We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
135
83
28
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
83
28
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar course meal small pool small lift main course mountain peaks every night ski lift small courses spoke good english stayed two nights restaurant staff modern bathroom early hours of the morning enjoy your stay fantastic holiday family room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Traditional Austrian hotel with nice, clean and large room but extremely noisy. We had a nice and tasty dinner at the hotel, breakfast was average. No wifi in the rooms is not good in 2017. Sorry to say we will not come back to Zell am See because of the large and dominated ultra muslim community taking over the town. It provokes that the streets are packed with arab women dressed up in niqab the same time as the town arrange The Iron man or woman. Explain that to your girl children if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

impeccable rooms..clean .good lighting..very good tv. safe for free,speckless laundry
Breakfast more than adiquite...maybe one dispense coffee machine during b/fast is not enough..get another one..saves on queing when the maltese call.....increase your dinner portions,,,we must have loads of bread.and pasta dishes...main coarse is not important..as long as it;s good..like what your kitchen gave us. keep it up.AND GRAZZI.

Room Tip: was in room 344.not much of a view.but we could still see the early morning clouds on the mountains...awsome for us.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonyborg246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine T, Rezeption at Hotel zum Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear tonyborg246!
Thanks a lot for your assessment. We are glad to hear that you like our rooms and breakfast ... when 50 persons are coming for breakfast at the same time, then of course one coffee machine is not enough, but we also have pots of coffee on the right side from the machine. We have to look what the future will bring and what we could do for situations like this.
Of course we will keep it up and we will also try to become better in the future with the help of our guests.
We are really looking forward to welcoming the Malta group again in our house and remain in the meantime
with best regards
Jasmine & Madeleine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile


The breakfast was really nice, the mattresses very comfortable, the rooms clean and the staff, especially Madelaine and Mate, as friendly and helpful as you could possibly wish for.

There are, however, a number of issues which prevent me from being able to recommend the Zum Hirschen as a first choice.

It is located on a very busy road at a traffic-light controlled junction. The road runs along the whole of one side of the hotel. It is noisy, VERY NOISY. Apart from general traffic noise, engines starting after halting at the lights, emergency vehicles charging to and from the nearby hospital and loud Arabian/middle-eastern music blaring from the cars of young men, there is a pervasive smell of fuel and exhaust in the first floor rooms on that side of the hotel.

Another side borders the pedestrian area where there is a constant and aggravating babble from the bars immediately below the bedroom windows. The double glazing dulls but does not eliminate the noise.

The third side is across a small road which has another hotel in. That hotel has a rooftop bar with music every evening until 11 o'clock.

Peaceful it ain't.

The free wi-fi coverage is limited to the reception area and a little of the first floor; it is patchy at its best and v e r y s l o w (0.78mbs)

The pool is tiny, too small to swim, only float and the pool-room is as hot as hell or probably Jaheem in today's Zell.

Unlike some other accommodations it does not provide the Zell am See-Kaprun summer card (free use of lifts and transport plus other benefits) but gives a guest card which is, frankly, next best to pointless - discounts are tiny and lifts horrendously, perhaps even extortionately, expensive. Having the summer card would have saved us nearly €200! Yes - really.

Summary: Nice hotel, shame about the location, wi-fi, pool and lack of the summer card. Resort akin to Riyadh.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Old B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine T, Rezeption at Hotel zum Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear Old B,
thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry that you were not sitsfied with your holiday.
We make no secret that our hotel is located directly in the center of zell am see, which is for sight seeing and see the region an ideal basis. For our neighbour hotel and the rooftop bar, we are sorry, but you never complaint something at the reception - we could have let them know.
For the wifi we are already planing to have it in all our rooms.
Our wellness area is small (also this is in our brochure) and should be a little break from a walking day - you could use the Tauern Spa in Kaprun, where you get also reduction as a guest form our hotel.
Thats true we do not offer the summer card, but thats is also why our hotel prices are not so hight.

We wish you all the best and maybe to see you again, if yes let us know and you will get a room not to the street!

Kind regards
Madeleine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last week arrived late and the receptionist was lovely got us something to eat and brought it to our room. Really clean and comfortable and frienfly staff can't do enough for you. All really helpful food was good , in a great place close to everything .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine T, Rezeption at Hotel zum Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Pauline!
Thanks a lot for your feedback - we always try our best to make the stay of our guests comfortable.
We would be looking forward to welcoming you again and remain in the meantime
with kind regards
Jasmine & Madeleine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We stayed in Hotel Zum Hirschen for a week in April for the Easter holidays and it was a fantastic holiday. The Hotel is located in an excellent location in the center on Zell Am See. It is a very well kept hotel and very friendly staff.The Breakfast was very good and dinner was of a very high quality, although the main course as a portion could improve a bit otherwise it was very tasty food. The Gen bar was very nice too, with a lot of drinks and cocktails to chose from. It was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benshar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine T, Rezeption at Hotel zum Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Dear benshar2016,
we are very happy to read, that you had an enjoyable stay here.
If the portions for the main course are too small, the guests have the possiblity to ask for a second serving.
We would be looking forward to welcome you again.
Madeleine & Jasmine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews