We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stop don`t look any farther you found a bit of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Playahang...
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stop don`t look any farther you found a bit of Paradise.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Life is great on this end and I hope it`s better on your end. Great because I just returned from my stay at Mango Cottage on the Big Island. I had the pleasure of staying a little over 2 weeks at the Mango Cottage ( I could of easily stayed 2 years.) Christine and Bobby will make sure you are taken care of from the second you talk to them on the phone for reservations, until you close the gate to go home.
At first I was a little concerned about the location and happy to find out it`s at the perfect location. Your at about 1200 ft above sea level, so you have a great view up and down the coast and the weather is a little cooler than in Kailua. It`s great setting on the lanai in the morning/evening having your coffee, chocolate, or wine, watching the spectacular sunsets and sunrises. Also fun to watch the jets coming in from the other Islands and the cruise ships departing for another Island. It`s even better setting in the hot tub watching the geckos in the palms, or looking at the stars at night. In the mornings you`ll awake to the sound of minah birds, turkeys, doves, far off roosters and the gentle babbling of the fountain in the yard. Also in the very private yard are orange, papaya, and avocado trees and huge Mango trees near by. At the same time your 10 mins easy drive down into Kailua, and Makalawena and Kua Bay ( some of the best beaches on the Island.
Now we get to Cottage my friends. It`s like opening a Holiday present. It looks exactly like the pictures only better. Your going to spend at least an hour opening up cabinets and doors finding everything and more that you`ll need for your stay at Mango Cottage. You have no idea how much detail and care Christine and Bobby have put into this property. It`s like staying at your very favorite Aunt and Uncles house on steroids. Wait until you head below the house to fine washer and dryer, and best of all toys and accessories for the beach. There`s the beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, boogieboards ( you gotta try the boggieboards) your gonna look kinda stupid but who cares? Mats, towels, toys for the kids to play in the sand, water worms, etc. Like I said, exploring this cottage is going to make you grin.
I could go on and on, but I won`t. What I will do is say, Life is very very short and it`s our job to impress ourselves and wish others love and kindness. Well staying at the Mango cottage will impress you, and you will feel the love from Christine and Bobby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care and attention from the owners.
Liked least: Having to close the gate to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I love guests like you! You are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Lovely review and very appreciated! Do come back! Thankyou so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Switzerland
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Romance is good! Lovely guest and look forward to having you back at mango cottage anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gaby62Deu...
Deutschland
1 review
“the perfect aloha spirit”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A delightful garden, a very nicely done up cottage with candles, flowers and everything you need feeling home, your own jacuzzi and bbq, a balcony to eat, to relax and to admire the oceanview and the great sunset in the evening. This all in absolute privacy with helpful support by Christine - if need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Hi...and thankyou for your nice review...we look forward to seeing you again here at mango cottage, highly recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitalsu...
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay in paradise”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The house offered everything we'd dreamed of: a porch with sunset views, beach equipement, a fully equiped kitchen, a huge garden with a lot of tropical fruits...
This was the place where I slept best on my vacation, the sleeping room was cool and it was so quiet!

Thank you for joining this place in paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I am so happy your stay was wonderful..I love that! See you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liane_13
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mango Cottage. The place was very clean and has so much character. It was very quiet and private. We enjoyed meeting the resident cat. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peaceful place to stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Wonderful guest and you are always welcome at mango cottage!
It is so nice to be appreciated, see you again. Aloha christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latta
Huntersville
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A hotel will never do after a stay here.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are spending 2 weeks here at the Mango Cottage high above the Kona coast. First you do not need to bring anything except clothes and yourself. This place is totally equipped with everything you need. The space around the house is tropical with flowers, fruit trees and a zillion birds including parrots and turkeys. The hosts are great and will take good care of you. It is close to everything you need and situated in a very secluded spot at he end of a one lane road. Bring something warm to wear in the morning as it gets a little cool. We have not needed to use the fans yet. Minnie the cat is a daily visitor. The turkeys get a bit loud in the morning. The beach is 12 minutes away as well as the airport. The secret is out so plan well ahead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bed and wonderful sunsets.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your patience when mother nature gave us a light show! All of you are wonderful, funny and beautiful guests...You are welcome here anytime! We hope to see you when the avocado's are falling! Mucho Mahalo's for everything! Hope NC is nice to you after 2 weeks in the tropical paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing