We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We attended an event at at the super dome. With prices jacked all over town, we selected this place because of its price, location and proximity to the event. We were VERY pleasantly surprised to find how great it was. First, the staff was very knowledgeable about transportation options and were willing to patiently, pleasantly, and cheerfully answer questions. The room was clean and very comfortable...and I'm picky. Thanks for the fitted sheets. The attached bistro was wonderful.one rather unique feature of the experience was the flat out honesty of the company and staff. Two days before our reservation, we received an email with the details confirming the reservation but it also included, in red type, the parking charge. I love their no hidden costs/no surprises policy. Similarly, the front desk clerk advised us that the included continental breakfast was "high carb". How refreshing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We sure appreciate your kind words. My staff and I try our best to give each guest the best experience possible and are so pleased when we achieve this! I do hope to see you on your next visit to town.
Sincerley,
Geoffrey d Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    95
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
56
77
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Nice looking hotel, well decorated/refurbished, good location at Trolley stop and restaurants and local pub. Room lovely, well decorated, clean, quiet, spacious - plenty of room to move around with a huge counter for coffee maker etc. Bed fabulous with cotton bedding choice of down and non- pillows. Everything worked. Bathroom well-done with good fixtures - clean, very nice, good lighting. Professional staff, great Valets - these kids are on top of it.

Room Tip: We had the West sun shining in - which was great in Nov. I'd asked for a quiet room so we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did! I am pleased to hear you had a good stay! I hope you will think of us next time you are in our city.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Platinum Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed there the weekend before Thanksgiving and we really enjoyed our experience. The trolley line stop right outside the door, so you can get around the city easily. The restaurant and bar downstairs were convenient to have and the rooms were very large and well appointed. The beds and pillows were great, very comfortable. We had a sitting area, small fridge and microwave. What more do you need?

Room Tip: It was a pretty quiet area, but I would imagine it would be better to have a room that wasn't ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thanks so much for your review! I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. Our staff uses these reviews to see how we can improve the guest experience. I hope this response finds you well and that we see you next time you are in New Orleans.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I was very pleased with my choice to stay at the Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel while visiting New Orleans for a few days. I most certainly wanted to visit the French Quarter area - but didn't want to stay there. The Clarion Grand Boutique is in the garden district on St. Charles Ave and just a short drive to the French Quarter area. I felt very safe staying here and I thought that the rooms were nice and clean. The bed and pillows were some of the most comfy that I have ever had in a hotel. I only had 2 complaints with the room, one being that the closet was very small and cramped, making it hard to get into. And the second being that I was woke up every morning @ 2 a.m. because the garbage truck was picking up the trash at this time and made a lot of noise outside my window. Other than that I was very pleased with my choice to stay here and I would stay here again in a heartbeat (but I would ask not to be put on the street side). Another bonus to staying here is that Copeland's Cheesecake Factory is in this building and I ate dinner there both nights and the food is delicious!

There is a Walgreen's a block away for anything you might have forgotten and I even picked up a few souviners there. If you are parking in their garage it will cost $18 + tax a day which was cheaper than some other hotels that I looked at. The cable car runs in front of the hotel, but I didn't get a chance to ride it - maybe next time. :-)

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in a room on the street side. They can be a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muscadine-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Thank you so much for your review! It makes me so happy to hear that my team has provided a wonderful experience for you! I love that you provided some tips for our future guests. I agree those big garbage trucks that early are a nuisance, but unfortunately, a necessary one! Next time you stay with us make sure and let us know and we can move you to the opposite side of the building, I hope you will come back and visit our city very soon.
laissez le bon temps rouler!
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stay here at least once a month for business and I would not stay anywhere else. If you are planning a trip to New Orleans, you must stay at the Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel! It is right by the streetcar (a New Orleans experience MUST) and centrally located to all other tourist attractions. It is a smaller "boutique" hotel and it has the personal feel of a bed and breakfast. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly every stay. The valet is exceptional and there is a Copeland's Cheescake Bistro attached for convienience as well. It gives you the atmosphere of New Orleans without all of the noise of staying in the French Quarter. The price is reasonable and the rooms are comfortable and spotless. I would and have definitely recommended this hotel to anyone planning a trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: If you want a view of St. Charles, there are rooms available with a balcony and jacuzzi hot tub. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you so much for letting us know how we did! It is great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I hope you come back to see us on your next visit to new orleans.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews here. I have to say I agree. It was a very comfortable stay. The hotel is in a great location. I did not want to be in the French Quarter, but close enough in case I wanted to venture over. The cable car stops in front of the hotel.
There are plenty of restaurants within a couple of blocks. The area is safe. I will definitely stay here again. Jeffery and the staff were nice.

Brad

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainBikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased your stay was a great one. It was a pleasure for our staff to get to know you and help make your stay a comfortable on. I hope you had a safe travel home and we look forward to seeing yout he next time you are in our city.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here 2 times. Both times were right after Christmas the last 2 years (2009/2010). The staff is pretty pleasant, the rooms could be cleaner and brighter. While there was a mini frig and a coffee maker in the room, I just could never relax, feeling as though things weren't very clean the second year. The price is in the mid to lower range but then add in all the taxes and the $18. a day parking and it adds up. There is an o.k. buffet in the morning mainly grab and go things. There is no pool nor courtyard except for where you park and walk in. The parking attendants were rather friendly and helpful. When we checked in the second year it was freezing in the room. Luckily we were just dropping things off and leaving again so we could turn the heat on and let it warm up while we were gone. Behind the hotel there is a neighborhood that was hit with Katrina and trying to recover. Across the avenue is the lower Garden District. Absolutely lovely homes to look at. Right in front of the hotel in the center of the avenue you can catch the streetcar $1.50 each way exact change. Very handy to not have to try and drive especially to the Quarter as is can be rather difficult to find parking there. There is a Walgreens a couple blocks down so you can get snacks and beverages and/or medications.
All in all the hotel room is mediocre, lobby is nice and the restaurant is good. Location is rather good being in between the Quarter and Audubon Park and Zoo and Uptown.

We Did get the feeling that the building used to be a storage facility or something. There is a bit of a peculiar feel to it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review your stay from last year and the year prior. I am so glad that overall your experience was a good one. I wanted to let you know that we do take each review and go over them with the staff and decide how we can improve the guest experience with the feedback we receive.
We are a historic building located in the lovely garden district. We were originally a Packard car dealership and then following that a Mercedes dealership. So yes in a manner of speaking we were a warehouse. This is why many of our rooms are about double the size of a standard hotel room and why we have large picture windows in each room instead of a standard hotel room sized window.
I also wanted to give you some exciting information about the things we have changed since your last stay! Firstly we received a platinum award for our service, cleanliness and guest feedback scores. This is a huge honor from choice hotels international. Secondly, since your stay we have painted the walls, freshened up the carpets, and gotten new 42 inch flat screen televisions. Our housekeeping staff has adopted a new 100 point inspection of each room which assures that all our rooms are in tip top shape before you get here. Just to let you know in exciting neighborhood news, the entire street behind us has been redeveloped with new housing and the culinary institute of New Orleans.
I do hope we see you again this year and that we can exceed your expectations this time! If there is ever anything you need while visiting our city please give us a call and let us know!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Avenue Plaza Resort
#66 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#114 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 2001 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel is located on St. Charles Avenue, the Mardi Gras parade route, and along the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. The shops on Magazine Street are less than a mile away. New Orleans' world-famous French Quarter, the Central Business District, the Louisiana Superdome and the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center are all just minutes away.Loyola University New Orleans and Tulane University are within three miles of the hotel and easily reached by streetcar. The Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport is fifteen miles from this New Orleans, LA hotel. With our hotel atop one of the best restaurants in New Orleans, Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, luxury and service is taken to new heights. The hotel's striking Art Deco style will remind leisure and business travelers alike that they are in one of the most unique cities in America, home to Cajun cuisine, riotous revelry and vanishing empires: New Orleans. Guests of this New Orleans, LA hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and Free USA TODAY papers daily. Business travelers will appreciate the concierge services, the fully equipped BIZNET business center and copy and fax services. Private meeting space ia available and can accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. A lending library is also available for your reading pleasure.All guest rooms are newly remodeled junior suites with ten-foot ceilings, separate seating areas and some with lavish hot tubs overlooking St. Charles Avenue. All rooms come equipped with 42-inch televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, safes, alarm clocks with MP3 jacks, and two telephones with voice mail and data ports. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Clarion Hotel Grand Boutique in New Orleans, Louisiana will be staying in one of America's most beautiful and historically significant areas, the Garden District, a neighborhood dripping with Spanish moss and Southern charm. The location, charm and exceptional guest services make our hotel the perfect spot for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New Orleans
New Orleans Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing