We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-Season Bust”
Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel zum Hirschen
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Zell am See might be a great place in the winter and summer, but off-peak, it's dull, uninviting and mostly shuttered. Hotel zum Hishchen had exactly six guests during my stay in October and was preparing to close for six weeks. The hotel was managed by a ghost staff that was clearly hoping all guests would soon depart. Many of the city's other hotels were closed-- as were many restaurants and businesses that feed off of tourisms. In my experience, there are many better towns to visit in the off-peak seasons. My advice is to check with the hotel before going.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

During our ski holiday in Zell am See we found this restaurant and we visited them several times. In the high season we needed the reservation, in evening it was full with guests. We were very satisfied here, the food was delicious, wine selection and overall quality was really good. The waitors were busy but smiling and friendly. Children friendly atmosphere. I can recommend original goulash soup, perfect schnitzel, lamb different styles was very tasty, beefsteak, and also fish. Nice and clean toilets. Suitable also for groups of more people, they have here areas where the group feels together and a bit separated. The kitchen is well organized, because also when the restaurant was full, we did not wait long.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciaSudova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lovely, old-style, family-run hotel with typical Austrian furnishings. Our bedroom was very spacious, well-appointed with a balcony, lovely bathroom with 2 washbasins, bath with shower and screened off toilet and bidet. Everything was very clean. The food was excellent, very well-presented. The restaurant has an award from Gault Millau which is why we chose it. But it has one major drawback - NOISE! Because there is no air conditioning, it's necessary to keep the windows open in summer. As the hotel is on a corner on a main road right in the middle of town, there is a lot of traffic noise which, on its own, would be bearable. However, there are groups of people going up and down the street talking loudly, even shouting, as well as lots of noise from the hotel's outside terrace and cellar bar, and this goes on every night until about 2 am or later! Then the rubbish collection starts at 5.30 am, again with maximum amount of noise. So there is very little chance to sleep and we were exhausted by the end of our 7 night stay. This is just about the noisiest place we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Essential to have a room in quietest part of hotel, NOT on top of restaurant terrace like ours was!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foggie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 12th to 19th June 2013. Lovely spacious room on third floor, great view of mountains. Only problem was noise from downstairs bar until 2.30am and traffic noise which was much better when we closed the patio doors but as there was no air con the room was very hot, I'm sure if we had asked fir a fan they would provided one.
The meals were really good, everything you would want for breakfast. The evening meals consisted of 5 courses, starter, soup, salad, main meal and dessert, the menu varied every day and was consistently excellent. Our waitress Anjie was very friendly, and very good at her job, nothing was any trouble. The pool was tiny but as we were the only ones using it this was not a problem.
Overall the meals were great, rooms spotless and Staff very friendly, the hotel is in the centre so traffic noise was expected. We had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel May 2013. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very modern though we had some trouble trying to regulate and direct the flow of water to run out of the shower nozzle, so as not to end up having to have a bath. The staff on reception were helpful and pleasant.
The breakfast buffet was very good with a good variety of food, the waitress was very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as on our first night when we went down to eat, the dining room was closed at 6:15pm. Lucky there were other hotels close by so needless to say we didn't bother having any of our evening meals at Hotel Zum Hirschen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We did not realize how difficult and small their parking elevators were which resulted in scratches to our car, even though we asked the manager for assistance in parking, we were to pay 8 euros, it caused us a major headache to fix the car and ruined our time there. The rooms and bath were fine, could not get the t.v and the room was on a very noisy street. When we asked for our half fair dinner they would not accommodate us saying it was too late, 6:30 pm. The restaurant was expensive and the breakfast that was included ran out of coffee( the machine broke) We could not wait to leave!

Room Tip: Not on the main street, up all night listening to cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had our 3rd holiday in Hotel Zum Hirschen and it is every bit as good as our 2 previous visits.....staff so kind and happy as was Frau Pacalt despite having colds......all of Zell had the cold! Food amazing, rooms roomy and spotless and we were there for the week of Fat Tuesday (pancake day) and there was all sorts of festivities out on the mountains, in the bars, in the centre and in the hotels ....a truly magical time to go. Thanks Hotel Zum Hirschen. Snow and skiing was ace,too we had private tuition for one morning from Sport Alpin Ski School...highly recommended.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinut b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,202 reviews
0 km away
Feinschmeck
Feinschmeck
#18 of 42 in Zell am See
133 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
605 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
246 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Badhaus
Hotel Badhaus
#23 of 42 in Zell am See
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $200 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing