We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$130
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$126
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Valley Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
13
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsblack hillsstonyloftporch
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2015

Cabin was basic on first appearance, but as we settled in there was everything we needed, including a corkscrew! Double bed, double pullout couch and a single bed in the loft. Great location for hitting Custer state park, a drive to Devils tower, or a visit to the Mammoth Site. We had a wonderful stay, with fantastic breakfast cooked up by Cindy and Stoney (ask for the apple puff recipe!)
Sad to leave, very relaxing, and we will definitely return when time permits.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Spent July 12 to 16th at this cozy cabin about 12 miles south of custer. Our cabin was cozy with creaky floors that added to the overall experience. The best part of our stay was the delightful breaksfast chats with Cyndi and Stoney and their wonderful breakfast each day. Breakfast was yummy especially apple puffs that were delicious.

Out in the wilderness, quiet and enjoyable. Also Our dog loved it too.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RogerB2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We traveled here from Illinois for our 10th wedding anniversary. Stony and Cindy we great hosts. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy towns but close enough to get to all the attractions. Stony had great stories to share over breakfast and they both were very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. Speaking of breakfast...Stony makes the best blueberry pancakes I have ever eaten. He even made a point of getting up early to see us off since we wanted to get an early start. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. A very great place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agoins04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last year on our first trip to South Dakota. It was close to all the Custer State Park/Mt. Rushmore attractions, but far enough off the beaten path that you could see every star in the sky. They offer two identical cabins which have everything you need,(including everything my husband needed for his digital obsession) were extremely clean, well stocked and nicely decorated. The two breakfasts Stoney made for us were the best we had on our trip. Stoney was also extremely helpful with figuring out timing at the attractions that would be the least crowded and recommending restaurants. We loved it so much we're heading back this fall and are staying longer than last time. This is a great place when visiting South Dakota--especially if you truly want a break! Can't wait to be there again and meet Cindy this time around--she was out of time on our last visit. Oh, and as far as costs go, this is a true bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2013

3 miles down a gravel road sits Cindy and Stoney's B&B. What a great bargain. The rustic log cabin is clean and inviting and sits in a very natural area backing on the National Forest. After a very long trip from Il, Cindy and Stoney greeted us with a big smile and made us feel welcome. Our puppy loved the area and was able to run loose and even chase their cat with no harm done. Breakfast was yummy every morning and the chatter across the breakfast table was always interesting. Stoney and Cindy are a wealth of information re the area and were able to point us in the right direction once they knew what we were thinking. A big A+ and a great $$ bargin.

Room Tip: Only 2 cabins but both a equal in quality
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews