We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landhaus Roscher
Nearby Hotels
Rose(Mayrhofen)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Edenlehen(Mayrhofen)
US$170
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Mayrhofen)
US$154
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$284
US$261
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apart Central(Mayrhofen)
US$240
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berghof(Mayrhofen)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
30
30
19
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
30
19
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkyogurtquiet locationhamhalf boardlast minute dealspa poolaustrian twinsclean towelsboiled eggsreception areabooked this hoteltown centrepenken liftski gearboot roomskiing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 95 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

went mayrhofen on the 28th of feb 2009. the resort is brilliant. the white lounge really is something that needs to be seen. the ice hutte sculpture is also really nice.
there are plenty of bars available such as scotland yard and the ice bar. there are also other bar in the strass which are lively. for quieter drinking the bar with the bowling alley is a great bar with a nice cosy atmosphere, next to the landhaus rocher.

the hotel overall is good. the rooms are definately stuck in a time zone, but apart from that the spa and food along with every thing else are brilliant.

from the reception the mannis sport hotel seemed much more up to date but is further to walk to the gondola.
the ice bar is a brilliant apres ski bar but it gets too full from 5:30 onwards.

oh and beware the spa is a naked only spa!!! make sure you wash the seats.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke310389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Good location- next to Paneken lift, 30 min queuing at peak times, Food varied and plentyfull, staff friendly and helpful .Room large and clean.
Free ski/boot room,unsecure.- Ski lockers 1euro per day.
Skied at over 30 resorts , this Hotel one of the best

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We selected the Strass for its close proximity to the gondola. We booked with Thomson where it is four star. The reviews on this site were less than complimentary and as there were twelve of us (three families with teenager children) we were worried by how horrible the reviewers made it sound.

Our worries were unfounded we had a fabulous holiday and we will certainly return to this hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept. there was no problem with noise; they weren't smokey and neither were most of the public rooms(we are all non-smokers and this was our biggest worry).

Staff were welcoming and helpful, particularly in the restaurant and the food was great too.

The hotel is situated right next door to the Penken Gondola and we were expecting long queues to get up the mountain. This was never a problem, luckily our group are all skiers so we could go up after the morning rush, even so the queues were well organised and orderly. What a polite bunch of people!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We booked Sport Hotel Strass based on its proximity to the Penken gondola and its four star rating as this was our first visit to Mayrhofen.
Although the small reception area was full of guests trying to check-in, it was done in an orderly fashion and the receptionist was efficient and friendly. Our room was on the first floor(room 1106) at the end of the corridor and was very spacious(double with extra bed and sitting corner)and looked out onto a roof garden and had a very nice view of the mountains and the penken gondola.
The room was spotless, bright, nicely furnished with no smell of smoke.The bathroom was bright, warm and had plenty of new towels.Toilet was seperate. We felt that the door into the bedroom was rather flimsy, however when we shut an inner door to the room we could hear no sound on the corridor.
We were awoken on several nights by the shouts and whoops of revellers exiting the night club in the basement of this hotel.

We had booked half board and found the food very good in general.We had the same friendly and kind waiter for the week.
The dining room was not full on any evening and we felt that it lacked atmosphere.
The pool and spa area was certainly four star and was kept in immaculate condition.We loved the sauna area with its roman decor and wonderful steam rooms.
The lounge area in this hotel reminds me of a tacky small town hotel in Ireland. There is such a mish mash of colours and decor that we never sat in it once. This area is in urgent need of refurbishment to call it four star.
I would probably not stay in Sport Hotel Strass again, prefering instead Hotel Neue Post at the end of the main street. We had a drink in the lovely lounge in this hotel most nights and dined there on one evening.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I went to this hotel as part of a group, booked by someone else. I checked on tripadvisor for reviews (the hotel goes under a few aliases: sporthotel, sport and fun ...), and had some poor reviews, but I thought "what the hell", can't be that bad. It was.

The hotel has 3 parts - hence the name variations - and encompasses a number or bars on the ground floor. There is a pool, and a spa area (nudity strictly enforced)

My wife and I were in room 2007. 1st floor. Facing the gondola, and directly above the Ice Bar. The thumping music began at 4pm and continued until 8.30/9pm. Then it stopped (thankfully), but was followed by a couple of hours of noise as things were dragged around, bins of empty bottles tipped out, and then through the night - street noises from intoxicated revellers, shouting, fights, firecrackers. Speaking to others in the group, we might have got off lightly - another couple were above the karaoke bar, which went on until after midnight.

The room. Two single beds and 2 single duvets pushed together. A sofa which could double as a single bed. Small bathroom but with copious hot water for bath and shower. Separate toilet.

In-room entertainment - 14inch colour portable TV with about a dozen cable channels, 2 or 3 in English. the rest german with russian (there appeared to be a lot of russians in the hotel and resort) and italian channels.

No dedicated non-smoking hotel bedrooms. All had ashtrays and smelled of stale smoke. Some bars and all restaurants were non-smoking. Smoky corridors and lobbys.

No tea or coffee making facilities.

Food - we were half-board. Breakfast was a mixture of eurpean cold meats and cheeses, fruit and porridge with scrambled egg and sausage, bacon and a type of baked beans. Cereals. Late to breakfast meant less, and poorer quality food.

Dinner - menu changed daily. 3 main course choices including veggie option. Was OK, but not 4*. Not too inspiring. Had to be out by 9.30. No relaxing post-dinner drinks at the table. Reasonable wine list and nice staff.

Nicest meal was pizza and beer lunch from the UFO pizza and kebab shop just up the road.

Skiing. Was ok. No ski route back to resort, and only one gondola (penkenbahn) up. Means queues at peak times - both up and down. Not too many pistes/runs. Had done them all several times in a week. Very busy slopes (average for europe I guess - go to N America for wide, uncrowded pistes and politeness on the snow).

Hotel has ski lockers in the basement and there are plentiful equipment hire shops within just a few yards.

Summary - hotel: not 4*, limited in-room facilities, huge potential for disturbace in many rooms over bars and facing the main street. Convenient for gondola up to sloes

Would I go back to this hotel - no. Would I go back to Mayrhofen for the skiing - no; seen it all. 2 or 3 times.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews