We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lakeview, but overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gringo Perdido

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Remate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeview, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We liked the secluded, rustic feel of gringo perdido. The location is really nice.

This said there is nothing reallygreat about the Hotel itself.

We paid $90 a night for 2 with breakfast & dinner. However the hotel and meals did not merit such a high price.

The food was mediocre and the rooms were a bit too rustic for the price - especially the electocuting shower.

Maybe if it's really really hot and you want to swim all day this place would be for you. But if you are mainly there for tikkal, we think that mon ami is a better value with it's $30 rooms & better food.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala city, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The best hotel in Guatemala, period. 30 mins to Tikal and right infront of the clean, safe lake. Inside a national reserve! Food was great also...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikofino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

I spoke to Anne on Thursday to reserve two cabin rooms for the following day. She took my credit card information to confirm the reservation however, unfortunately, after a long trip we arrived to find one of the two cabins occupied. We were offered the available room for $135 including breakfast and dinner for three of us. For a small-dark room this was about $70 over-priced. It's a nice location with great access to the lake but I don't recommend making plans to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CA-PRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

This hotel is truly a gem...peaceful, beautiful and with great food. It is not for the true budget traveler but if you can afford to splurge for a few nights, this place is amazing. Right on lake peten with great swimming and great hiking nearby. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brihavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

Hotel Gringo Perdido is a nice, natural, hidden lodging near El Remate, between Flores and Tikal. It's nice to be away from the more compact Flores but overpriced Tikal. Gringo Perdido is naturally gorgeous - we had our own private dock with hammocks on the lake. The food was good though it was international fare so it wasn't quite typical Guatemalan food if you crave local fare. But it was good and included in the price.

Perhaps the only negative of staying there was that there weren't many staff around to assist with arrangements or even to talk to. The staff were very nice but knew absolutely no English and if you're Spanish isn't good it can be a struggle to communicate. Based on the website and prior correspondence, I was under the impression there would be more staff to help arrange transportation and what not. Also, the website makes it appear as though a lot of people stay there and they do indeed have a lot of space. But, for two nights there were only 4 of us and the last night it was just myself and my husband. While the solitude was GREAT, at times you almost wished there were a few other people around. So I wouldn't make it a complaint, just different. It's also about a 35 minute walk to the town, El Remate, so you really are on your own here. They have two dogs that act as watch dogs and friendly companions while you stay there.

At night the stars are bright, wildlife comes alive, and it's a serene experience. So if you like peace and quiet and natural surroundings, this is a great place. I would recommend it for anyone like this type of experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
0.0 km away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 km away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 km away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.0 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gringo Perdido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gringo Perdido

Property: Hotel Gringo Perdido
Address: El Remate, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Remate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing