We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was very satisfied with this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was very satisfied with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. I was combining a visit to my son at Tulane with a business trip in downtown. This hotel was conveniently located on St. Charles and I enjoyed riding the street car to get to both of my destinations. I too stayed in room six and found in large, clean and the bed was great. There was a microwave, small fridge and a coffee pot. I found the neighborhood safe. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a small breakfast as part of the price. There are not a lot of other services but plenty of little stores and places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so glad your stay was a good one and am gladd that we helped facilitate a good weekend for you in New Orleans. I hope next time you come down to visit your son you will stay with us again! Have a great day!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award WInner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    89
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
54
74
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FERNANDINA BEACH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in March 2012 for her high school reunion. The room [#6] was excellent, large, well furnished, clean and with a nice view of St. Charles Street. The room cleaning staff was attentive and did a fine job. The breakfast was adequate, with plenty of hot coffee and a waffle machine.

The hotel has valet parking, with an on-the-ball staff. Vehicles are readily accessable during times the valet are not on duty.

I was not overly pleased with the front desk staff. We were greeted on arrival, however the desk clerk, the remainder of times we stopped at the desk seemed to be on the phhone with personal calls. She did quickly interrupt her call to take care of our requests. My problem came on receiving the staftement under our door the morning of checkout. There were daily charges of $1.50, plu $0.14 sales rax each day for the room safe. We did not use the safe, nor we informed at check-in of a customary charge for it. I contacted the desk clerk on finding the charge and sales tax, explaining that the safe wasn't used and asking that the charges be removed. I was advised that they were "customary". I again asked that they be removed and received a non-commital response. When I asked if that meant the charge would be removed, the connection had been broken. The charges were removed before we left.

Bottom line: The hotel was nice, but I would make mention that I did not wish the safe ar check-in, [if that were my intention].

As an aside, The Trolley Stop Cafe in across the side street from the Clarion. A locally-frequented restaurant, the breakfast was excellent, at a very reasonable price, and with a cheerful and attentive wait staff.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room away from St. Charles Street, the trolley runs 24/7 and can be he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
I want to start off by thanking you so much for taking the time out to let us know how we are doing here at the Grand Boutique. I am pleased that we met or exceeded your expectations in some areas and am deeply troubled that we did not meet them in other ares.
I am so sorry that your experience with our desk staff was less than stellar. We do charge an automatic safe charge on each room. This is a built in charge through choice hotels international and we cannot prevent it from being charged, but we can take if off upon request. I am glad this charge was taken off for you, but am disappointed with how our desk agent handled it. We pride ourselves on customer service and I will be presenting your complaint to our guest services agents at our weekly meeting. I want to assure you that this will be taken seriously and it will not happen again.
I do hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in New Orleans!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Managaer
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner

Ps. Our staff loves the Trolley Stop, the seafood omelet is amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was a last minute find, as the hotel I had originally booked in the Quarter jumped up significantly in price due to the New Orleans Marathon running this weekend (but that's another story). While the Clarion probably bumped up their prices as well, it was still cheaper than anything in the Quarter. This was a great location, especially if you don't mind being outside the FQ. The Garden District has a very "homey" feel to it and having the St. Charles Streetcar line right outside the door was really handy - a 10 minute ride and you are dropped off at Canal and Bourbon. There are lots of restaurants in the immediate vicinity (Zea was good with huge portions) and a handy Walgreens just a block away. The hotel was clean and the room we stayed in was updated and garnered no complaints from me or my family (nice size flat screen tv). The friendliness of the front desk staff could improve, but they did allow for a late checkout after I finished the marathon, so that was very much appreciated. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozarkultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us know about your experiences! I am so glad that for the most part your stay was an enjoyable one. The marathon is such an exciting time in the city! Congrats on finishing it!
Zea's is one of my favorite restaurants. You can't beat good southern food with home crafted beer! Great suggestion for future travelers!
I am so glad you enjoyed your room and enjoyed our 42' TV’s. Those were added at the beginning of the year and we are very excited about them!
I did want to take a second and apologize that you felt our desk staff wasn't the friendliest. I so want each guest to have a personal and warm experience with our staff and I will surely share with them that they did not succeed in giving you that! I do hope you will come back to our city and stay with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Choice Hotels International 2012 Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown,Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Went to NO in January. Hotel was very good. Quiet with wide hallways, and the elevator was fast and always operational. Its not a large hotel, so there is not the overcrowding. The breakfast area is small, but it is adequate. Great location. Walked to a pizza shop one night up the street. A few blocks away is the Garden district homes, and further up is Tulane Univ. They also provided me with a night of free parking, which was very nice. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us how we did! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area! I do hope you will come back and see us soon.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I really appreciated this hotel. If you are in the city to party, don't let the distance from Bourbon deter you.... Be a local and take the streetcar, which stops directly in front of the hotel!! Or you can wine & dine downstairs at the Cheesecake Bistro!!!! The rooms are updated and for the price, you will want to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monthlytraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about our little property! I am so happy you got to experience New Orleans as a local! New Orleans is SO much more than bourbon street and i love it when people discover the other sides of this great city! We consider ourselves one of the best values in the city and I am pleased you seem to agree! Come back and see us real soon!
warmly,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

A friend and I stayed here on a recent visit to NoLa. Great location, with plenty of side street parking (free!), and a street car stop right outside. Staff was very helpful, going so far as to map out restaurant suggestions for us. They were also very accomodating with an after midnight check-in and a late check-out that allowed us to shower and change after a late tour. I highly suggest this as a fine hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleOneNYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. I am very pleased that my staff made a positive impression on you! We love to suggest our favorite spots in the city and i hope our suggestions did not disappoint! I do hope you will come and see us again on your next trip to new Orleans!
Best Regards,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My sister and I (both in our 50s) stayed here in January, and found it to be exactly what we were looking for -- an inexpensive, friendly, satisfactory place with great access by streetcar and foot to the places we most wanted to see. For those who might be looking for something a little different -- a great view, a pool or fitness facilities, great food on-site, or a location within the bustling French Quarter -- this place would disappoint. The location is right on the St. Charles Street streetcar line (at St. Andrew and St. Charles) and near some wonderful Garden District streets/homes, but the immediately adjacent properties are nothing terribly special and the views are likely to be of parking areas. There is a restaurant downstairs (which in all fairness we didn't try) and a small continental breakfast area in the lobby -- but with all the great eats in New Orleans, we opted to go out for every single meal, with fabulous restaurants nearby in the Garden District or 10 minutes away by streetcar in the French Quarter. The rooms were fairly standard, but totally acceptable to us. The beds and pillows were in fact extremely comfortable, I thought. The windows don't open, and I wished I could have gotten some fresh air, but there was a heating/cooling system that allowed me to make the room exactly the temperature I wanted. The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall, if this hotel fits your particular needs as it did ours, you will be very happy there, as we were.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did. It is our pleasure to meet and assist every one of our guests! I am so glad that you had a good time here in our city and at our property.
You are so correct there are a ton of great eats in the city, but next time i do hope you get to try our restaurant. It will not disappoint! I often say coming to new orleans is like going on a cruise, you gain 10 lbs!
I hope you come and see us again next time your travels take you our way!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels Internation Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Avenue Plaza Resort
#67 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 2001 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel is located on St. Charles Avenue, the Mardi Gras parade route, and along the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. The shops on Magazine Street are less than a mile away. New Orleans' world-famous French Quarter, the Central Business District, the Louisiana Superdome and the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center are all just minutes away.Loyola University New Orleans and Tulane University are within three miles of the hotel and easily reached by streetcar. The Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport is fifteen miles from this New Orleans, LA hotel. With our hotel atop one of the best restaurants in New Orleans, Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, luxury and service is taken to new heights. The hotel's striking Art Deco style will remind leisure and business travelers alike that they are in one of the most unique cities in America, home to Cajun cuisine, riotous revelry and vanishing empires: New Orleans. Guests of this New Orleans, LA hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and Free USA TODAY papers daily. Business travelers will appreciate the concierge services, the fully equipped BIZNET business center and copy and fax services. Private meeting space ia available and can accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. A lending library is also available for your reading pleasure.All guest rooms are newly remodeled junior suites with ten-foot ceilings, separate seating areas and some with lavish hot tubs overlooking St. Charles Avenue. All rooms come equipped with 42-inch televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, safes, alarm clocks with MP3 jacks, and two telephones with voice mail and data ports. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Clarion Hotel Grand Boutique in New Orleans, Louisiana will be staying in one of America's most beautiful and historically significant areas, the Garden District, a neighborhood dripping with Spanish moss and Southern charm. The location, charm and exceptional guest services make our hotel the perfect spot for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New Orleans
New Orleans Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing