We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Istrian Villas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I feel, this resort is simply overpriced for what it really is. We stayed in this resort for 2 weeks in August 2012. We are 5 members family.

We booked through a german travel agency. The cost per house in the high season was 412EUR/day-selfcatering. The booking we made looked as we are to get the LUX house, it was also at the front page of our booking. Unfortunatelly, we ended up in the standard villa. Therefore I would highly recommend to people who are going to book this resort to make sure the type of house is detailed specified in their booking. There is a big difference in the standard and in the Lux villas. Standard villas are 60m2 only, facing gardens and other houses. The Lux villa are 78m2 and do have a see wiev. Only few villas do have a jaccuzzi. Also the kitchen is in the standard villa not sufficient. For 5 or 6 people is the house really too small .

During our stay, this resort was facing very dry period.The showers at the beach and showers at the swimming pool were switched off. The pirates boat for kids did not work either. During the second week of our stay, the jets in the inside swimming pool did not work either. The chill out area was without watter too. There were notices with the information of dry period in front of each not working attraction. I find this way of communication not acceptaple.Not in the resort for this price. I would expect a bottle of wine and basket of fruits to the house and a written apologise/notice from the management.

The standard 2 bedrooms house with a terrace. 60m2+terrace, facing garden and other houses. Clean, modern furniture, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Placed in the forest and good shadow.For the 5 of us small. Kitchen is really small and I hated every minute in it! It has 2 cooking rounds. If you put a bigger pot on the cooking round, you will have very limited cooking possibilities, 2 bigger pots or a bigger pot and a frying pan does not fit to it. It is too small. It means, you have to cook potatos in the first round and after you can fry the meat. Not in the same time.! See my picture. I would say nothing, if the price would be 250EUR but not 412EUR/day.

Beaches and swimming pools. The beaches are rocky and the enter to the see is not suitable for small children. Very slippy. There is the laguna with pebbles suitable for children. But do not look for the crystal blue watter in the laguna. It is more like a lake. Swimming pools at Meliá were with salty watter. It was very crowded, as a lot of people from Sol Amfora were using this pools. Hard to get a sunbed.

Resort is large, nice and a good concept. Entertainment for all groups af age. Good sporting opportunities. Restaurants and bars and shop is also available. We used the restaurant at the Melia swimming pools and I have to say, that for a long time I did not eat anything so salty. We tried the resstaurant at the beach (I think the name was Mare a Monti), it was very good.

I would reccomned a trip to Umag. There is vacation train going from the resort to Umag. Umag is nice small very living town with plenty of good restaurant.

Generally large, nice resort with a good concept and good entertainment, but in my opinion overpriced.

Room Tip: In case you are multiple family (5or6 people), choose Lux villas with jacuzzi. Northern part is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hello Davsa, I am Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas.
Thank you for leaving your comment at Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very valuable for us because you mentioned some issues where we can make an improvement.
As you already pointed out, region Istra has been facing very dry period and in order to reduce water consumption we were obliged by the authorities to take the necessary actions. Therefore, we are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy in Aqua park, Indoor swimming pool and Aqua Chill Out Area.
Regarding the kitchen...we will take your opinion in a consideration and provide improvements due to make our villas better and more comfortable place for family vacation.
It is very nice to know that despite some inconveniences, you liked the conception of the resort, entertainment for kids and adults and sporting facilities. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and to have a chance to impress you with the quality service that will meet your and your family needs. Best Regards.
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

PLACE where REALLY feel satisfaction. For complete relaxation and plenty opportunity for sporting activities.TRULY higher service level in the village ISTRIAN Vilas


We were very pleased and certainly we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alenka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Alenka V, my name is Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas. Thank you for writing this nice review and for choosing us for your holidays. Our main goal is to have satisfied guests and to fulfil their needs. We are very glad to hear that you relaxed in our village and we hope to see you again. Best Regards.
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Excelent location, we took superior villa with jakuzzi. Cleaning ladies came every day after 16.00h, so all day we were without fresh towels. Every day we ask for broom, not possible;( There is almost none kichen, dishes.. so better take it with you or go out for eating.
Otherwise, location and arhitecture is really fantastic. We were of familly vacation- for sure it is familly friendy location

Room Tip: choose villa on sea side-south. beautifull view, beach 10 meters from villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sporty_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Hello Sporty_slo, I am Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas.
Thank you for sharing your experience at Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. Our housekeeping service avoids cleaning the villa in the late afternoon and assures that each villa is cleaned as soon as possible. On your request, housekeeper can come in the time that you prefer. To me or to our Reception staff you may report any situation that has occurred and we will do everything to make your stay more comfortable. According to our offer, villas are furnished for four and for six persons. Depending to the certain villa that guest can book, equipment in the kitchen is suitable for six or for four persons (glasses, cutlery, cups, plates, bowls).
As you already experienced, Meliá Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort and are surrounded by flourishing pine trees. Village is eco oriented and family friendly location and offers all kind of entertainment for children and adults with the best fun for the perfect family vacations.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

One of the best resorts in Croatia, we come here for 3 years now and will be coming back. Hard to find combination of luxury, indoor & outdoor pool area with accommodation that has your own big terrace and garden.

Room Tip: The apartments for 6 people are big enough to host 2 families - it has 2 bathrooms and a big living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakub_Demacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you very much for writing this beautiful review. Our main goal is to have satisfied guests who are returning to us year after year. See that we have achieved that gives meaning to everyday work of our entire team. Hope to see you again soon.
Quality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The place and the conception is SUPER. The space in villa very large. The servis is very high level. All things are functional. The terrace is large and cosy. The garden furniture is comfortable and functional. The villa is very nice. The surroundings is very nice including the service (restaurant, swimming pool, beach and the personnel. I commend the stay in Melia Istrian villas. Family's Russ from The Czech Republic

Room Tip: all OK, but ii was very noisy music in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VLASTIMIL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion. I am very glad that you like our villas. It is true that they are unique because of their location near the sea, spacious gardens and terraces. We also invest a lot of effort into the quality of our services. We are really hoping that you will visit us again in the future.
Quality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We wanted to spend a few days at the end of Summer school holiday with the family.
The Melia Istrian Villas was a very good choice.

As it was end August - the property ways not overcrowded (hich we guess to happen in "high season".

The Melia is quite a big area - which was developed in 2 major steps: first the 2 storied apartmant buildings have been built - with a swimming pool, some bars, beach, etc.
The Villa compound was inagurated in 2006. Individual villas (with small terrace, and a small "private garden" - in different sizes and luxury.
We have taken one of the "smallest" category, but it was still perfect for our purpose.
The villas have their "own" pool, restaurants and even beach - but do not forget: the Istrian beaches are all "public" (namely anyone can go there).
The whole area is spacious, the sport center offers a variety of water sports, a tennis stadium and several courts serve the sportfans.
Many shops, supermarket, number of restaurants, etc.
We enjoyed the small restaurants in the neighbourhood, like NONO, MELONE, and ADRIA is Savudrijska.
Nice small cities can be visited in the evening in 30-40 kilometer distance.
The only problem we had is the quite big noise (sometimes until late) night. Even if the doors and windows close quite well - but the bass could even cross the walls...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

First of all I would like to thank You for choosing our resort for Your holiday. Melia Istrian Villas is a village built in 2007 constituting of 180 villas – standard, luxury and superior and it makes part of Stella Maris Resort, and the apartament buildings are an other part of the Resort with a different brand – Sol Amfora.
I am glad that You enjoyed sport and other facilities offered and that You are satisfied with the village in general and the surrounding area.
Regarding loud music – I am sorry to hear that You've had inconveniencies. We are doing our best to avoid uncomfortable situations, from continuous contacts with bar owners to big investments in sound barriers around to village to be able to provide peace for our guests.
We are hoping to welcome you again as our dear guest to be able to show you all our improvements. Kind regards to you and your family.
Quality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We've stayed in 2 different types of villas for 4 people: villa superior with an outside jaccuzzi and private access to a very bad rocky beach & villa luxury with a view on sea and a hamak. We've enjoyed Luxury Villa a little more, though its interior is a bit simplier than Superior's. Overall staying in Melia Istrian Resort was an unforgettable experience.
Pros: beautiful location, relaxing atmosphere, well-equipped area,relatively safe area for kids, cozy villas with a private terrace & garden, hamak or jaccuzzi
Cons: poor service ( helpful but incredibly slow), the worst beach in Croatia Ive ever seen! (not advised to come here during hot summer period!)shallow sea with slippery rocks hardly below the surface of the water, impossible to swim, only step from rock to rock)))

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
0.4 km away
Sol Stella Apartments
0.7 km away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
602 reviews
1.1 km away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Kanegra Apartments
Kanegra Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kanegra
276 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#8 of 14 in Umag
43 reviews
0.5 km away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Istrian Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Istrian Villas

Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umag
Price Range: $133 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Istrian Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort in a serene and tranquil setting. Located in the Stella Maris resort, the Melia Istrian Villas are surrounded by flourishing pine trees, steps from the Adriatic Sea. The property has 180 villas, including seven "Luxury" and 23 "Superior" villas. Each offers luxury and privacy for an unforgettable Istrian vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Istrian Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Istrian Villas Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing