We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Taste: Sports, Tourist Life and Sun?”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Want to be where the action is? Or coming to get some advanced training for the Ironman World Championship? And not really looking for a resort? Then this is your place to stay.

When you arrive don't be disappointed by the "normal" look of the towering hotel building in "downtown" Kailua. Soon you will discover that the hotel site extends to the bay and has several smaller motel style buildings, two swimming pools and small garden areas. The hotel's terrace overlooking the starting area for the swim event of the Ironman also serves as a vantage point to check on the tourist life on Ali'i Drive along the sea.

Breakfast is included in the room price: A minimal choice is offered at Tante's Restaurant, and is just right for you, if you don't want to get overweight. We think the symbiosis of the hotel with this restaurant is very positive. We also had dinner there: The food was tasty and inexpensive, and the service very friendly.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room on the fifth floor of the tower and definitely enjoyed the view on the Kailua Pier and the sea; the somewhat higher price was fully justified. Hotel parking was an extra five dollars per night.

Free WiFi works only in the lobby and could have been more reliable; from our experience in Hawaii it seems to be quite common that "free WiFi's" either are unreliable, under-dimensioned or forcing nasty, repetitive login procedures.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked on-line for one night, so we could rest after our flight from Chicago. Not sure what we were getting, but the reviews from Trip Advisor helped make the Kona Seaside our first stop. Older hotel, but neat and clean, well-kept, family-owned. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We paid $99 a night that included a nice breakfast at Tante's Restaurant. The hotel is situated on Kailua Bay, so there is all kinds of restaurants, shops and activities within walking district. If you are looking for a good value for a night or two, this is it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JEBoylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel from Apr 26-30. It was a practical place at about $125/night. We were in room 2012.

The room was clean and had a small lanai attached to it. There was a small dorm fridge (which you need to turn on with the switch on the wall), and the wall unit air conditioner was much appreciated.

Parking is $5 per day, and this was not the peak vacation time, so we never had a problem finding parking. Included in our stay was free breakfast at Tante's restaurant next to the property, which was a $5 value. We figured parking and breakfast was a wash. At Tante's, one of the breakfast options was a ham and cheese omelet with two large pancakes...it was more than enough. Also, try the orange-mango juice, it is quite good.

There are two pools on the property, however we did not use either one during our stay, as we were busy seeing the island. Within walking distance of the hotel there are a number of restaurants, shops, and bars, so you can leave your car in the lot.

WiFi was not an issue with us, as we had our iPad along, and it worked just fine, free of charge, in our room. There are two computer terminals in the lobby for guest use as well.

If you are not looking for a spectacular place, but simply a place for a quiet rest as you see the island, we would recommend this place...it's only about a 10 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriggerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hi, we have very much enjoyed our stay in Kona. The location of the hotel is wonderful and the free breakfast is great. Issues with wi-fi. I like the local feel and will always support a local business over large resort. Reception ladies very friendy. If you dont need anything fancy, this is a good place to stay. I suggest you stay here before and after your trip around the island.

Room Tip: rooms higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clovicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Kona Seaside. We stayed here one night on arrival before heading south to our vacation home. We arrived a bit late due to a late plane and they had our reservation all ready for us. Our two rooms were together which was nice also. We enjoyed the ocean view from our lanai as well. We did take a swim in the morning, a bit cold but nice and clean. The cooked breakfast was nice as well, can't beat the view!
We will stay again if we need a night in Kona.

Room Tip: ocean view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for our one night in Kona. Booked it because the price was pretty reasonable and the breakfast is free. The room is clean, comfortable, adequate. But wouldn't be me choice for a stay longer than 2-nights. There is a little fridge, no microwave. The bathroom was fine, good shower, but all the fixtures and the counter were quite low. I actually hit my head on the shower head, I'm only 5'7''. Though it was a bit akward in the bathroom, that is not a reason to not book this place. It is walking distance to the main strip in Kona with all the restraunts and shops.

The one problem: the parking SUCKS. If you get back after 9pm, all the spots are gone. They do charge you at check-in for parking, but if you tell them there are no spots they will refund the fee, and you can park in the free public lot a little bit away. Also, no free wifi in the room, but for a fee. Wi-fi is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

A nice and quiet hotel, in a good location, close to the seaside, reachable in a couple of minutes.
We just stayed for one night, personnel is nice and well-mannered.

The hotel has a private park, where you can leave your car
Prive is good for the quality of the rooms and for the breakfast. Definitely the hotel has a good quality / price ratio. We can recommend it for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msereno1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
246 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
9.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $192 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing