We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
135
83
29
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
83
29
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar course meal small pool small lift main course mountain peaks every night ski lift small courses spoke good english stayed two nights restaurant staff modern bathroom early hours of the morning enjoy your stay fantastic holiday family room
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 267 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Zell am See might be a great place in the winter and summer, but off-peak, it's dull, uninviting and mostly shuttered. Hotel zum Hishchen had exactly six guests during my stay in October and was preparing to close for six weeks. The hotel was managed by a ghost staff that was clearly hoping all guests would soon depart. Many of the city's other hotels were closed-- as were many restaurants and businesses that feed off of tourisms. In my experience, there are many better towns to visit in the off-peak seasons. My advice is to check with the hotel before going.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

During our ski holiday in Zell am See we found this restaurant and we visited them several times. In the high season we needed the reservation, in evening it was full with guests. We were very satisfied here, the food was delicious, wine selection and overall quality was really good. The waitors were busy but smiling and friendly. Children friendly atmosphere. I can recommend original goulash soup, perfect schnitzel, lamb different styles was very tasty, beefsteak, and also fish. Nice and clean toilets. Suitable also for groups of more people, they have here areas where the group feels together and a bit separated. The kitchen is well organized, because also when the restaurant was full, we did not wait long.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciaSudova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely, old-style, family-run hotel with typical Austrian furnishings. Our bedroom was very spacious, well-appointed with a balcony, lovely bathroom with 2 washbasins, bath with shower and screened off toilet and bidet. Everything was very clean. The food was excellent, very well-presented. The restaurant has an award from Gault Millau which is why we chose it. But it has one major drawback - NOISE! Because there is no air conditioning, it's necessary to keep the windows open in summer. As the hotel is on a corner on a main road right in the middle of town, there is a lot of traffic noise which, on its own, would be bearable. However, there are groups of people going up and down the street talking loudly, even shouting, as well as lots of noise from the hotel's outside terrace and cellar bar, and this goes on every night until about 2 am or later! Then the rubbish collection starts at 5.30 am, again with maximum amount of noise. So there is very little chance to sleep and we were exhausted by the end of our 7 night stay. This is just about the noisiest place we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Essential to have a room in quietest part of hotel, NOT on top of restaurant terrace like ours was!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foggie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 12th to 19th June 2013. Lovely spacious room on third floor, great view of mountains. Only problem was noise from downstairs bar until 2.30am and traffic noise which was much better when we closed the patio doors but as there was no air con the room was very hot, I'm sure if we had asked fir a fan they would provided one.
The meals were really good, everything you would want for breakfast. The evening meals consisted of 5 courses, starter, soup, salad, main meal and dessert, the menu varied every day and was consistently excellent. Our waitress Anjie was very friendly, and very good at her job, nothing was any trouble. The pool was tiny but as we were the only ones using it this was not a problem.
Overall the meals were great, rooms spotless and Staff very friendly, the hotel is in the centre so traffic noise was expected. We had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel May 2013. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very modern though we had some trouble trying to regulate and direct the flow of water to run out of the shower nozzle, so as not to end up having to have a bath. The staff on reception were helpful and pleasant.
The breakfast buffet was very good with a good variety of food, the waitress was very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as on our first night when we went down to eat, the dining room was closed at 6:15pm. Lucky there were other hotels close by so needless to say we didn't bother having any of our evening meals at Hotel Zum Hirschen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews