We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creator of the Universe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mauna Kea Summit

Mauna Kea Summit
Book In Advance
More Info
US$199.00*
and up
Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Kona and Waikoloa - Small Group Tour
Ranked #2 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 13,796 feet, this peak offers an incredible view of lava, desert, the valley and Mauna Loa.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Creator of the Universe”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

HE>i is the only thing I could think of as we gazed up at the expanse that is the universe God has created. The sky explodes with stars at the Mauna Kea visitors center. Astronomers there focus numerous telescopes on planets and collections of stars to both awe and educate the viewers. The view of the moon almost made me feel like I could walk on its surface. What an awesome God!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandLover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,664
    494
    117
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Most Spectacular View!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When we got to the island we rented a Jeep 4x4 and we used every little bit of it. Took it to the top of Mauna Kea and was amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loved the contrast in landscape”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

worth the visit. Dress warmly. Lots of attractions near by

Helpful?
Thank oceanfrontescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This excursion is fantastic and a once in a lifetime experience. The trucks that bring you to the summit are comfortable and our guide Misch (sorry for any incorrect spelling!) was great! She was very knowledgable and friendly and made the trip truly great. The sunset at the summit was beautiful and the stars were amazing. The food was actually better than I thought it would be I had the terriyaki chicken and loved it. Make sure you dress warmly, long pants, running/hicking shoes and a sweater as its quite cold at the summit. Wonderful trip that shouldn't be missed!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzy0066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique and worth the trip”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you have a week or more on the Big Island, I would recommend making the trip up the summit. The drive didn't affect anyone in our family two daughters (8) and (6). It is an interesting and exciting drive up. You won't have many opportunities to experience such a unique place and certainly not under the circumstances of an Island environment. The weather change is drastic no matter the time of year. The views are spectacular and exceptional! You feel as though you are on top of the world! The bonus is being able to see some of the most advanced telescopes in the world. It's cold so bring a sweatshirt. Also, drink plenty of water, it's easy to become dehydrated at this elevation 9200. An interesting side note; Mauna Kea is actually taller than Mr Everest if measured from their bases. Mauna Kea's base being at sea level ;)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ohanatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauna Kea Summit also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Summit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing