We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel from which to visit Joshua Tree National Park”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

we stayed here only for 1 night, as it was early in our holiday, but wished we could have stayed longer.

It was located in a quiet spot set well back from the main road in 29 Palms. A feeling of calm and relaxation came over us immediately on arrival and we were not disappointed with the room or facilities.

There is a lovely pool to relax beside and an excellent bar and restaurant serving wonderful food. We sat outside to have dinner and were entertained by a man playing calming pan-pipe Indian music, which created a wonderful atmosphere in the desert setting.

The grounds around the hotel are very pleasant, with an oasis and lake,etc

The breakfast was fairly basic - just oatmeal, bread, jam, coffee and orange juice, but sitting outdoors in the early morning sun was delightful.

This is definitely the best place to stay near Joshua Tree National Park - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have lovely surroundings.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for 29 Palms Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

I had stayed at 29 palms back in '98 and '99 and loved it but was unsure if it would live up to my romanticized memories that had from over 10 years ago - but it did! We stayed in the Forget Me Not bungalow which felt like a homey cabin. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. I had mentioned at check in that we were on our honeymoon and within 5 minutes of our arrival, a bottle of champagne was waiting at our door! It's true that the rooms are a little worn but for me, that added to the charm of staying in the middle of the desert. The dozens of bunnies outside of our bungalow also added to the charm!
We ate all of our meals at the lovely poolside restaurant. Our meal the first night was phenomenal - one of the best I've had in awhile and the staff was jovial and warm. I love that they grow their vegetables in a garden that's right behind the restaurant (and fun to tour!) and that all of the bread is homemade. Local musicians had been hired to entertain the outside guests so though our meal the second night was not nearly as good, the atmosphere made up for it. I also loved that locals from neighboring towns were eating at the restaurant as well.
We spent our days hiking in the NP, laying by the pool and the front desk 'concierge' even called in a masseuse to give us in-room massages. Overall, 29 Palms was an amazing first stop on our honeymoon. In my opinion, independently owned inns beat out chain hotels every time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here and then visited Joshua Tree National Park the next day. It's a different experience than your typical hotel and I would highly recommend it. The room and property are extremely clean and well cared for. It's also very conveniently located just outside the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Ah, what to say about this property which we have been visiting for over 15 years and which has not been properly updated over that period but the prices have almost tripled.
There is nothing "historically significant" about corroded wall outlets and windows which don't operate properly.
And, of course, one expects prices to go up over time, IF THE PROPERTY CAN MAINTAIN A LEVEL OF COMFORT.
It's all starting to feel very cynical as though the owner might like to cash out soon and simply doesn't care.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puertofanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your continued business as well as your comments.
We have recently completed another summer season of extensive remodeling and maintenance of our cabins. We strive to maintain the historical nature of the property while also providing the level of comfort our guests expect. However, we will be the first to say there is always something that still needs to be fixed.
We hope to see you again, and look forward to making your experience as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

There are not many decent places to eat in Twentynine Palms, this is one of three or four. However, the atmosphere, food, and prices make it worth your while if you are in the area. There is usually a band playing in the background, and you can sit around the pool or under the pavilion. Service was a little slow, so don't go if you are in a hurry. The food was good, and the prices are reasonable. The location is a little off the beaten path, so use a GPS to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alltrvlallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great experience. The food at the restaurant was really wonderful, the staff was nice, the room was spotless. We stayed in Tidy Tips. Loved the tile floor and the courtyard. If you love the chain hotels, this place is NOT for you. Too much personality to describe. Went to the movies at Smith's Ranch Drive-In and headed to Joshua Tree. Took a dip in the pool Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipimama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

It is not part of a hotel chain and the standard for rooms and services may not be evaluated with the same criteria.
But why not appreciating being in the nature, instead on a highway. Or just the quality of the restaurant that was full of people in a mid-wekk day ?
The price was reasonable for the services offered and the personnel was really kind and helpful.
I would return here.

Room Tip: Comments are referred to the penthouse suite, just above the reception and the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
630 reviews
2.8 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
498 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $86 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing