We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Kona location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kona Mansion 227

Whale watching is quite a tale!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whale watching is quite a tale!!
All the amenities of home. Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
63 reviews
Whale watching is quite a tale!!
All the amenities of home.
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Black Sand Beach!!
A view from above, arriving in Paradise!!!
Ahh, DINNER!!! Doesn't get any fresher!!
Todays catch.
Swimming with the kids..
Dive Buddies.
Champiomship Golf!!
Hole in One!!
Fore!!!
A rainbow for your Tee shot
Lania Sunset..
Hiking 101.
Poolside..
Relax and BBQ..
Picinc & BBQ.
Tropical Paradise!
Down at the beach
Nice view for a ride..
Up for a ride?
North side.
Rush Hour!!
Night School..
What nice Teeth You Have!!!
A OK!!!
More tropical beauty.
KA BOOM..
Good Night....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
jkTravele...
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Kona location”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This condo was well appointed and very comfortable. An easy walk into town in 10 minutes or less. A resful view of the ocean made for a pleasant and relaxing retreat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally L
Montague, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roomy, comfortable home in great location”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Coming from a stay at a hotel, we really appreciated the opportunity to do our own thing---cook, wash clothes and relax in this lovely, tropical setting. We wish could have come to this condo first. The location is perfect, just a short walk to an abundance of interesting restaurants and shops. Great snorkeling beaches are just up or down the road. We hope to return and repeat this lovely experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious comfort
Liked least: Figuring out the key box. Probably my bad.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debinbabb...
Babbitt, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, and well-equipped with beautiful Kona sunsets from the lanai!”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In planning our vacation to Kona, the owner, Jim, was the only one who responded to several inquiries on places to stay in the area. He was very friendly and helpful. We spent one month at this comfortable condo. On arrival, there was a large basket with local fruits, bottled water, tote bag, crackers. We felt very welcomed! The condo was very well equipped with everything you can think of to make it a home away from home. We appreciated having the washer and dryer. Also available was a cooler, beach chairs, snorkeling equipment, extra flip flops, toys for the kids, umbrellas and everything you might need to go to one of the many beaches in the area. We even found bug spray and suntan lotion. We added a few items that were missing from the kitchen and did a lot of cooking there. We felt the location was excellent with a short walk to Aili'i Drive and all the shopping and restaurants. We did a lot of walking daily and thought that the walk to town and then coming up the stairs to the condo was a great exercise program for our time in Kona. We also had a rental car for the month and explored the whole island. I enjoyed using the pool many times during the month and it was quite empty during the time we were there. This month, we didn't have to use the air conditioner at all. It was heavenly to feel the cool tropical breezes at night and hear the surf. I think the highlight of the condo was the lanai off the bedroom on the second floor. There we watched the sunset on the ocean almost every night and enjoyed lots of cups of Kona coffee in the mornings. It was a wonderful vacation in paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lanai, the sunsets, the location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015Happy...
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and views from Kailua Kona condo.”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This condo has everything you need to feel comfortable and at home in Kona. The kitchen is well equipped with many appliances, including an espresso maker, a blender, and a dishwasher. There are towels, chairs, coolers, etc. to take with you on your excursions. The washer and dryer are a bonus!
The owner was friendly and easy to communicate with. The welcome gift basket of organic produce was a surprise and greatly appreciated! The butter avocados and ripe papayas are delicious!
The complex is very quiet. It is very close to the downtown area, so we didn't have to drive when we went into downtown.
We were there during a heat spell and we were thankful for the many fans and the downstairs air conditioner. The ocean view from the upstairs lanai is spectacular. We had coffee on the lanai early in the morning and watched the sunset in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TassieRet...
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Not recommended for elderly”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had not been supplied with parking instructions and on arrival it took two phone calls to the owners agent to find this out. Basic instructions such as "Proceed uphill until you come to a barrier, park in bay 48 on your right" should have been supplied.

If you cannot carry your bags up three flight of stairs do not book this unit. There are two flights of stairs to get to the unit and then another flight of stairs inside the unit. We found it a real struggle to get our bags into the unit.

This unit is advertised as air conditioned. This is only partly correct. There is a small noisy air conditioner in the living area that barely copes. With no extractor for the stove it gets very hot when cooking. The upstairs bedroom have no air conditioning and when we stayed it was very hot.

Wifi speed was variable from none to slow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
So sorry you had a bad experience at Konamansion. The parking instructions were provided in the original paperwork you received at it is with all our guests. We let everyone know that the bedrooms are upstairs. This is the FIRST time ever I have heard about the AC unit downstairs being noisy. We have also NEVER had a complaint about the internet. I will have that checked out though as we do pay for high speed broadband internet and the AC unit is less than 2 years old. PLEASE remember to print out all paperwork that is sent when you rent a condo or house as there is always valuable information. Much mahalo for your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picky_tra...
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the money”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kona Mansion (Unit 227) for five nights on our first family trip to the Big Island. Everything that Jim stated was accurate. Its a great location, central to all the restaurants, grocery stores - in the heart of Kona.
The condo is in good condition, clean. Fully furnished. Beds were comfortable,
Kitchen has eveything.
We very much liked the extras such as beach chairs, beach toys, some basic snorkling gear.
Oveall - an A.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, price, cleaniness and comfort.
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thanks so much!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had BIG FUN on the BIG ISLAND!!

MUCH MAHALO!!!

Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiredtr...
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is our second time renting this Kona Mansion unit. 2 weeks in 2013 and we loved it so much we returned for a 6 week stay mid January 2015. Awesome location, walking distance small South Kona Beach, Kona town, local produce and craft market open 6 days a week by the catholic church. 3 minute walk is the Royal Kona hotel with its upscale Hawaiian Legends's entertainers such as John Cruz, Henry Kapono and many others performing on Thursday night, get there before happy hour (4-6 PM) begins or you won't get a seat. Huggo's on the Rocks is another 3 minute walk, has superior Mai Tai's and happy hour 3-5 and live nightly entertainment. Brian Pi'ikea Vasquez is one of our favourites, hammering away on the Ukulele like no one I have ever witnessed. LT Smooth usually plays on Sundays, check there posted schedule. He is not to be missed. There are many bars with local live entertainment along the sea wall.
Over the years, we have lived one to two months on Kauai, Maui, Oahu, and Hawaii and this Island has been one of our favourites. With Costco, Walmart, Sack and Save, Saveway and KTA there are food deals to be found, but everything is at a premium price, after all your are 2500 miles from the mainland. Mauna Kea is a must do, as well as a drive to Hilo and a helicopter ride over an active volcano. Most people have a bucket list and these trips are a must. A rental car is a must, so book well in advance. Found best prices using discounthawaiicarrental and deals on tours using hawaiidiscount.
227 has awesome views from the upstairs bedroom deck, facing west with a beautiful ocean expanse, witness nightly sunsets, cruise ship anchored just off shore at least every Wednesday, with prime Humpback whale watching Dec-March. One morning we could not leave the lanai, witnessed 12 whale breaches and so many whales blowing that it looked like whale soup. The unit has all you need to call it home. The owner is super receptive and a pleasure to deal with, as is his local contact person. All new beds and bedding were installed while we were staying there. Never need to use the air conditioning as the trade winds cool the island down nicely in the evening for sleeping. Unit has reserved parking for one car and plenty on street parking. Kona Mansions is well maintained 40 year old plus apartment building, with little sound proofing, so it can be quite noisy in the early morning, but super quiet in the evening hours. The kitchen has a gas stove and is very well stocked with all the cooking implements needed to make it a home base for your vacation.
Washer and dryer eliminates the need for overpacking, which most people do. You can pack light, this is Hawaii. This walk up unit is on a hill and on the second and third floors, so you can get your daily steps in.
We will be back to this unit again, as it is absolutely the best value deal in Kona.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Morning noise level
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! You guys are the BEST!!! Thanks for taking such GREAT care of our place.. I hope I can finally meet you all face to face someday!!

YOU ROCK!!!! MUCH MAHALO!!!

Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing