We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful people, clean hostel, great location”
Review of Selina Pedasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Selina Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A really nice hostel with bar, pool table, ping pong, etc. Staff is very sweet and helpful. They know all the activities available (like whale watching, island trips) and will book for you. Also will book transportation for you via their shuttles (although more pricey than the public bus). Rooms are very clean, private bathroom per dorm. I like the fact that you can choose how many "dorm-mates" you will have, can rent a bed in 4 person room. Or get a cheaper 6 person, 8 person, etc dorm bed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Over60Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 32 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
83
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice and clean dorm room! Stylish decoration! Unfortunately there wasnt a real hostel vibe because of the lack of guests ;) The kitchen wasn't the best either . The pool and the staff were really nice and we enjoyed the bikes for rent!
We had a good time there :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Pedasi is one if not the most picturesque little town in all Panama. And if you want to know better why, I recommend you to stay in Selina Pedasi Hostel. This place is done with a fantastic mix of modern design and rustic vibe keeping the atmosphere in place with the location. We stayed as a couple one night in a small room with shared bathroom for other three rooms like ours. The room is very small just with the basic need of a comfortable bed and very few furtniture occupying almost all the space. However it has air conditioner and a fan, so those wanted to feel a Nordic cold in the middle of the night while sleeping in the tropics it will work more than fine. We just kept the fan running and slept very well. The next day we moved to a private room with private bathroom by the pool . This room has the modern vibe of a designer hotel in Europe and nothing to envy to the most comfortable room in a very expensive hotel. This was very spacious and with a glass sliding patio door overlooking the pool. The bathroom was very clean and also roomy as well.
The whole hostel is very well designed as a mix of private rooms, semi private with shared bathroom and dorms for large families or groups or individual clients with a budget ready to share this experience with other clients on the same room. You can see a mix of families and young backpackers in a very cordial environment sharing the kitchen and the common areas like the eating ranch or the large open air bed by the pool. From the hostel you can go out and walk in the very safe town to visit spectaculars eateries offering both local and international food. You can also take the shuttle and visit the different beaches in the area or rent a bike and do it on your own.
Now, the people working at the hostel, like Einer and Jessica and the others, are just amazing human beings, always willing to listen to any suggestion you may have and going way above the extra mile to make you feel like you are at home. Any little thing like asking for an extra soap or towel, or a drink to be brought to you while enjoying the hammock by the pool is met with the most friendly smile and fast service. Any question you may have they are always around willing to help you. Nowhere in Panama where we had stayed before had we felt this human warmth and the sincere desire to make your stay a pleasant one. No doubt Selina has the best people working in this place. Way to go guys! Congratulations!

Room Tip: Private rooms are amazing, book ahead of time to be sure you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rcomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Pros: Free Wifi, interesting decoration, free pool table, free gaming Atari console, good A/C at common area, great location!, price is not bad, manager/owner is a nice person, confortable bed, good room A/C.
Cons: Small rooms, dirty-look-like- room (walls and floor), extra small pool, dirty pool every day, a bit rude staff, dirty bathroom and in poor conditions, you have to share your bathroom with 3 other rooms = ) , communal rooms aswell, very little privacy in that case.
In conclusion: The place looks great in social media, website, etc, but IS NOT WHAT IT SEEMS. But if you don´t shower often, if you don´t consider the room that important, if you don´t go to the toilet much, and if you like to network with strangers in your room, dude, this is the place to go, and I really mean it. There are a lot of people who like this kind of places, and that's cool with me. But if you want something different, please read this post to avoid a headache.

Room Tip: Dont trust this site on Booking.com, rooms you book may be put with more unknown people in the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuisRiverART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The hostel does have nice beds and it appears clean but other than that it was not great. The kitchen utensils and cookware was in the worst condition. They charge about 200% markup on products that you can buy across the street. The service was not that great. They put someone in my bed and acted like it was my bad. There are other hostels in the area that I would go to before this one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Taylor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Definitely the best place to stay in pedasi. New, clean, fun and with great facilities and bar. The staff who are very friendly do everything they can to make you have a good time. Also, we changed our plans last minute and the manager was very understanding and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldrink2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

I liked the vibe in Selina's and that it was fairly clean. Didnt like the fact that there is a kitchen without any basic spices and oil. Like every person should buy their own oil, salt and pepper. Also, i visited Selinas in Playa Venao and their breakfast had such a great variety of things to eat. In Pedasi we had only a small muffin and plain white pastry with some butter/jam. That was it! Breakfast included...I have had much better free breakfast on much cheaper price. So yeah, a little disappointed on that. Also, wifi keeps going on and off constantly and doesnt really reach the bedrooms. Overall is good to stay for few days as location is good and you can find a lot of good coffee shops/restaurants around but I felt it was a little expensive for a bed and a muffin.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kärt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#3 of 7 in Pedasi
330 reviews
21.1 km away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
21.1 km away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
21 km away
Selina Playa Venao
Selina Playa Venao
#2 of 4 in Playa Venao
223 reviews
21.9 km away
Eco Venao
Eco Venao
#1 of 1 in Playa Venao
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selina Pedasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selina Pedasi

Address: Calle Agustin Moscoso, Pedasi 0749, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Pedasi
Price Range: $30 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Selina Pedasi 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the quiet, colorful rows of Panama’s most charming pueblo is Selina Pedasi– an elegant and energizing place for travelers to recharge between adventures. Selina Pedasi puts you in the perfect location for exploring the area’s soul-filling beauty and heart-pumping adventures. Selina Pedasi is artfully constructed to provide an inspiring base for those exploring the magical surrounding coastline. Handcrafted by local and international artists, Selina Pedasi evokes an eclectic, homey feel by blending the warm, timeless elements of hispanic architecture with a young, trendy and Eco-friendly design. Soak in the sun by our outdoor pool, rest and re-energize in our garden, goof around in our game room, binge on artisan tacos, or swap travel tales in the bar. Whatever you’re doing at Selina Pedasi, you’ll be doing it in color, comfort, and style. Soak in the sun by our outdoor pool, rest and re-energize in our garden, goof around in our game room, binge on artisan tacos, or swap travel tales in the bar. Whatever you’re doing at Selina Pedasi, you’ll be doing it in color, comfort, and style. Pedasi, in the remote Azuero Peninsula of the Central American country of Panama, insulated from change and revered the world over for its colonial roots, traditional festivals and extravagant carnival celebrations, is now attracting the attention of an even wider public , lured by unbelievable fishing, some of the best surfing beaches in the world, eco-tourism, and the prospect of buying plentiful hectares of land at affordable prices. Policies and Conditions: Check in from 15:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards, debit cards. No American Expreess or Diners Club. This property may pre-authorize your credit card before arrival. Taxes not included - 10% Directions: By Car:Take the Pan-American Highway, from either direction. It doesn’t matter which way you’re heading you need to take the Divisa turnoff heading South towards Chitre. The turnoff is not well marked so keep your eyes open for the overpass going across the highway, this road will take you all the way to Pedasi. Continue on the main highway passing the towns of Chitre, Las Tablas, and Pedasi. By Bus: From the main terminal in the city at the Albrook Bus Terminal (call them on +507 303–3030 for more information) they have plenty of buses departing throughout the day. Take the bus from the city to Las Tablas. From Las Tablas hop on a bus to Pedasi. By Air: Flights to Pedasi are available on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday from the Albrook National Airport with Air Panama. By Taxi: Take a taxi from Las Tablas or Chitre. Fare from Las Tablas or Chitre it’s more like $30-$35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Selina Pedasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selina Pedasi Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing