We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
135
83
29
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
83
29
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar course meal small lift small pool main course every night ski lift small courses mountain peaks spoke good english restaurant staff modern bathroom early hours of the morning enjoy your stay stayed two nights family room fantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 267 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stayed at the hotel over Christmas and New Year as a party of 6 with 2 more joining us after Christmas. We had nice rooms with 2 junior suites and a standard room, no complaints from anyone. We did not have any issues with noise, we were facing the road but a bit of early morning traffic was no problem for us.
The food in the evenings was superb, 5 course dinners, 7 course for Christmas and 9 courses for New Year's Eve. One of our party is a vegetarian, every day there were different and varied dishes for her and even her own 9 course menu on New Year's Eve!
The staff were all friendly and helpful, reception desk, barman and waiters.
The hotel location is just about perfect. Cross the road to the bus station for buses to the lifts and Kaprun and other resorts such as Saalbach. The City Express gondola is about 200m, the railway station for Kitzbuehel and other towns is a 7min walk.
All together we would thoroughly recommend it as a base in Zell am See for a great time with great food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the city, and is also near to the gondel that leads to the ski area. Also near to the hotel there are a lot of pubs and restaurants.
The rooms are ok, average, no special design, or comfort. I have been a little bit disappointed with the wellness area. There is one very very small pool, and two very small saunas. This is to less for the advertisement made.
The service is very good, and they are trying their best.
One problem is that there is no internet in most of the rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valdothebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Zell am See might be a great place in the winter and summer, but off-peak, it's dull, uninviting and mostly shuttered. Hotel zum Hishchen had exactly six guests during my stay in October and was preparing to close for six weeks. The hotel was managed by a ghost staff that was clearly hoping all guests would soon depart. Many of the city's other hotels were closed-- as were many restaurants and businesses that feed off of tourisms. In my experience, there are many better towns to visit in the off-peak seasons. My advice is to check with the hotel before going.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

During our ski holiday in Zell am See we found this restaurant and we visited them several times. In the high season we needed the reservation, in evening it was full with guests. We were very satisfied here, the food was delicious, wine selection and overall quality was really good. The waitors were busy but smiling and friendly. Children friendly atmosphere. I can recommend original goulash soup, perfect schnitzel, lamb different styles was very tasty, beefsteak, and also fish. Nice and clean toilets. Suitable also for groups of more people, they have here areas where the group feels together and a bit separated. The kitchen is well organized, because also when the restaurant was full, we did not wait long.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciaSudova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely, old-style, family-run hotel with typical Austrian furnishings. Our bedroom was very spacious, well-appointed with a balcony, lovely bathroom with 2 washbasins, bath with shower and screened off toilet and bidet. Everything was very clean. The food was excellent, very well-presented. The restaurant has an award from Gault Millau which is why we chose it. But it has one major drawback - NOISE! Because there is no air conditioning, it's necessary to keep the windows open in summer. As the hotel is on a corner on a main road right in the middle of town, there is a lot of traffic noise which, on its own, would be bearable. However, there are groups of people going up and down the street talking loudly, even shouting, as well as lots of noise from the hotel's outside terrace and cellar bar, and this goes on every night until about 2 am or later! Then the rubbish collection starts at 5.30 am, again with maximum amount of noise. So there is very little chance to sleep and we were exhausted by the end of our 7 night stay. This is just about the noisiest place we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Essential to have a room in quietest part of hotel, NOT on top of restaurant terrace like ours was!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews