We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer B&B I have ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campbell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campbell House
Certificate of Excellence
OC CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the nicer B&B I have ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Across the street (well sort of) from Joshua National Park. We stayed in the Farm House. It was a really nice one bedroom cabin with a complete kitchen. It is very nice on the inside, modern plush. The breakfast served was first rate. And the innkeepers couldnt have been nicer. We enjoyed the jacuzzi under the stars, and had a nice time hiking in Joshua Tree. If i go again I would like to stay in the Museum Room. It is a rock house and has a view from the side of it. A great bargain for under $150. I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHONABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
202
20
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
326 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This beautiful, historic stone house sits in the midst of tall, tall palm trees. We stayed in the Museum Room, in a small building not far from the main house. Desert sunrises outside of our room. We had a comfortable sitting area with two couches, a handy kitchenette, and a big tub for soaking after hikes in Joshua Tree. Very generous, delicious breakfasts in the great room with a fire going in the big stone fireplace. My favorite breakfast: praline French toast. An extra treat: a bird cam in the reception area, showing the resident great horned owls as they sat in their nest. Gary and Jan, the owners, do an outstanding job at this very special place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morongo Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was married on Feb 29th 2012! My husband chose the Manor for our stay. It was the most beautiful Bed and Breakfast that you can imagine! The owners Jan and Gary go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We stayed at the Farmhouse, hardwood floors, kitchen, beautifully decorated with plants and flowers. They have a pool and a hot tub. Tea is served with dessert in the manor starting at 5pm every night. They have binnoculars for bird watching,books to read as you sit by the fire,dvds you can watch in your room and so much more! We live about 45 min away, and I never knew what I was missing! We intend to go back every chance we get. I am now officially spoiled. lol...no hotel can compare to the manor.After staying there ,you will always return! len &cheryl slash

Room Tip: Go to there website and you can view the grounds and cabins that are available. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylcanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife came on the 21st of January and were blown into the property by the 100 mile per hour uncharacteristic winds. We were at first a bit worried since the place was completely destroyed by the wind and things were all over the place. We walked around looking for anybody but couldn't find anybody. We went to the front desk and were assured we were at the right place. Gary told us they hadn't had winds like this ever before and proceeded to show us around the property in the howling wind. The pool was completely destroyed by sand and we felt sorry that there would be so much work to do. Gary recommend at place to eat down the road for dinner that night and was thrilled at his choice. The next morning we were blown away by the quality of food that was offered and the service that we received. Please let him know if you have any dietary restrictions and he will accommodate you. We had a great time there and the room was delightful (bungalow room). Service was great and they cleaned everything up the next day. We also saw the owl which we named (Owlbert) Great vacation. Looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvshaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The house is a gorgeous three story stone house with a delightful history impeccably decorated with antiques, fine china and silver tea service. It is literally surrounded by an oasis of lovely shade trees, elegant and comfortable patio furniture and even a resident owl. Gary and Jan couldn't be more obliging. They started us out each morning with a 5 star breakfast and welcomed us back at the end of the day with tea and home baked cookies. We spent 4 nights there and we easily could have stayed longer. We never felt so rested. There are great choices of rooms and cottages all more beautiful than the next. We never heard planes or traffic or loud voices...a great place to recharge. Do yourself a favor and be guests at Roughley Manor! I promise you will not regret it. We are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: There are a few cottages reserved for guests traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was our second stay at Roughly Manor this year and we enjoyed both stays very much. The owners/innkeepers couldn't be more hosptiable. A tasty and varied breakfast is included each day at the Manor's elegant but cozy dining room. When we stayed, they were decorating for Christmas and this really added to the holiday spirit. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmtres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This B&B can not be beat. The facility is fantastic and the staff make it even better.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and quiet. Its just a matter of preference. The main house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22314Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
6.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
37.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
6.3 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing