We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landhaus Roscher not the Strass”
Review of Landhaus Roscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Roscher
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Landhaus Roscher not the Strass”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Having read a few previous reviews, other members have reviewed Srass Hotel, not Landhaus Roscher. Arrived 4am after stressful, delayed flight, had been given room keys by holiday rep. One key did not fit, had to ring rep. to return, got host out of bed-did not acknowledge us whatsoever, only opened door and walked away. Problem was room already occupied. Host returned to try next door, luckily room empty. Missed breakfast first day, cold meats, bread and chese provided to eat in room and apologies for previous night.
Rooms basic, dated, generally acceptably clean, but have stayed in much nicer, cosier upto date accomodation in Austria for same cost. One major criticism was the early morning visits from the cleaner regardless of whether or not door was locked, she unlocked it and came in without knocking. The only way to keep her out was to lock the door and leave the key in it! The last straw wason departure day was whilst at breakfast all but one small towel was removed from our room, therefore making it impossible to have a shower. Our two teenaged sons were trying to get ready for ski-ing and she walked in and out of room disregarding their privacy.
Considering that she was always so desperate to clean rooms, throughout our one week stay, two soaking wet dirty towels remained at the end of the bath in our sons room.
Location was ideal, as it was just far enough away from town as to avoid any night time noise, but close enough to Penken and Ahorn lifts. Realy enjoyed friendly atmosphere at bowling alley next door on Christmas Eve,also close to skating rinkl.
Overall, adequate accomodation, but could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

went mayrhofen on the 28th of feb 2009. the resort is brilliant. the white lounge really is something that needs to be seen. the ice hutte sculpture is also really nice.
there are plenty of bars available such as scotland yard and the ice bar. there are also other bar in the strass which are lively. for quieter drinking the bar with the bowling alley is a great bar with a nice cosy atmosphere, next to the landhaus rocher.

the hotel overall is good. the rooms are definately stuck in a time zone, but apart from that the spa and food along with every thing else are brilliant.

from the reception the mannis sport hotel seemed much more up to date but is further to walk to the gondola.
the ice bar is a brilliant apres ski bar but it gets too full from 5:30 onwards.

oh and beware the spa is a naked only spa!!! make sure you wash the seats.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke310389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Good location- next to Paneken lift, 30 min queuing at peak times, Food varied and plentyfull, staff friendly and helpful .Room large and clean.
Free ski/boot room,unsecure.- Ski lockers 1euro per day.
Skied at over 30 resorts , this Hotel one of the best

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We selected the Strass for its close proximity to the gondola. We booked with Thomson where it is four star. The reviews on this site were less than complimentary and as there were twelve of us (three families with teenager children) we were worried by how horrible the reviewers made it sound.

Our worries were unfounded we had a fabulous holiday and we will certainly return to this hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept. there was no problem with noise; they weren't smokey and neither were most of the public rooms(we are all non-smokers and this was our biggest worry).

Staff were welcoming and helpful, particularly in the restaurant and the food was great too.

The hotel is situated right next door to the Penken Gondola and we were expecting long queues to get up the mountain. This was never a problem, luckily our group are all skiers so we could go up after the morning rush, even so the queues were well organised and orderly. What a polite bunch of people!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We booked Sport Hotel Strass based on its proximity to the Penken gondola and its four star rating as this was our first visit to Mayrhofen.
Although the small reception area was full of guests trying to check-in, it was done in an orderly fashion and the receptionist was efficient and friendly. Our room was on the first floor(room 1106) at the end of the corridor and was very spacious(double with extra bed and sitting corner)and looked out onto a roof garden and had a very nice view of the mountains and the penken gondola.
The room was spotless, bright, nicely furnished with no smell of smoke.The bathroom was bright, warm and had plenty of new towels.Toilet was seperate. We felt that the door into the bedroom was rather flimsy, however when we shut an inner door to the room we could hear no sound on the corridor.
We were awoken on several nights by the shouts and whoops of revellers exiting the night club in the basement of this hotel.

We had booked half board and found the food very good in general.We had the same friendly and kind waiter for the week.
The dining room was not full on any evening and we felt that it lacked atmosphere.
The pool and spa area was certainly four star and was kept in immaculate condition.We loved the sauna area with its roman decor and wonderful steam rooms.
The lounge area in this hotel reminds me of a tacky small town hotel in Ireland. There is such a mish mash of colours and decor that we never sat in it once. This area is in urgent need of refurbishment to call it four star.
I would probably not stay in Sport Hotel Strass again, prefering instead Hotel Neue Post at the end of the main street. We had a drink in the lovely lounge in this hotel most nights and dined there on one evening.

  • Liked — proximity to gondola, spa
  • Disliked — lounge area decor, noise at night
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I went to this hotel as part of a group, booked by someone else. I checked on tripadvisor for reviews (the hotel goes under a few aliases: sporthotel, sport and fun ...), and had some poor reviews, but I thought "what the hell", can't be that bad. It was.

The hotel has 3 parts - hence the name variations - and encompasses a number or bars on the ground floor. There is a pool, and a spa area (nudity strictly enforced)

My wife and I were in room 2007. 1st floor. Facing the gondola, and directly above the Ice Bar. The thumping music began at 4pm and continued until 8.30/9pm. Then it stopped (thankfully), but was followed by a couple of hours of noise as things were dragged around, bins of empty bottles tipped out, and then through the night - street noises from intoxicated revellers, shouting, fights, firecrackers. Speaking to others in the group, we might have got off lightly - another couple were above the karaoke bar, which went on until after midnight.

The room. Two single beds and 2 single duvets pushed together. A sofa which could double as a single bed. Small bathroom but with copious hot water for bath and shower. Separate toilet.

In-room entertainment - 14inch colour portable TV with about a dozen cable channels, 2 or 3 in English. the rest german with russian (there appeared to be a lot of russians in the hotel and resort) and italian channels.

No dedicated non-smoking hotel bedrooms. All had ashtrays and smelled of stale smoke. Some bars and all restaurants were non-smoking. Smoky corridors and lobbys.

No tea or coffee making facilities.

Food - we were half-board. Breakfast was a mixture of eurpean cold meats and cheeses, fruit and porridge with scrambled egg and sausage, bacon and a type of baked beans. Cereals. Late to breakfast meant less, and poorer quality food.

Dinner - menu changed daily. 3 main course choices including veggie option. Was OK, but not 4*. Not too inspiring. Had to be out by 9.30. No relaxing post-dinner drinks at the table. Reasonable wine list and nice staff.

Nicest meal was pizza and beer lunch from the UFO pizza and kebab shop just up the road.

Skiing. Was ok. No ski route back to resort, and only one gondola (penkenbahn) up. Means queues at peak times - both up and down. Not too many pistes/runs. Had done them all several times in a week. Very busy slopes (average for europe I guess - go to N America for wide, uncrowded pistes and politeness on the snow).

Hotel has ski lockers in the basement and there are plentiful equipment hire shops within just a few yards.

Summary - hotel: not 4*, limited in-room facilities, huge potential for disturbace in many rooms over bars and facing the main street. Convenient for gondola up to sloes

Would I go back to this hotel - no. Would I go back to Mayrhofen for the skiing - no; seen it all. 2 or 3 times.

  • Liked — Close to gondola
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise, smoke, food, not 4 star quality - but claims it
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mayrhofen hotels

county durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Just returned after a week stay at The Garni Strass. 2 families booked into 4 double rooms as no family rooms available. Standard bedroom although basic (shower and no bath, small portable tv and no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities) was clean.

Buffet continental breakfast was provided and an evening meal with a salad buffet starter, then a soup, plus a choice of a set meal from 3 selections, then a dessert. The food was ok but meat was way too red.

When we first arrived the hotel smelt of smoke but on 1st January no smoking signs had been put up in the family bar area I assume it was a new law. Smoking I think is still allowed in the Sports Bar in the hotel.

Our group was of 8, four adults and four children. 2 adults and 2 children were experienced skiers and others were beginners. For myself a beginner I preferred the Ahorn for skiing as there are a lot of blue runs. The Penken is for more experienced skiers.

If like me you like tea/coffee making facilities in your room I would advise you to take a small kettle for your room and tea/coffee/hot choc. You can stand your pop/beer/wine on your balcony a while to chill!

You can upgrade your rooms to the modern refurbished ones which have baths if they are available.

  • Liked — Location and The Ice Bar
  • Disliked — Basic Bedroom and Smoking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CountyDurhamJoanneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.7 km away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#25 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 km away
Ferienhof Brugger
Ferienhof Brugger
#29 of 38 in Mayrhofen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.8 km away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#7 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 km away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Roscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Roscher

Property: Landhaus Roscher
Address: Zillergrundweg 568, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Roscher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Landhaus Roscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Roscher Mayrhofen
Landhaus Roscher Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing