night in early February at the Hotel St. Marie after returning from a cruise.The Hotel St. Marie is just off of Bourbon on Toulouse within a block of Bourbon Street with very competitive rates. We were given a Toulouse Balcony room - shared with two other rooms - and had a birds eye view of all the action on Bourbon Street, but once we closed the door, we couldn't hear all the noise. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a charming courtyard with a small pool and a beautiful lobby. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The only drawback we had was when we tried to park our car there earlier than check-in time, their lot was full so we had to come back later. This location is within easy walking distance to everything in the vieux carre. We always enjoy the bars and music and usually finish our evening with dinner at the Red Fish Grill. We will definitely stay at the Hotel St. Marie again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kms430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was very nice and clean. We had a group and all the rooms were nice and large. No complaints from anyone in our group. The location is excellent -- close to Bourbon St., but not too close.

If you want a historic French Quarter hotel with unique character, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights (Sunday - Tuesday) in early February and it was perfect for our needs. We stayed in a room with a street balcony and lucked out by getting a room on the corner of Dauphine and Toulouse.
The location was great - close to Bourbon, but you couldn't hear much street noise. (You could hear a lot of noise in the hallways.) The bed could have been a bit softer, but the room was just the right size. We loved having a drink and relaxing on the balcony. We visited the bar and the cafe downstairs - delicious breakfast sandwiches and pretty good coffee. We didn't have much interaction with staff other than checking in and checking out, but they were courteous in both instances. Would stay here again or recommend it to others based on the price and location.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_dge_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing