We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin
Interior cabin Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Cabin
Interior cabin
Sunset
Turkeys like our bed and breakfast too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin G
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Very quiet location. No airplane or highway sounds. Quaint, comfortable cabin. Not far from Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Our hosts provided great conversation at breakfast and excellent local travel tips. We had a great stay and highly recommend the Double D.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise7...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This is a wonderful place to stay! Extremely clean and quiet. The breakfasts are delicious. They are both extremely knowledgeable about the area. They are two of the most genuine people we've met. They make you feel like family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.B. C
Orfordville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to return to at the end of the day!”
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stoney and Cindy have a fantastic place! Super clean, stocked with everything you will need, and very quiet at the end of the day. The breakfast was HUGE every morning. We had great conversation in the morning and help with our trip planning for the day. We had big plans of coming back and using the grill and fire pit, but there is too much to see during the day. It was great to come back to a super clean and quiet cabin and just kick back. Nobody above you or in the hall like a motel. No cell reception (Maybe the greatest part of the stay), but there is dish tv. Thank you so much Cindy and Stoney!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_and_W20...
Islamorada, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Place in the Black Hills!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Well...to start...South Dakota is a beautiful state and Cindy and Stoney just help to make it perfect. The cabin is just right, everything is clean and working properly and the sheets are to die for. It is situated right next to the National Park and it is easy to get to everything you would want to see. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this place to anyone. Opps... did I mention breakfasts? Only two words,YUM YUM. Thank you Cindy and Stoney for a wonderful stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2018
Thanks so much for staying with us and including us in your vacation plans.. You're welcome back any time. Hope to see you again, here, East Coast, or Florida.

Cindy and Stoney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Custer State Park visit”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We enjoyed our stay with Cindy and Stoney (and of course, BT). Very cordial host that were gracious with every interaction. Looked forward to breakfast to enjoy the home cooking and conversations.
A clean and rustic charm that is away from the crowds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2018
Thanks for staying with us. Sometimes I think BT should have his own Facebook page. That cat has a great following.

Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Double D B&B was a great place to stay during our SD trip. The cabin is cute, clean, loaded with everything you will need, and the owners are so personable and make sure you are happy! Breakfast was amazing both days, and as others stated the breakfast conversation was great (we would have continued to talk all day if it wasn't for our activities!). The cabin is about 20 miles away from "downtown" Custer, this is no issue if you have plans that stay on track. When we headed from Rapid City to Custer, a storm was supposed to come in, so we headed straight to the cabin, and were hesitant to make the treck back to town for activities when the storm never came, so we basically just hung out for one afternoon/evening of the trip, that we had planned on doing other things (had we been closer to town, we would have went out to play once we noticed the rain was not coming). But we stayed in an BBQed with the available grill at the cabin! overall, we would absolutely recommend it to others, and will stay there again if we ever make it back out that way!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2018
Liz,
Thanks for staying with us. You're welcome back any time.
Cindy and Stoney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
1 review
“The proprietors, Cindy and Stony were absolutly amazing.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The proprietors Cindy and Stony where absolutely amazing. The location was wonderful. It aloud for quite nights after long days with crowds of people. The prepared breakfast's were way more than expected and the best meals we had while spending a week in the area. Star gazing and listening to the critters at night were a bonus to the evenings. Our kids 14,10 and 10 months were more than comfortable. Stony and Cindy's knowledge on the area help a great deal in planning our days efficiently which was a great help. It was our son's 10th birthday while we were staying there. Stony and Cindy went out of there way to make it extra special for him (he is still talking about it today), For that I thank you. If you are truly looking for a memorable black Hills experience, you will not do better than the Double D. Truly wonderful people in an amazing setting.

Stony and Cindy, thank you again so much. and I apologize for having too much fun on our last night there, I am sure we were probably a little to loud for such a tranquil setting.

If you have run across this review and are still debating where to stay, just save yourself the time second guessing and book while you have the opportunity.

Thanks again,
James

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for making us part of your vacation. You're welcome back any time!
Cindy and Stoney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing