We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
62
27
5
5
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
27
5
5
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv spotsrented a cargreen grasslarge siteslocal sitessite seeingcrazy horsethe loopwould stay here againgreat campgroundfull hookupsdevils towercuster citybuffalo roundupa great staystayed here for nightswind cave
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 118 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We used Custer as a home base for 10 days while visiting all the major attractions in the Black Hills and it was ideal. The RV sites were large and all backed up into the scenic hills with a fire pit and frequent deer sightings. WiFi was fair. It is on a spur of the paved Mickelson Bike Trail for a 3 mile ride into downtown Custer through a prairie dog town. Don't plan to do laundry here. Only 2 machines with hot and warm water disabled! Cold wash only.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The park is in a little valley surrounded by hills and trees. We met many staff and they were all nice and helpful if we had questions. We rented a UTV one day, and their policy is basically, you break it you buy it. I have a feeling that is the same policy all around the park. We also rented a car - 40$ a day for a smallish sedan that handled the roads like a champ. After driving around the area and seeing the destruction the beetles are doing to the cedars, I can see why the park owners are serious about keeping Natl Forest wood out of the park. The lady who checked us in was very clear on that subject as well. We were parked between two staff who seemed very happy living on site. I had read the reviews before we arrived and have not a clue what people were complaining about. Oh, there was WiFi too!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaye1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We pulled into this RV Park and were excited that the RV spots were large and lots of grassy areas our dogs would love. There were two RV's in our party. I tried to book for three nights for the RV's, but was told they could only accommodate us for two nights. I said that was fine, we'd take the two nights. We noticed in the morning that there were quite a few open RV spots so my husband again asked if we could stay a third night. Again, he was told they were full. He mentioned the open RV spots and said we would be happy to move if they had another spot for both RV's to move to. They said yes, then they could accommodate us. On the day we were to move, we went in early to see what spot to move to. (There were a lot of open ones). They said to come back at 11 am. That put a crunch in our time to go site seeing, but said ok. At 10:45 we were back and Elaine, the owner, was there and said we would have to come back at 2pm to find out our space and move. My husband explained we wanted to go sight seeing and if the space was open, couldn't we move now. She said she didn't know if the space was open or not. My husband said if she gave him the space number, he would just look and see if someone was still there or not. She said that was an invasion of privacy and she couldn't. All of her comments were made in a snotty manner. We ended up having to come back at 2 to move. Definitely made our extra day of sightseeing short. The laundry facility consisted of 2 washers with only cold wash and 2 dryers. It is a good sized RV park. We had to wait to do laundry and there was someone waiting for us to finish so they could start. The only trash dumpsters were way on one end of the park with no trash cans anywhere else. If it wasn't for Elaine, we would probably go back there because of the large sites and green grass. Unfortunately, due to her we won't. The only bright spot at the front desk was Amber. She was nice and helpful!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely space surrounded by trees. Deer were in the open spaces outside the camp grounds. The shower facility seemed humid, but it was clean. If it had been a bit more comfy and housed more than two showers, I would have given five stars.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sambob7453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here! The campsites are nice and big. I loved that we had so much space and weren't right next to other people. Full hookup is always awesome too.
The location of this campground is great too! Only a few minutes from town and only a few minutes from Custer State Park.
The only negative is that the Wi-Fi is weak. This didn't bother us as we were just vacationing. However, if you were planning to get some work done you would definitely need to bring your own hotspot or something.
I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews