We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I really cannot find words to say that have not already been said about this Hotel.
We have always received a warm welcome from the Family Hörl and their friendly staff many of whom have been there for years (we last visited 6,7&8 years ago).
The décor is lavish and traditional in both the old (C1500's) and later parts of the hotel.
We prefer the older rooms that have more charm and don't have the underfloor heating and subsequent lack of radiators to dry the ski gear by but perhaps that's just us. All rooms are palatial with TV's and sitting areas but some inevitably have better views than others.
It is the Food that really sets this hotel apart. Many have said its 5* and I would agree. Top notch fine dining of 4 or five courses artistically arranged on stylish plates served by efficient
smiling staff. Plenty of choice and special themed buffets throughout the week too.
The breakfast buffet is perfectly hearty before a days skiing.
After skiing there's teatime cakes or a Gluhwine then a chance to soak all your aches away in the wellness suite and spa. It has to be seen to be believed!
An indoor-to-outdoor pool, 3 different saunas 2 steam rooms, 2 infra-red cabins,2 massage suites and 4 relaxation suites with water-beds and swing loungers. They offer both nude and clothed areas for the shy but one should really cast off all inhibitions to get the best from it.
The hotel is sometimes listed fully as "The Romantik Hotel zum Metzgawirt in Zell am Zee" or shortened variations and is nicely located near the centre of town and near to the Gondola and ski-Bus stops.But just far enough away from the noise of the clubs.
We've been there 4 times and will definitely visit again sometime and highly recommend it to all others.

Room Tip: Old 'Gasthaus' for charm, newer rooms for lift access and views of gardens and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our stay at the Romantik Hotel in March 2012 was absolutely brilliant! We had used TripAdvisor comments to help with our selection before we booked and were 100% over the moon with our choice! The family owners and their staff were all so friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay just perfect!
On arrival we were greeted with personalised welcome and were shown to our room by the owner who kindly managed our bags also. The breakfast buffet each morning was fantastic with large variety including some hot breakfast options which changed each morning. The evening meals were nothing short of spectacular! It was like eating in a 5 star restaurant each night and had a very homely feel about it! We were allocated our very own table for the duration of the stay which was a lovely way to get to chat to those around us at the end of each eventful day of skiing! The food truely was amazing, and there was always more than enough! Each night we were welcomed with a fresh salad buffett followed by entree, a soup dish, main and then dessert! certainly helped us re-fuel after skiing all day!

The spa facilities were lovely and very relaxing. My partner and i particularly enjoyed the complimentary tea's on offer in the spa area and found the sauna's, steam rooms and jacuzzi helped with our aching muscles.

I had a full body massage in the hotel and this, unfortunately would be my only critisim as i enjoy deep tissue sports massage and it was simply a light rub.

The rooms were spotless and daily room cleaning was to a very high standard. Beds were comfortable and rooms well heated (without being too hot!).

Overall it was an amazing holiday helped along by brilliant accomodation that was in the heart of Zel! We were able to walk to collect our ski's from the hire shop and bus stop each morning (3 minute walk) - ideal location with various pubs/clubs near by. Despite the close location to night life, the hotel was quiet and we were not at all disturbed by the night events around the hotel.

A must for anyone heading to Zel.....We would definately stay again if we head back! Seems like it will be just a lovely location in the summer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Romantik in March 2012 and it was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I actually got married here, Sabine organised everything for the wedding and was amazing. We had the perfect day and really could not have asked for anything better. Most of the wedding party stayed with us at the Romantik for the week and we all loved it, the spa facilities are incredible and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
I can't wait to go back and couldn't recommend it highly enough either for anyone thinking of getting married in a ski resort or just for people who want to have a fantastic ski holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Romantik Hotel in Zell Am See for a week in early February. We had been delayed an hour due to bad weather at Manchester, so missed our evening meal. Arriving at the hotel after 10pm, we expected nothing more than at most a snack, but no, the lovely Nadine on reception welcomed us tired, hungry travellers and asked us to take our bags to rooms and then come back down as they had kept the kitchen open for us and had a hot meal ready. And that set the tone for the rest of the week. We have rarely experienced such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, all the staff that we encountered could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one. We stayed in room 302 and the view of the mountains from the window was breathtaking, I miss it so much!! Yes, the rooms were very hot, but there is a window to open if necessary - personally I like heat and given that during the day the temp never went above -10 and often dropped to below -20 of a night, the heat was welcome. The Austrian twin beds were very comfortable, the pillows were very soft, but we asked for additional ones which were promptly supplied. Every morning a menu for the evening meal was left on your table for you to select your choice - some of the translation caused a bit of puzzlement and the food was maybe not always to our taste, but they were very happy to 'mix and match' for us and we never went hungry. You could tell that a lot of care had gone in to making the menu imaginative and to give you a chance to try Austrian specialties and we cannot complain about the standard or quality - not a chip in sight!. Highlights were the Sunday night buffet - what a selection, rack of lamb, pork, chicken, duck, all beautifully cooked - ask the chef to explain all the dishes to you he is very obliging; the Austrian night where, if you are willing to join in, will have you playing 'musical instruments' (spoons anyone?!) to an accordian accompaniament! Hot dry cider heated in a cauldren in the snowy grounds outside, and waitresses bringing around platters of mini snacks before dinner. Friday night was the dessert buffet, plates upon plates of homemade cakes, mousse etc. In the spa area there is a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room (there are separate spa areas for naked or clothed) and the small swimming pool, which was supposed to be heated but because the outside temp was so cold, it didn't feel very hot, but felt quite decadent swimming around surrounded by snow. There are loungers as well if you want to chill with a glass of prosecco after a hard day on the slopes! I would recommend the free (5 euros to hire snow shoes) hotel guided snow shoe walk with Andrea (hotel masseur), she is lovely person and the walk was great, not too hard. Ski wise, I am a nervous beginner but managed to do a bit, husband is a confident intermediate and loved the skiing, especially when you include the Kaprun slopes as well. The slopes and lifts get very busy, particularly the City Express which runs from the centre of Zell, so get there early if you want to avoid, but we didn't seem to wait too long for the mountain lifts. Also the ski buses get very packed at certain times The lift pass is very good value here if you include all the ski lift coverage in Zell and Kaprun (to get to the top of the glacier at Kaprun for example it takes 2 gondolas and a cable car). The views at the top of the glacier are out of this world, it was snowing at the bottom and by the time we passed through the cloud on the cable car it was sunny and blue skies at over 3000 metres - but -15! Dare you to walk out on to the viewing platform at the top, which is a metal grid with nothing below you except the drop! The eating out was quite reasonable as well on the mountain, a bowl of soup was about 3-4 euros, chicken and chips 8 euros, small bottle of water was pricey 2.80, fill your bottle up at the hotel instead. Some of the mountain restaurants get very busy during lunchtimes (Areitbahn 1), so it is best to avoid during 12-1.30 or go to one of the larger ones. Zell is a lovely place, very picturesque and friendly. Can recommend Crazy Daisy's for burgers or pizza (huge!) And the Win Win casino shows Premiership football if you are missing your footie fix and they don't charge the earth for drinks.The Romantik is a gem of a hotel and the family who own it are lovely. Can also recommend the Bit of Irish bar just a couple of doors away (if you can drag yourself away from the bar/fire in the hotel), great atmosphere and non smoking and Magners! They have a quiz Sunday & Thursday. The bar is tiny, so get there early if you want a seat. On the return journey, make sure you eat before going through passport control as there is very little on the other side - as we found to our cost after being delayed for 3hrs!

Room Tip: Room 302 has a great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jupiter1Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel so much! - It is the perfect mixture of traditional Austrian hospitality and luxurious touches such as the wonderful spa and swimming pool. (I would say it is much more traditional than the impression given by the website - which is not a bad thing at all!)
A nice touch is that they have two separate sauna areas for those who prefer to wear swimming costumes and the (mostly Austrian) guests who go au naturel!
The food was lovely, with a choice of 3 main and starter courses most nights (other nights there was a buffet). The staff were always friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is situated very well for the town centre and lake, being only 2 minutes walk from each. It is about 10 minutes walk to the ski bus stop, but the hotel has storage facilities there for skis etc.
The room was very comfortable - spacious king sized bed, large wardrobes, small lounge with mini bar and balcony, bathroom and separate toilet. The only slight downside was that there is underfloor heating, which, whilst making the room lovely and cosy, was not capable of being turned down. Oh, and in common with most European hotels, no tea and coffee making facilities!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KFS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently spent a wonderful week here as part of a group of eight people. The hotel is a charming traditional Austrian building in a quiet location only a short walk from the town centre.
It's a great place to relax after a day on the slopes especially in the pool & spa areas.
Our rooms were located in the modern wing of the hotel and had great views of the mountains. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were spacious and had everything you need apart from tea/coffee making facilities.
The food was very good, an extensive breakfast buffet awaited us each morning consisting of cereals, breads, various meats, large bowls of fresh fruit, boiled eggs, yoghurts plus scrambled eggs, bacon & sausages etc. The evening meal was generally five courses with a varied choice of foods each day, some items appeared a little unfamiliar when looking at the menu but everything was well cooked and presented. The meat dishes in particular were delicious.
There is a bar/lounge area with a lovely log fire which is just perfect for relaxing after dinner. The bar prices in our view were pretty reasonable compared with a lot of places around Europe. (Half a litre of beer was 3.80 euros).
The pool & spa areas were never busy and although the pool is small it's still great to be able to swim outside when there's 2-3 feet of snow around you.
The whole hotel was very clean & the staff are real asset to the hotel. The majority speak very good english & they all made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, it has something for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms in the modern part of the hotel are quiet, comfortable & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPolo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My fiancé and I got married at this hotel in January 2012. We stayed for 1 week half board with 10 members of our family. The service was fantastic, the staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Many of our group were fussy eaters and the hotel cooked alternative dishes on several occasions without any hassle.

The food was fantastic and always fresh. Great choices available every evening and never the same thing twice.

The bar prices are very reasonable and lovely cosy sitting area infront of the log fire. Perfect in winter after a hard day on the piste.

The rooms were clean and well kept. Maid service and fresh towels everyday and duvets and pillows folded in hearts etc, very sweet.

We upgraded to the newer wing of the hotel as it was a special occasion. The views of the mountain were spectacular!

The spa area is perfect, lots of chill out areas and never over crowded, pool was very clean just a little too cold for my liking.

Overall an amazing experience and fantastic service for our wedding and holiday overall. We've already booked our return for January 2013, can't wait!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty011982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,178 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
592 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zell am See

Address: Sebastian Horl Strasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: $180 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very centre of the small mountain village of Zell am See, you will find the Romantikhotel Zell am See lying in an oasis of tranquillity. Just a few steps away from Zell's lively centre, you can find relaxation and tranquillity in the rose garden, or in the romantic garden by the pool.Escape from the humdrum of everyday life and get into the holiday mood. The location of the hotel is ideal in both summer and winter alike. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the lake and the hiking region, and only a 7 minute walk from the ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing