We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit”
Review of Hotel Berner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berner
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Visited this hotel for the second time. The standard of accommodation, food and the staff were excellent again.
During my time there this year my wife was taken ill but I could not fault the care and consideration that was shown by the staff.
The weather was mixed this year, but we made the most of it.
Swimming in the lovely outside pool in the pouring rain was a new experience and it was actually warmer than the air temperature.
I cannot recommend this hotel more highly for anybody be it serious walkers, climbers, skiers or like us just there to relax and enjoy the fabulous scenery that Austria offers.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a lake view with balcony. The rooms are on a rolling programme of upgrade and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heckingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from a week staying at the Berners's Hotel Zell am see
Ran out of superlatives.
Charming , family run hotel ,Excellent staff,and potlessly clean
Every morning at breakfast ,the evening menu was a culinary adventure
. The descriptions included words such as "mists " and "foams ".
And the food was delicious.
Staff were in traditional dress and addressed us by name from day one.
Bar prices were reasonable too.
Added bonus was the Kapran Summer card the hotel issued
Gave us FREE yes free access to cable cars and the local buses cost only one euro , ferry was free, as was lower decks only of the round the lake cruise ,entrance to many Kaprun area attractions were free with card too.
Slope up to hotel was steep but well worth the effort.

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite but all guests we spoke to were very very complimentary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in by far. Food is delicious. Service, cleanliness, comfort and friendliness all 5 star.
Spa and pool of the highest quality
Not going to right a lengthy review of all its good points as many others have done this.
If I wanted to complain it would just be that the cakes are free but you have to pay for your drinks which we wouldn't expect in a British hotel that stated in served afternoon cake.

Room Tip: Even the lowest prices rooms are spacious and we had a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My wife and i have just come back from a week at Hotel Berner on a golfing holiday. This is the second time we have stayed there. . Chrisfof, Gotfried and their staff provide a warm, welcoming and friendly environment matched with the highest levels of personal service that one could ever expect. Great food too! In our opinion you would struggle to better this family hotel and its friendly helpful atmosphere. We look forward to staying with them again.

Room Tip: Lake views from rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We returned from the Berner yesterday after a weeks stay. Wow.......just wow.

From the moment we were greeted on arrival in such a natural friendly manner until we left with the supply of an early breakfast (the full works and not just a snack) everything about this hotel was just brilliant.

Run by the 3rd generation of a family that are clearly very proud of their hotel and enjoy running it nothing was too much trouble....hoteliers who like their guests and want them to enjoy themselves! Normally at hotels we just arrive, eat, drink, sit around and then leave rarely needing any assistance from the hotel however on this occasion a family wedding being held nearby made up part of the reason for our stay and so we had guests for dinner at short notice on a number of occasions (including our first night there!) plus numerous requests for assistance with information, taxis and the likes and all help was provided with genuine care and interest......this was really appreciated.

Beyond the quite brilliant service the hotel is well appointed with comfortable rooms which are spotlessly clean. There is a nice pool with jacuzzi and massage jets plus a very nice Spa area with sauna and steam room. The food is excellent (not a poor dish all week) and again the service in the dining room was excellent. WiFi worked very well.

It is also very well located on the edge of the town (though only 5 minutes walk away from the centre) so there is a bit of peace and quite here when the town itself can be quite noisy and heavy with traffic.

Having stayed in Zell some years ago in a highly recommended but ultimately disappointing hotel the Berner was a breath of fresh air and we will be back. Do yourself a favour and use the Berner if going to Zell.......you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Our fifth family visit during the summer months to this wonderful hotel and it is so refreshing to find that little has changed.....but then why would you want to change something so good. The hotel is situated in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of the main town. It has nicely appointed rooms and an excellent private pool, relaxation area and spa. The food is superb. The staff, many of whom have been with the same hotel for over 20 years, are friendly and very helpful and a tribute to Austrian hospitality. Well done to the proprietors, Christoph and Gottfried Berner for such a well run and superb hotel. Will we return?.....of course, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jumbledjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This is a very pleasant Hotel and it is away from the busy town,but has lovely views of the lake. Christophe Berner and all his staff are charming. We found it a very relaxing Hotel to stay in, and the pool was lovely after a day walking in the mountains. We agree with other comments, that the bathroom lighting was not good. It was very dark, with no shaving or make-up mirrors wth lighting. There is a cable car very near the Hotel and there is an excellent walk back down via a mountain hut, with amazing views from its terrace! Zell is much bigger and busier than we had expected, but we enjoyed exploring, and there is also a good walk around the lake too.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room/suite with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
1,200 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
410 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
369 reviews
2.2 km away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#26 of 42 in Zell am See
149 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berner

Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#12 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $328 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berner 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, quietly situated - 100m to the next cable car - ski back to the hotel, yet you're just a five-minute walk from the pedestrian area and the lake. Spacious and elegantly furnished lounge and restaurant area. Comfortable rooms with balcony, partially lake view. In winter, there's no more exquisite pleasure than the heated open air swimming pool (30C) with indoor entrance, Turkish bath, sauna, sun terrace. Private car park and garage. Excellent cuisine, including vegetarian dishes, choice of menu with various buffets. Come and spend a superb holiday at the cosy, family run Berner with its special international flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berner Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing