We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cabin, perfect location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tenderfoot Creek Tenderfoot Creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Tenderfoot Creek
Tenderfoot Creek
Driveway
Backyard
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tiffany26...
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful cabin, perfect location.”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of the cabin was perfect. It was close to everything we wanted to see and do. Close to Custer and Hill City for shopping. It had a beautiful outdoor setting and was so charming on the inside. It had all the amenities of home and even felt like home after a week. We hated to leave. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely look to rent again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for choosing the Tenderfoot Creek Cabin

Sheralin
Black Hills Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS2267
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Black Hills Cabin”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I simply love this log cabin and have stayed here twice over the past several years. It is so conveniently located to everything and it is immaculate, well stocked for comfort and enjoyment, and nestled in a gulch that sits just below the Mickelson Trail. There is minimal traffic from the road above, but it is well concealed and not an issue. Every day/evening we'd sit out on the porch and enjoy the beautiful yard, family of deer, and privacy of the cabin. It is wonderfully set up as a home away from home and I would stay here any time we visit the Black Hills. I can't say enough about the Black Hills area itself and all that it has to offer in terms of natural beauty, history, national and state parks, and ease of travel. I've lived from east to west in this country and this is a real gem of a spot. I feel sad every time I leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thank you we look forward to having you back.

Sheralin
Black Hills Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica...
McHenry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a Charmer”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very clean and upkept. My husband and I travel a lot with our kids (8 & 13), and we notice that many places are limited with what is available on site. Not here! There was plenty of everything we needed. Extra blankets, extra towels, a drawer stocked full of games, a kitchen with everything needed to cook an entire meal, seating, tvs, wifi, and even binoculars. You can not really tell from the pictures but there are neighbors. I did not see anyone during the entire stay though. It's in a great location close to many attractions and trails. Bottom line is I would definitely consider renting the same cabin again for the duration of out next stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Jessica thank you, we look forward to having you stay with us again. Sheralin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale D
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cabin was clean very well maintained , stocked with all the things we needed , except for our food and beverages. Easy to find , close to all the sites to visit and view , had the best vacation and my friends who stayed were very happy as well . A big shoutout to Sheralin for helping me out with booking this rental. Stopped by her office to introduce ourselves , and thank her , personally great vacation thanks again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked all of it
Liked least: Driveway to cabin, challenging with Motorcycles, but after first day we mastered it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSLehi...
Lehigh Valley PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cabin in the Black Hills”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice cabin in a convenient location just north of Custer SD in the Black Hills. Sheralin, the property manager, was very helpful, courteous and available. Very clean with comfortable beds. As with almost all cabins in the Black Hills there is NO A/C -- but with ceiling fans and the cool evenings that wasn't an issue. Nicely furnished kitchen. The washer and dryer were "low end" -- not many settings and not very efficient, but that really should be a concern for the owners, not the renters. Nice grocery store about 8 minutes north. No cell service but rental has wi-fi. We would rent this cabin again if we were looking for a rental in the Black Hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highway is an issue if your looking for quietness!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is very nice and the location is great as far as being close to sightseeing venues but sitting on the porch talking to my wife was really loud. I finally would pause the conversation until the traffic passed. If that issue doesn't bother you then I would stay here. There is no AC which wasn't an issue in late June. Sheralin was very helpful with any issue We had Only complaint is road noise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice cabin
Liked least: Road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treeharp
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin central to Black Hills”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a well maintained 2 bedroom, one bath cabin. Fully stocked kitchen, plenty of dinning space and comfortable living room. I'm rather picky about mattresses, and this cabin had neither too hard or too soft. (The 3 bears) it was just right! Cabin is between Hill City (6 miles) and Custer. Quiet. Turkeys is the yard every morning. Deer at night. Cable tv too. There were 4 adults in this trip. The only drawback was one bathroom. That kind of delayed us getting out every morning. Otherwise, very nice place with WiFi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing