We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate experience”

Restaurant Bootshaus
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Traunkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$45
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: The gourmet meeting place in the Seehotel Restaurant "Bootshaus". A gourmet restaurant directly built on a boathouse: modern interpretation with proper style materials and elements - to contemporary art on the walls. Our chef Lukas Nagl sets the tone here. The multiple award-winning chef and his talented team convince their kitchen, which quot under the motto "changing values". Fish, vegetables and meat have the same status here. With the motto " PUR: Products and unadulterated rar" brings the chef and his team the gustatory stimuli of regional raw materials to the point. Whether the taste of local Porcini mushrooms or fish from the Traunsee, guests can look forward to genuine-intensive flavors. Very high beverage competence with two sommeliers. A huge variety of wine, beer and juice specialities is offered. Voted to "Wine hotel of the year" in the year 2015.
Restaurant details
Description: The gourmet meeting place in the Seehotel Restaurant "Bootshaus". A gourmet restaurant directly built on a boathouse: modern interpretation with proper style materials and elements - to contemporary art on the walls. Our chef Lukas Nagl sets the tone here. The multiple award-winning chef and his talented team convince their kitchen, which quot under the motto "changing values". Fish, vegetables and meat have the same status here. With the motto " PUR: Products and unadulterated rar" brings the chef and his team the gustatory stimuli of regional raw materials to the point. Whether the taste of local Porcini mushrooms or fish from the Traunsee, guests can look forward to genuine-intensive flavors. Very high beverage competence with two sommeliers. A huge variety of wine, beer and juice specialities is offered. Voted to "Wine hotel of the year" in the year 2015.
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We were staying at the hotel and having seen the great reviews decided to stay in one night. With fine dining there is always some dishes that will be hit and miss but never we have paid so much and not even be able to eat. The dishes all sounded great on paper and the presentation was lovely. Even the service which was horrible at breakfast was improved.
However either the main chef was on holiday as it was just after Christmas or something was really off. All of the plates were so salty to the point of inedible. We both have high tolerance for salt and use a lot in our cooking but this was on a whole another level.
After letting know the waiter after the first plate that was left, that it was too salty by last plate nothing had changed and I left the last main plate untouched. So we ended up with a bill of 160 euros and no apologies.
We didn't want to make a scene as we were suppose to stay there and served by the same people for another 2 days however we felt that at least a partial refund was due recognising the issue. On the plus side dessert was good and we were provided a lovely plate of biscuits but I'm afraid at that price range this was still a very poor dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daphne_Azaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang G, Inhaber at Restaurant Bootshaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't like our kitchen. Our chef was not on holiday and we had not one complaint during the entire Christmas season (not before and not after). Nobody informing us about too much salt within the dishes or anything alike. We did on the other hand get really positive feedback from our guests.

Reading all the positive comments on our Restaurant Bootshaus and having such great feedback from our guests we really feel sorry hearing your feedback.

We are once more sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Best regards,
Wolfgang Gröller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant Bootshaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Really a fantastic location but the service couldn't be much worse. We gave them a second chance as well but the only reason for ever coming back is the location and the food was really good. Just be prepared to wait for a ridiculous amount of time and then be confronted with waitresses that aren't very clever. As I type they seem to be getting the idea. Go at your own risk!

Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank andreasl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank sortdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Bootshaus also viewed

Traunkirchen, Upper Austria
Traunkirchen, Upper Austria
 
Gmunden, Upper Austria
Ebensee, Upper Austria
 

Been to Restaurant Bootshaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing