We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
109
30
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
30
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated water beds train tracks kinder hotel great christmas spa facilities relaxing hotel relaxing stay sister hotel indoor pool excellent facilities ski lift steam room hotel staff fantastic hotel skiing mountains austria
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 163 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016

The quality/price of this hotel is average. The pool and sauna area is nice but only open till 19 so if you do sports during day there is hardly any time left. On the hotels website they try to come across as sport friendly and that you can ask questions re trips etc, but when asked how to best cycle up to the High Alpine Road the person I asked had no clue. There is no restaurant in the hotel, not even a bar in the evening. Strange. Good thing is you can have the bike in the room. No effort made to give me a room with late check out even if the hotel was not full the following day. Overall this whole area in Austria has a fantastic nature which promotes the tourism without words and it seems that people in the tourism industry forget to smile and be genuinely friendly.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mats A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel out of choice as nothing good was available online. It was an expensive stay for 3 nights I had to shell out 626 Eur. It's not worth the money you pay for. First of all they are not partners with the Zellamsee summer card which is the biggest draw back. If you have the summer card then you literally don't have to pay a penny for local transport, mountain visits and many more. But unfortunately I had to shell around 200 Eur just to take the local transport and excursions. It's located a little far from the city centre but you can always hire a bicycle. The room decor is lovely. Again, housekeeping doesn't function beyond 16.00 hrs (help yourself). Rooms do not have bathroom slippers, hand napkins/ tissue paper, tea/coffee maker. Otherwise the hotel staff is quite helpful. The breakfast was also fine. To get to the city and back take BUS 70 or 660. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
4  Thank RiteshS310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stayed at this hotel at January 2014.
Fantastic small spa-hotel on the outskirts of Zell am See. One of the advantages of the hotel - it's mostly for adults or adults with grown-up kids - so it's very quiet in the hotel and in the spa-area.
It's a walking distance away from the ski-lifts! Though the hotel has a ski-bus, but we actually never used it.
The hotel has modern design and good renovation. The rooms are comfortable, with balconies. Every morning we got 1 bottle of still water per person, which was really nice.
Breakfasts are good and have plenty to choose from. Good variety of cold cuts - meat and cheese.
They served a small lunch at the bar area which was very good.
Dinners were fantastic with special a-la carte menu every evening, with a possiblity to choose between fish/meat/vegitarian dishes.
Spa area is very relaxing and well done. Different saunas, hamam, 2 swimming pools with heated water - inside and outside. Relaxing water beds!
We loved the hotel so much, that we hardly wanted to leave it's walls :-)
After dinner we took a walk to the Zell am See along the lake itself.
The town and surroundings are very quiet, especially in the eveings. So we were not bothered by car noise or trains (there's a railroad just next to the hotel, but it's only a local railroad so it's not used much).
I can't wait to get back to it, as now they are closed for renovations!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Everything was great, the hoteal is a real value for the money. First of all Zell am See is a fantastic place to go to. The location for skiers is wonderful - 5 minutes of slow walking to the skilift plus the hotel has a bus and takes you there, if you wish. It's about 20 minute walk from Zell am See itself, but the road goes along the lake and is quite enjoyable. All the staff (check-in desk, restaurant, driver) is friendly and helpful. Rooms are new, clean, very convenient and the beds are comfortable. The design of the rooms is modern, original and well-thought. Breakfasts are rich. Restaurant is very good too. Spa area has three different saunas, inside pool, silent room and area just to chill out. There's free good wi-fi all over the hotel. The hotel offers different activities too. Since it's Wellness and Spa hotel - it is very relaxing. LIttle things make big things, and I think Mavida has done a great job in paying a lot of attention to little things to create comfortable and relaxing atmospeher in the hotel. It's a place to come back.

Room tip: I stayed in superior double room, but I think all the others are wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family stayed in the Mavida this Christmas and it was wonderful. It was our third time at this lovely relaxing hotel. We are two adults and two teenage daughters. We enjoyed a very relaxed time, our daughters now old enough to really enjoy the relaxation around the pool and in the Spa. We planned to ski, and did on one of the days but the weather was very windy causing problems with the lifts, which gave us a great excuse to chill out in the hotel. We had the rooms with the bath this time. The bath is in the room behind the bed and there is also a separate shower and loo. Its very modern and contemporary. The key benefits of this hotel are, the excellent staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble, the food, which is by far the best we've ever had in a ski resort, and the fabulous spa facilities, and I have to add, as a parent with older children, the fact that there are no little ones in the hotel so you can really relax, (no screeching round the pool, we've had all that when the kids were younger and even they enjoy the peace and quiet now). If you have younger children the sister hotel The Hagleitner Kinder hotel is perfect for you, brilliant facilities and a tunnel which joins both hotels so that when you're kids are having fun in the creche you can spend a little time relaxing in the Mavida. I wish we'd known about it when our two were small. Its not in the most picturesque part of Zell, its 15 mins walk to the lake, but having said that the views are still great. Its just not right on the lake. There's a regular ski bus provided by the hotel to the Schmittenhoe ski area, 3 mins drive. We would highly recommend this hotel and we will be back! If I had one criticism it would be a few more Christmas decorations would have been nice, but perhaps that reflects the more grown up nature of the hotel!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bizzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews