We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
62
27
5
5
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
27
5
5
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv spotsrented a cargreen grasslarge siteslocal sitessite seeingcrazy horsethe loopwould stay here againgreat campgroundfull hookupsdevils towercuster citybuffalo roundupa great staystayed here for nightswind cave
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 118 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Beautiful situation just east of the town of Custer. Very close to the Crazy Horse Memorial (absolute must see), Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and others. Sites are well spaced and good hard packed gravel. #s 60, 61 and 62 are very private pullthroughs, all the others are (easy) back ins. Facilities are a little limited (not cable TV, one dryer in the laundry room, only two shower stalls) but off season it's perfect as a base for seeing all that the Black Hills has to offer.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

We made reservations a year in advance for the Buffalo Round-up by calling the Chamber of Commerce. We paid in advance for two sites for us and our friends.

When we checked in, the office personnel was rude when we told them we didn't know that they were a Good SAMs RV Park. She said, "You should have asked on the phone when you called."

We then asked her if we could burn a pre-packaged log that we bought at Menards. She said, "Did you buy it in South Dakota?" We said, "No. They sell them all over. You don't have to buy them in any particular State." We were going to buy a bundle of wood from them also and did a few days later. So we didn't cheat her out of a $5 wood bundle if that was her problem.

When we went to our site and were setting up, her husband came on his golf cart and chewed us out about the green bucket that was on the water connection. He said, "You are going to put it back on the water connection? What do you think it is for? I didn't know people would be that dumb and not know what it is for. I didn't think we needed to put a sign on it to replace it after hooking up for frost reasons." He then went to our friends site and put the bucket back on the water connection before they had a chance to even hook up their water.

On Tuesday, we decided to make a fire in the campsite ring. We bought a bundle of wood from them and had a wiener roast, but could feel we were being watched. We picked up a small piece of scrap- downed wood in the ditch behind our motor home and put it on our fire to help keep it going. We also seen another camper take a large log from the hillside and drag it over to their fire. Then came Elaine on her golf cart. She said, "Put your fire out now! Didn't you read the rules on the back of the map we gave you? That wood is from Federal Land. You can be fined." She was rude to our friends who didn't say a word to her. We said, "Where is your Customer Service? We will report your behavior." She said, "Make sure you tell the truth!" We said, "That other camper hauled a log over to his fire." She then said, "They bought wood from us." We said, "We did too! It is right there." After this incident, we felt we were always being watched. If we hadn't paid for the week (Sunday to Sunday), and this was only Tuesday, we would have left.

It is too bad their Customer Service stinks!! We always try to obey rules. Never had a problem before. There are ways to talk to people and they will oblige. I think they like "ripping" people and authority has gone to their heads!!!

The campground is very nice and clean. Too bad we can't recommend this park and we won't go back!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
7  Thank 787,233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

BEWARE... made a RV site reservation on June 5, 2016. On June 24, 2016 my husband was hospitalized and his cardiologist advised against travel. I called Custer's Gulch owner in late June to cancel. She was unsympathetic about our medical situation and instead of charging me $30 for one night stay per her website's cancellation policy or "working with me" in the event I had to cancel, she is charging me $699.90. I am now in a big dispute with my credit card company of this excessive charge.

DON'T TRUST THIS OWNER!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank FergusonLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
general1874, Owner at Custer's Gulch RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

The website has a disclaimer stating our policies can be changed at any time without notice.
The customer booked a reservation during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and was aware that the entire amount of the reservation was due at booking and the amount was non refundable which is our normal policy during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. The policy is made clear when we are on the phone with guests booking a site during that time and again on the emailed reservation confirmation. Our policy during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally is very much the same as most lodging establishments/campgrounds in the Black Hills. This customer proceeded with a credit card chargeback before we even knew if we would be able to fill the site for the time of the reservation. When the credit card dispute was settled, the credit card company decided we were within our rights to not refund the customers money. We were not able to rebook the site in 2016. November 14, 2016 we received a letter from the customer demanding we refund at least 1/2 of the credit card charge and threating us with online reviews, contacting our local Chamber of Commerce, our campground owners association review board and the BBB. This review was posted September 27, 2016 so we are wondering why the customer waited until November 8th (postmark date) to mail the letter. This is the second year the customer cancelled her reservation. The reservation for 2015 was also cancelled and the deposit was refunded. In the past we have refunded customers part or all of their reservation totals for various reasons. When the customer initiates a credit card dispute normal procedure is to wait until the dispute is settled before giving any refunds. This is an unfortunate situation. it seems the customer should be upset with their credit card company.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Easy to park big rigs. Excellent sites. Pretty park. Nice laundry room. Good satellite reception. We called on day of arriving and had no problems getting a site. Took us a little longer than we thought to get get there due to site seeing in Badlands. They called to check on us to make sure we were not lost. Great location to visit Custer State park, Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights in our RV in this park. It's a beautiful park, just minutes from Custer State Park and Crazy Horse and only 3 miles from the town of Custer.
The sites are large and all back up to the woods. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers. You can rent ATV' s on the premises.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews