We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every aspect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every aspect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I rarely have anything nice to say about French Quarter hotels, but my fantastic experience here prompted me to take the time to share my thoughts. The Hotel St. Marie was perfect for my stay: the price was excellent and the location was central to the French Quarter, yet my room was quiet, which -- as I know because I am required to stay in this area frequently for work -- is a quality that is very hard to find. The food at the hotel restaurant was great for both dinner and a quick breakfast, and the front desk service was friendly and accommodating. The room itself was very comfortable, clean, well-equipped and quaintly decorated. This will be my go-to hotel when I'm in the Quarter from here on out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    728
    245
    100
    57
See reviews for
288
731
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were happy our friends had recommended The Hotel St. Marie to us. If were to come back we would certainly stay there again. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My daughters and I spent three nights here and were very surprised at how rude and dismissive the front desk clerks were of our needs. A request for an extra key to add to the one we were given was met with "What's wrong with that one?" At our request for one extra pillow, we were told that there were none to be had! Huh? A hotel that doesn't have one extra pillow? The hotel is very dated in its furnishings and is in serious need of some TLC. Our balcony door was warped and couldn't be shut completely. While it's great to be so close to Bourbon Street, not so much when we could hear the partying in our room well into morning. The door to the hall had two locks, luckily, cause one of them didn't work. The walls had numerous spots where putty had been poorly applied , perhaps in an attempt to cover holes. There is only one ice machine, located on the first floor. With only one elevator, a trip to get ice was no easy experience! I had picked this hotel weeks before our trip and am sorry I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

just what you need for a visit to the French Quarter!

Room Tip: The breakfast in the cafe is wonderful. Its quiet. There's a courtyard and no one knows about it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Effie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If this hotel were in a different location it would maybe be worth around 50 bucks a night. Unfortunately, I paid five times that price. Where to begin: the staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. The ENTIRE hotel needs a renovation. There was no coffee with the coffee pot in the room. No conditioner in the room. There were random holes in the walls covered in plywood. The door to our balcony might as well have been a screen door for the amount of wind that came through it. The decor, carpet, odor, and especially TV were straight out of 1985. See attached photo of TV, which didn't work properly, and had a radio built in to the right half of the set (when did those go out of production?) If I have to stretch to find decent qualities, our balcony was interesting, and the location is nice. New Orleans is one of those town where hotels like this can get high rates on busy weekends. I encourage you to SEEK EVERY SINGLE OTHER OPTIONS BEFORE PICKING THIS HOTEL. Maybe after a while the owners will renovate and make the St. Marie what it should be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I liked that the hotel was close to Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to the party but quiet when I was ready for bed. The hotel is an older establishment so the rooms are small and there aren't very many plugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenmar5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had extended family in town for Mardi Gras...couldn't put them all up at our home, so we booked the Hotel St. Marie. Great staff--the front desk, valets, stewards, and even the housekeepers said hello with a smile! The rooms were just perfect for our needs-- a little dated, but very very clean. Close to all that the French Quarter and Bourbon Street offers but a little off the path so they could get some sleep. We joined our family for breastfast one morning in the Vacherie and what a great find--we will be back as "locals". The service was great, the bloody mary's were to die for and the food was outstanding--try the specials. We enjoyed it so much that we joined our group for dinner one night--again, another great meal and friendly service and also stayed over into the bar to watch the local sights of carnival. Again, we will be back and I will book future stays at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing