We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Oceanfront living room- the water is that close!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oceanfront living room- the water is that close!
Plenty of room for enjoying meals View from the living room...it looks as if you are on the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Oceanfront living room- the water is that close!
Plenty of room for enjoying meals
View from the living room...it looks as if you are on the water
Master bedroom suite with large walk in closet and private bathroom
Shoji door closes completely for privacy
Second bedroom (the Woody room) has a queen and twin bed and its own TV and DVD
The master bath with walkin travertine tile shower
The second bathroom with shower and tub
View of the spacious living area with Shoji door partially open
The amazing view from the livingroom and master bedroom
Teak cabinet with 37 inch LCD TV and oceanfront view
Sunset from the lanai
Sunset view from the kitchen
Watch the surfers from the oceanfront pool
Enjoy watching surfers, dolphins and whales from the lanai
The north view from the lanai
Looking south from our lanai
Full tide view from the Lanai
Picture taken from the lania of a SpinnerDolphin
Oceanfront living room with deluxe queen sleeper sofa
Large granite counter top, well equipped kitchen and dinning area
The livingroom, dining area and kitchen
A veranda for your use that seats 10 people
Oceanfront Master Bedroom
Large kitchen area for you to prepare your tropical meals
dining area
Oceanfront condo complex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pathfinde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This ocean-front condo was the perfect get-away for my husband and I to celebrate my retirement. The ocean FRONT view of one whole wall of the condo would have been enough to rate this condo as 5-plus stars and yet there was so much more! Everything about the condo was inviting and accommodating. The bed and the other furnishing were comfortable and well-situated to enjoy the view of the surf. Our hosts, Janice and Robert, clearly went out of their way to be sure that we had all of our needs met. There is snorkeling gear, boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas for our use. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, utensils, spices and everyday cooking needs. Books were provided about the island and Janice and Robert provided a binder with all of their favorite spots around the island - including restaurants, beaches, grocery and farmers markets and many adventure ideas. This made it easy to plan our days - and I would encourage visitors to follow their recommendations - they never let us down. The condo is located conveniently near downtown Kona and close to beach access. However, it was often difficult to leave the condo - as it is a vacation in itself - sitting on the lanai reading, relaxing, watching the surfers or using the binoculars to watch dolphins, whales and turtles, or laying on the couch or the bed as the surge rolls in with the sun high or setting. Even washing the dishes is a treat as you watch the ocean waves. The sound of the waves at night were a special treat - and there is nothing quite like watching the waves in the moonlight from the lanai at midnight. We can't wait until our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite a Place”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Banyan Tree 302 from Oct 14 - 22.
Our first impression was not very good as when we arrived we found the place had not been cleaned since the previous guests had left due to a mix up in scheduling.
I contacted Janice the owner and her island contact Joan to let them know about the situation and they quickly set things in motion to have the situation remedied. Within 15 minutes the house keeper was on the property and did a very nice job of getting things cleaned and straitened out. I only mention all of this to let future renters know how committed Janice, Robert and their people are to making sure that everything in the condo is in good condition and making sure that your stay is as pleasant as possible.
On to the good stuff....
Believe what you see in the pictures. The view from the lanai is amazing!
The condo is elegantly decorated with many island inspired pieces that really make it feel homey and comfortable. The kitchen is nicely appointed with just about any thing you would need from dishes, utensils, coffee maker, toaster etc... Folks, if they don't have you don't need it.
The master bed was comfortable and located next to the sliding glass doors to the lanai so you could listen to the roar to the ocean which was awesome.
As you walk in the front door there is a rack with just about all the beach toys and supplies you would need. This included mask, snorkel, fins, coolers, beach chairs, boogie boards and fishing gear. They also had beach toys for the little ones.
Other amenities I really enjoyed was the Wi-Fi, the washer and dryer and they even had a wireless printer (with supplies) that you could use.
This place is a gem and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any our friends and family.
I would also be willing to field any questions from future renters.
Thanks Janice and Robert for a great stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to customer satisfaction
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Aloaha George,
We were so sorry to hear about the confusion with the cleaners and so glad we were able to fix that right away. We do have great on Island staff and work hard to ensure that our guests have everything they need to have a great stay. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience at our condo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardili...
Burnt Hills, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't get any better ! Fabulous accommodations”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a great location. Unit 302. Beds are comfortable, spotless, kitchen equipped with everything you need and more! Full wall of windows overlooking the ocean, fell asleep every night to the sounds of the waves. Close to everything but far enough away. Can't say enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather E
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family stayed in this beautiful condo for 7 nights. First off, the ocean view is spectacular! You can't be any closer to the water unless you are standing in it. It was like being on a cruise ship that didn't go anywhere. Beautiful sunsets, listening to the crashing ocean as you drift off to sleep.....it was perfect! Truly loved it!
The condo was beautifully furnished and very very clean. It was so much larger than we expected. Great to have two bathrooms! The kitchen was clean and fully set up.
They give you everything you need to explore the island too. Towels, snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas...it was great!
The property is beautiful. Great private underground parking garage. The complex is next to a very popular surf spot. On the first day we saw a sea turtle on the beach there and we were always entertained by watching the surfers from the lanai. Very cool!
The property owners were great and easy to communicate with. Very professional and prompt with replies. Sent me great information on the island as well.
We will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSh...
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Banyon Tree #302 is everything you could want on the Big Island”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have rented other condos in various places and this was the absolute best. Everything was exactly as pictured or described. The unit was immaculate, fully stocked, and everything worked. The view is spectacular and it is close to the places important to us (snorkeling beach, farmer's market, grocery store, and the best poke shop on the island. The owners were both responsive and business-like. They provided immediate responses to email, lots of information on what to see and do, and very clear written materials in the condo. We would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H
White Rock, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could possibly want in Kona.”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed at numerous home rentals around the world over the years, but this is the nicest we have ever found. The location is immediately on one of the best surf beaches on the big island. The design and decor of the condo are outstanding. It is the second home of the owners, and this shows in all the personal touches. Every amenity you could want was there, even down to snorkelling gear, boogie boards and fishing rods. The kitchen was more elaborately set up than ours at home. The owners were excellent to deal with and provided a great tip sheet for us on places to shop or eat and things to do in the area. Our only complaint is that six nights wasn't enough - we could have stayed forever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality throughout
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Amazing Location & Excellent Condo”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

You just can't beat the location. RIGHT over the water on the 3rd floor. Its the view I've always always always wanted when staying near the beach. After all, what's the point of going to the beach if you can't see the ocean. Well, here you are right over it. The condo is very nice, exactly as you see in the pictures, if not a little nicer once you look a little. The condo is stocked with everything you need for cooking, cleaning and every-day living. There are also about 20 beach towels, lots of snorkels and masks, beach chairs, etc. The only bummer is no air conditioning. We were there during early September and it was hot all day, and also hot most of the night. The fans help, but its still hot. We drove down the road to the beach where the turtles are about 10 minutes away and saw turtles twice! Up the road there are lots of good restaurants and shopping. Costco is near the airport, and Safeway is only 15 minutes away. Prices are about 15-20% higher then we pay on the mainland but not terrible. Gas is cheaper than in California. Car rentals at the airport were similar pricing as on the mainland. Janice emailed me everything I needed to know before hand, and everything worked exactly as she said. We took many of her suggestions about things to do and places to eat and they were all right on the money. We also went snorkeling at many of the places she suggested and they were great too. Awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View.
Liked least: No Airconditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing