We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$117
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Valley Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
60
26
5
5
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
26
5
5
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv spotsrented a cargreen grasslarge sitessite seeingthe loopwould stay here againgreat campgroundfull hookupsdevils towercuster citybuffalo roundupa great staystayed here for nightscrazy horse memorialwind cavesouth dakota
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Had a enjoyable time camping with all the amenities. Spacious with attentive details. We also took advantage of the ATV rentals that was very enjoyable. Will definitely come back. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Here is the letter I sent to the campground owner, Elaine:

Dear Elaine:

My wife and I were guests at your RV Park at the end of September 2016. The campground was in excellent condition. We had a very nice visit for five days. Our entire party of 5 camping units was delighted with every aspect of our visit. The trail ride on the rental UTVs was extraordinary; our early-morning drive to witness the buffalo roundup at Custer State Park was an “opportunity of a lifetime.” Our entire visit to your RV Park and the Black Hills was awesome.

You may recall that I was wearing a cardiac monitor that did not work well at all in South Dakota. The cell phone carrier built into the device did not transmit data as it was designed to do; it was fitted with a cell carrier that just did not work in SD. You graciously and unhesitatingly allowed me to utilize your business phone for sometimes 20+ minutes per day. I am so very appreciative that you let me “tie up” your phone line. Thank you so very much!

Sincerely,
Richard Lange
South Range, WI

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
5  Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We have camped her three times and each time has been a great experience! The campground is located right next to the national forest and a very short drive or walk to the entrance to Custer State Park. All the attractions of the area are within a short drive. We tent camped here our first time and it was dark and wet when we arrived and the owners could not have been more accommodating!! They even brought us coffee the next morning!! The second and third trips were in a travel trailer. We had a full hook up site that was very nice. Great grass, as we bring our dogs, great water pressure, clean fire pit. The bathhouse with showers is always immaculate and the laundry facilities are great. The campground is quiet most of the time. They have expanded the wifi set up and it seems to work well (although we spend most of our time with nature). We cannot say enough of about this awesome campground! The also have cabins if you are not a camper! The also rent UTVs which most people seem to love.

Room Tip: All the sites are nice, but we always ask for one backing up to the national forest.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank toomanypets5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Beautiful situation just east of the town of Custer. Very close to the Crazy Horse Memorial (absolute must see), Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and others. Sites are well spaced and good hard packed gravel. #s 60, 61 and 62 are very private pullthroughs, all the others are (easy) back ins. Facilities are a little limited (not cable TV, one dryer in the laundry room, only two shower stalls) but off season it's perfect as a base for seeing all that the Black Hills has to offer.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

We made reservations a year in advance for the Buffalo Round-up by calling the Chamber of Commerce. We paid in advance for two sites for us and our friends.

When we checked in, the office personnel was rude when we told them we didn't know that they were a Good SAMs RV Park. She said, "You should have asked on the phone when you called."

We then asked her if we could burn a pre-packaged log that we bought at Menards. She said, "Did you buy it in South Dakota?" We said, "No. They sell them all over. You don't have to buy them in any particular State." We were going to buy a bundle of wood from them also and did a few days later. So we didn't cheat her out of a $5 wood bundle if that was her problem.

When we went to our site and were setting up, her husband came on his golf cart and chewed us out about the green bucket that was on the water connection. He said, "You are going to put it back on the water connection? What do you think it is for? I didn't know people would be that dumb and not know what it is for. I didn't think we needed to put a sign on it to replace it after hooking up for frost reasons." He then went to our friends site and put the bucket back on the water connection before they had a chance to even hook up their water.

On Tuesday, we decided to make a fire in the campsite ring. We bought a bundle of wood from them and had a wiener roast, but could feel we were being watched. We picked up a small piece of scrap- downed wood in the ditch behind our motor home and put it on our fire to help keep it going. We also seen another camper take a large log from the hillside and drag it over to their fire. Then came Elaine on her golf cart. She said, "Put your fire out now! Didn't you read the rules on the back of the map we gave you? That wood is from Federal Land. You can be fined." She was rude to our friends who didn't say a word to her. We said, "Where is your Customer Service? We will report your behavior." She said, "Make sure you tell the truth!" We said, "That other camper hauled a log over to his fire." She then said, "They bought wood from us." We said, "We did too! It is right there." After this incident, we felt we were always being watched. If we hadn't paid for the week (Sunday to Sunday), and this was only Tuesday, we would have left.

It is too bad their Customer Service stinks!! We always try to obey rules. Never had a problem before. There are ways to talk to people and they will oblige. I think they like "ripping" people and authority has gone to their heads!!!

The campground is very nice and clean. Too bad we can't recommend this park and we won't go back!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
7  Thank 787,233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews