We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet, very clean, very comfortable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very quiet, very clean, very comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I was traveling with my daughter and 3 granddaugters. I pre-booked a 2 room suite. It was great having the two rooms. The beds were very comfortable. Because Custer is not located along a major interstate it was very quiet allowing for a good nights sleep after a long day of traveling in the car. It was very clean and well maintained. The front desk personnel were very friendly. An added bonus was the free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    163
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
211
144
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Everything was above our expectations- nice clean room with TV, microwave, and refrigerator. Breakfast was fine, staff friendly and helpful. Completely satisfied. Would definitely recommend and would return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a nice middle of the road hotel experience. The only thing I'd like done differently is the breakfast teardown the overhead lights in the breakfast room are shut off promptly at 9. I think clearing up the food and shutting down the drink machines would have been fine rather than be treated like a school child being chastized for being too boisterous.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zookeeper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

When me and my wife checked in had a very pleasent impression from the beginning.The stuff was very courteous and even the building is not the newest,the room was stunning with a beautiful view of the hills in the back, very clean everywhere!
To sum up...an excellent hotel that I would recomend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Upon arrival, we saw that the motel had workers on the roof. A new roof was being installed. We were tired and just wanted to rest but the room we were assigned was directly under the hammering. We asked whether we could be moved to another room but the response was that all rooms were reserved. We were told that the roofers would be back the next day but not "too early". In response to our question about what time they would return, we were told about 8 AM. Since we had reservations at Jewel Cave for the 12:40 PM tour, we had planned to sleep in. At 7:22 AM I was awakened by people walking on the roof directly above our room. The hammering started shortly thereafter and continued. We got up and left as soon as possible because we couldn't stand it any longer. When we checked out, my husband asked and received a 50% discount for the night's stay. The clerks at the motel were very nice but were not given the authority to refund reservation charges or move guests to other accomodations and when they called the motel managers, they were told they were not available. When I made the reservations, there were plenty of other rooms available at other motels. This motel should never have been open for business during the time the roof was being replaced. It pretty much ruined our visit to Custer, South Dakota.

Room Tip: I have no idea what it would take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jione, Owner at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
We are sorry that this stay was less than satisfactory. Unfortunately it is never a good time to perform this type of maintenance, but it has to be done.
We did make arrangements with the roofing company not to start work before 9 AM each day. For some reason a couple of them started early this particular day.
Our General Manager did instruct her front desk to offer to move this guest to a different room in addition to giving them a 50% discount. This guest declined the room move and checked out.
Customer satisfaction is something we take very seriously here at the Custer Super 8. This is evident by the good Trip Advisor scores as well as having achieved the "Pride of Super 8" award the last 10 years. Unfortunately, sometimes things happen that are beyond our control.
Thank you for understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We checked into this hotel after visiting two bad hotels in Spearfish. We were scouting places for our stay during Sturgis in August.


This place was really in a nice location and the hotel was well-maintained relative to other Super 8s we have visited. Check-in was a breeze and our room was nice and warm despite the cold temperatures outside. The room seemed updated recently, and the bed was comfortable. We noticed that they took the time to call us and ask if everything was okay when we checked in. Breakfast was fairly standard. Parking was no problem, even for trailers.


Custer is near a nice National Park, and is a bit far from Sturgis, but we probably want to get away from the noise and chaos during that time. We will be back.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley69CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

In Custer, SD in late November, most hotels are closed for the season. Super 8 was open and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, what you would expect at a budget hotel. The breakfast was better than most budget places. Beds were a bit soft, but OK. Room was cold when we checked in since hte heat had been off, but it warmed up nicely. Friendly staff that were helpful recommending a place to eat since most of the resturaunts in town are also closed for the winter.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
5.9 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 km away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.4 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Property: Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super Eight
Custer Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing