We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Marie
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$279
US$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$392
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$145
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$215
US$194
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$309
US$229
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$343
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,009)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
813
765
264
107
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
765
264
107
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard balconygreat locationfrench quarterhalf blockbottle of champagnesmall poolbathroom doorparking garageroom was largean older hoteljackson squareloved this hotelmardi grasfew blocksbourbontoulousenoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,283 - 1,288 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

If this hotel were in a different location it would maybe be worth around 50 bucks a night. Unfortunately, I paid five times that price. Where to begin: the staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. The ENTIRE hotel needs a renovation. There was no coffee with the coffee pot in the room. No conditioner in the room. There were random holes in the walls covered in plywood. The door to our balcony might as well have been a screen door for the amount of wind that came through it. The decor, carpet, odor, and especially TV were straight out of 1985. See attached photo of TV, which didn't work properly, and had a radio built in to the right half of the set (when did those go out of production?) If I have to stretch to find decent qualities, our balcony was interesting, and the location is nice. New Orleans is one of those town where hotels like this can get high rates on busy weekends. I encourage you to SEEK EVERY SINGLE OTHER OPTIONS BEFORE PICKING THIS HOTEL. Maybe after a while the owners will renovate and make the St. Marie what it should be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I liked that the hotel was close to Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to the party but quiet when I was ready for bed. The hotel is an older establishment so the rooms are small and there aren't very many plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenmar5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had extended family in town for Mardi Gras...couldn't put them all up at our home, so we booked the Hotel St. Marie. Great staff--the front desk, valets, stewards, and even the housekeepers said hello with a smile! The rooms were just perfect for our needs-- a little dated, but very very clean. Close to all that the French Quarter and Bourbon Street offers but a little off the path so they could get some sleep. We joined our family for breastfast one morning in the Vacherie and what a great find--we will be back as "locals". The service was great, the bloody mary's were to die for and the food was outstanding--try the specials. We enjoyed it so much that we joined our group for dinner one night--again, another great meal and friendly service and also stayed over into the bar to watch the local sights of carnival. Again, we will be back and I will book future stays at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent one night in early February at the Hotel St. Marie after returning from a cruise.The Hotel St. Marie is just off of Bourbon on Toulouse within a block of Bourbon Street with very competitive rates. We were given a Toulouse Balcony room - shared with two other rooms - and had a birds eye view of all the action on Bourbon Street, but once we closed the door, we couldn't hear all the noise. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a charming courtyard with a small pool and a beautiful lobby. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The only drawback we had was when we tried to park our car there earlier than check-in time, their lot was full so we had to come back later. This location is within easy walking distance to everything in the vieux carre. We always enjoy the bars and music and usually finish our evening with dinner at the Red Fish Grill. We will definitely stay at the Hotel St. Marie again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kms430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was very nice and clean. We had a group and all the rooms were nice and large. No complaints from anyone in our group. The location is excellent -- close to Bourbon St., but not too close.

If you want a historic French Quarter hotel with unique character, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews