We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mystic Valley Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
13
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsblack hillsstonyloftporch
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

3 miles down a gravel road sits Cindy and Stoney's B&B. What a great bargain. The rustic log cabin is clean and inviting and sits in a very natural area backing on the National Forest. After a very long trip from Il, Cindy and Stoney greeted us with a big smile and made us feel welcome. Our puppy loved the area and was able to run loose and even chase their cat with no harm done. Breakfast was yummy every morning and the chatter across the breakfast table was always interesting. Stoney and Cindy are a wealth of information re the area and were able to point us in the right direction once they knew what we were thinking. A big A+ and a great $$ bargin.

Room Tip: Only 2 cabins but both a equal in quality
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet rustic place to stay, then this is it. The cabins are comfortable with everything you need, including wifi. After sightseeing all day, we would come home to relax on the porch or the swing and their cat would come sit with us. The breakfasts were the best we had on our vacation because of the food and the conversation. Stoney made blueberry pancakes, ham & cheese omelet and apple puff for us the three mornings we were there. We left every morning full and he even made our coffee the way we like it after finding out we like it stronger. It is like staying with friends or family. We highly recommend it and if we are ever in that area again, will definitely stay there. It was the best sleep we had on our 9 days of travel. Thanks again Stoney and Cindy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craftyjanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is wonderful. We went out for sturgis and didn't want to be in the crowds. It was way more perfect than we ever hoped for. Cindy and Stoney are such great people. They know exactly what not to miss seeing while you are there. The cabins are clean and stocked with everything you could possible need. Breakfast is wonderful. We stayed 8 nights and hated leaving. Hotels were not as good after staying with them. I am an animal lover and missed my animals while we were away, they have the best cat. He made my nights, every night he welcomed us back and spent time with me. If you are ever in the area you need to stay here. I have never wrote a review in my life and felt it is such a nice place I had to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliemclaughlin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If your after something off the tourist trail for your stay in the Mt Rushmore region then this place is perfect. Stoney and Cindy were the perfect hosts and we loved the hand built pine cabins made by Stoney himself. Cindy's homemade breakfast were delicious and there was no problem putting our hire car in their garage when an overnight storm occurred. The peacefulness of their location and the stillness is perfect. Their cabins have all the modern amenities you need. This place rocks and it was safe for our 22month old to run around outside. Highly recommended and very cost effective given the overall experience and pricing of other places in the area.

Room Tip: There are only 2 cabins exactly the same which is what makes this place so great! Get in quick....
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Dear Stoney and Cindy:
Wow we'd really like to thank you for the excellent B&B that you operate. For a family of 5 and a dog it's the perfect fit for us. Your location is convenient for many Black Hills attractions. Even if we were just to stay at the Double D alone the hiking/horse trails are more than sufficient to get away and see the country up close. I like the DD being off the main road and on a dead end too. It has the peace and quiet of Nature that we all long for.
It was also nice to get to know you two a little better every morning during your really awesome breakfasts and our leisurely engaging conversations. Your modus operandi shows good teamwork between the two of you showing a good business model together with high quality rustic accommodations.
It's so nice that your guests, dogs too, have virtually free range of your whole place plus the neighbors and the Black Hills National Park right next door. The grill provided with the cabin was perfect for us to do our own family cooking. We also appreciate your knowledge of the area. Cindy seems to know all the opening hours and activities in the whole Hills. And Stoney knows how to get there the rest of the story more often than not. We'll recommend your place to anyone heading that way. And we definitely would like to head that way again. We'll keep in touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GratefulOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews