We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Restaurant in Kailua-Kona on the Big Island”

Sam Choy's Kai Lanai
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam Choy's Kai Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 307 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: A former Wendy's restaurant completely redone.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We've been going to Sam Choi's since he had the small breakfast and lunch place near the airport. His latest is up the hill from where we stayed. We had lunch and went to the Happy Hour 3 times during the 7 days we were in the area. We'll be there again our next trip to the Big Island.

Thank shi0sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018

Love the lunches menu, good service, very tasty food and wonderful view to enjoy. I love the “Noodle Mania” and get it almost every time.

Thank sumarent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Wonderful restaurant! The VIEW, food and cocktails were great. Even with all the good restaurants available on the island, we found ourselves returning here again and again. It was refreshing to get away from the busy, crowded main Kona downtown restaurants. We would definitely recommend you to stop and enjoy a drink and meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pb52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I gotta admit that I gave Sam Choy's a one-star (poor) review back in October 2017. They were having a lot of management and staff problems and frankly it was terrible. It was sad because Sam Choy's was our go-to spot in the Kona area. We went back numerous times in April 2018 and July 2018. It's a totally different place! The service is friendly and prompt, the food is back to the excellent Sam Choy standard, and the restaurant has a lively and fun feel again. Thank you to the owners for listening to the customers, and for bringing in Chris as the new head chef. Sam Choy's also does a great job with catering. We've used them 4 times for catered events with 30+ people. The food is excellent and everything is ready when we go to pick it up. Thank you Chris and the Sam Choy's staff for the great come-back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

This is a great place to grab a bite to eat, the food is good and reasonably priced. Good drinks and a laid back atmosphere. Definitely worth checking out!

Thank biker12460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Choy's Kai Lanai also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sam Choy's Kai Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing