We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
62
28
5
5
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
28
5
5
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rv spots backed up trees blocking family cabin green grass rented a car clean campground large sites black hills bike trail close to town local sites site seeing great campground mount rushmore fire pit crazy horse
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 120 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

We stayed there in mid September and did not have a reservation. I was leary of calling as a few reviews were not the friendliest sounding but the woman at the information center in a nearby town highly recommended it. We were totally thrilled with our stay as they rented cars and that is what we were wanting to do the loop road in Custer State Park. Rick and Linda were extremely friendly and were the managers on duty. Could not have asked for a better campground.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Recently while in Custer, SD we did the day rental for a UTV. Except for the wind blowing 35 mph gust,a bit chilly, and some trees being over some of the trails we had a blast. Of course, this wasn't Tim's fault. By the way, Tim, I saw a forest personnel at the laundromat the next day and complained to him about the trees and the marking of the trails.I don't know if it did any good, but he said he would check the trees out the next day especially the tree blocking the road to Cicero Peak. Thank you Tim for all of the trail information. We actually got to see 3 bull elk. Everyone said we were very lucky because people live in that area for a long time without seeing elk. We also saw 48 deer, 27 turkey and some kind of little red animal that we had never seen before. Tim told us what it was but can't remember the name. The point is we went slow and looked for wildlife. We were there to enjoy the ride, the views, nature, and wildlife, not to ride wide open.You can't see and enjoy the wildlife if you go wide open, but that"s what some people want to do just not us. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely do this again and rent the UTV from Tim. Thanks again, Tim for everything. It was a blast. Hope the trees are removed soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

While on a month Long Family vacation visiting National Parks and landmarks we stayed here for 2 nights, at first I thought the lack of amenities (Pool, kids stuff) that we would get some resistance and whining from the boys. The facilities are very clean, staff is very friendly and the layout is easy to navigate. We ended up renting just a 1/2 day UTV (side by side 4 seat all wheel drive) and explored some back roads, trails and pastures (we got a little lost on purpose) this single event is one that the boys speak of most. Not six Flags in St Louis, Not the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell or Bryce Canyon.. the Damn UTV was a hit and highlight. I’ll roll with it and enjoy the memory.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WrMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We put in a reservation at Custers Gulch to ride an ATV two days before our ride. It was easy to do and I was informed that the deposit was non refundable. I didn't hear from them by email so was a little worried when we pulled up. When we got there our 2 seat ATV was gassed up and waiting for us. The owner had us download a map on our phones and also gave a forest service map that was highlighted with a possible route for our 4 hour rental. The guy who helped us was so kind and friendly. With a quick lesson on operating our unit we were off for the afternoon. We had such an adventure through the hills, through mud puddles and around trees blocking the path. It was well worth the money we paid and so easy to operate. I hope to return and rent again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We used Custer as a home base for 10 days while visiting all the major attractions in the Black Hills and it was ideal. The RV sites were large and all backed up into the scenic hills with a fire pit and frequent deer sightings. WiFi was fair. It is on a spur of the paved Mickelson Bike Trail for a 3 mile ride into downtown Custer through a prairie dog town. Don't plan to do laundry here. Only 2 machines with hot and warm water disabled! Cold wash only.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews