We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved It!”
other travellers have booked this property
Red White and Blue!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red White and Blue!
Buffalo free range on driveway to property. Nap Time!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Red White and Blue!
Buffalo free range on driveway to property.
Nap Time!
Fire Pit and BBQ with Picnic Table
View From Deck.
Side of Home
Deck
Living Rm with Dish TV & Internet
Living Room
Kitchen fully supplied including dishes, hand towels, pots & pans, paper towels, napkins etc.
Queen Bedroom
Full bathroom (stand alone-not attached to either bedroom).
Washer -Dryer, soap included.
Visit Mt Rushmore
Crazy Horse Monument
Sylvan Lake, Custer State Park
Jewel Cave Trails 2 miles from the property
Horse Thief Lake- Great Place to Swim!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jrunkel4
2 reviews
“Loved It!”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We loved our stay at Kaileen's house in Custer - the view was beautiful, and like we told Kaileen, it truly felt like our home away from home. The house had everything we needed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vondavis0...
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
“Great get away”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an awesome stay. The was very clean and easy instructions. We saw lots of wild animals. Beautiful weather. I would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
1 review
“House has everything you need!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here with our 3 kids the first week in August and had a wonderful time! The house was perfect and had everything we needed! It's minutes away from Custer and was within short driving distance of all the places we wanted to visit. It was nice to come back to the quiet and beautiful views every night. The fire pit and hammocks were a hit for our kids! Highly recommend!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for our kind words and your stay at my home!
Come back again anytime.
Kind Regards,
Kaileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lana W
North Dakota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay beautiful location”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great stay, had everything we needed. Beautiful views and quiet location. Right near4 wheeler trails. Kaileen was very helpful even lending us a GPS and map of trails! Location is near all the great sights close to mt Rushmore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elctrk
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice House, Good Location Among Ponderosa Pines”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Qucik review: This is a very serviceable house, in a good location, for a Black Hills vacation. It is a modern home. The kitchen was well stocked with pots/pans/utensils. we saw a few deer on the property. The location is convenient to attractions in the south and central Hills.

Long form: For two adults and four kids, this house was fine. It's not large, bust it wasn't too tight either. Any smaller may not have worked, but we had no problems. The fridge is large, and we filled it up, bringing most of our food for an 11 day trip. The property slopes, which isn't the greatest when sitting around the fire ring. But the view is great. Ponderosa pines and mountains in the distance. It is in a quiet area, over 1/4 mile off the highway which doesn't get much traffic anyway. Plenty quiet to hear the turkey that was out of sight.

The location is convenient to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Hot Springs, Black Elk Peak (a great hike), Crazy Horse. We'd head out in the morning, then return at dinner time. I used the gas side of the combination grill, and it was easy to light and use.

Kaileen was around most of the time. One evening there was a report of hail coming, and she suggested we move our vehicle into one of the garage bays. That's hospitality. She also let me bum a piece of duct tape when the strap on our binoculars broke.

We stayed 11 days/10 nights, and if I did anything different it may be to have stayed part of the time in a North Hills location. The Black Hills is a large area with a ton of things to do and see. No matter where you stay you'll be doing some driving. We didn't make it to Spear Fish Canyon, but it's not like we lacked for things to do. Skip the World's Largest Wax Museum of US Secretaries of State and the other tourist schlock. Go for the parks, Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Devil's Tower, Custer.

One suggestion I would make is to get some type of black out shades or drapes. The drapes were a little thin, and even on the south side the morning sun rises pretty early in the summer time. It's nice to sleep in a bit after a late evening fire.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. Oddly enough the drapes in southern bedroom are black out shades lol. The sun comes in from the top and sides, it's intense I agree!
I'm glad you had a good time and a safe journey home.
Kind Regards, Kaileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing