We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
606 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Great Resort.”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Our room on the 5th floor was incredibly large, with a huge balcony looking out at the slopes of Hualalai. The room was very clean and well maintained.

The hotel grounds were well kept and offered plenty of paths to walk along the coast. The pool area is huge!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Aloha and thank you for sharing your impressions of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our resort is surrounded by unparalleled natural beauty, providing guests with an amazing place to take a stroll and discover our island’s rich history and traditions. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    882
    480
    216
    122
See reviews for
656
1,254
87
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We arrived in thanks giving and had to wait about ten mins to check in, although the hotel has many rooms it doesn't feel crowded and there was plant of outdoor space to relax.

Especially liked the manta ray viewing deck :-) beds are comfortable and pillows amazing!!

The trolley into town is invaluable if you don't have a car as the on site restaurants weren't too exciting but this is frequent and there are always seats!!

The onsite tour booking staff are fabulous and knowledgeable as we're any other staff we dealt with.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It brings us great pleasure to learn about our guest’s impressions and experiences. We’re delighted you were so comfortable on the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ bed dressed with down pillows, down comforters and luxurious, soft cotton linens. Your gracious praise for our staff is appreciated and we hope that we can all welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Booked this place with a deal during the low season and I took a late night flight with my sister from Honolulu to Kona. From the airport, we drove a good half hour before we found Sheraton Keauhou in the dark with the aid of a GPS. When we arrived, the valet staff parked our vehicle and we checked in immediately and had our bags swiftly transported to our room. After undergoing a long renovation, the place looks stunning. We only got to stay the one night but enjoyed a fabulous buffet breakfast included with our package.

Room was typical of most Starwood Sheraton decor with some local flavor. My only complaint is the bathroom being extremely small.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Aloha! We are glad that you and your sister had such a lovely visit and enjoyed the breakfast buffet included in your package at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. With the completion of our renewal, it is such a pleasure to be able to share our new look with our guests and we thank you for your compliments. Please come see us again soon. A hui hou kakou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

After 7 very busy days between Honolulu and the Hilo side of the big island we arrived at the Sheraton Kona resort for a 2 night stay (tues/wed). The resort was beautiful, peaceful and very quiet.
- Arrived for check in just before 3. Check in was quick and easy and room ready.
- Pillows. Beds. Bedding very comfortable. Robes in room were a nice convenience. Room nicely refurbished and good size. Room accommodated the King size bed easily with plenty of room for a good sized roll away or 2 (if needed) and still plenty of living space.
- Large lanai with a beautiful ocean front view over looking the Manta Ray viewing area. The view was beautiful as well as the soothing sound of the ocean crashing into the lava rock a few feet away.
- Pool is fantastic how it wraps around into different areas of the resort. If The section near the slide was a bit busier with a few kids we were easily able to move to another area and feel like we had our own private pool and lounging area. Near the waterfall is great or even by the slide. but close to the ocean. The pool waterfall and the ocean crashing against the lava rock a few feet from the pool were very relaxing and drown out other noises. They were in the process of adding 3 easy pool entry chairs for disabled. To date I have not seen these available at other hotels and resorts. I am thankful I do not need to use them. But I was very impressed as this adds a very nice touch. Service from pool bar was slow and expensive. $10 Drinks like Mai Tais and Pina Coladas. lava Flows (yum!). $9 at the actual restraunt bar. Happy hour offered around $2 discount. But almost took full hour to get the 1 drink. The bar tender did not accept orders at the bar. He would send the 1 person by that was taking orders and serving everyone around the entire huge pool area. drink size seemed small as well.
- Dinner and breakfast were both very good . Pizza and 2 good side salads were less than $30. About the same as going out to pizza here on the main land. Breakfast buffet was included with our package. Nice choices for healthy filling breakfast options as well as a few not so health conscious choices. But hey, what'a a vaca. without a few cheat items.
- Close short easy walk to bay where You can rent Kayaks and snorkel/masks etc. FairWinds yours launch from here as well. Had a great snorkel trip on the Hula Kai. Another review. Another time.
- Lot of shopping and good options not to far down Ali street. Shuttles free.

Tip- Boats doing Manta Ray viewing run for about 1.5 hours after full dark. They shine under water lights a little further out from the shore to attract the plankton followed by the Mantas. During this time it was very difficult or impossible to see the Manta Rays from the rooms, restraunt or viewing deck. Wait until the tour boats leave and the Sheraton lights are the main attraction for the marine life. The Manta's are then visible and amazing to watch. Mid Nov. This was anytime after 7:30 on. Manta's were still active after 11on.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Mahalo for sharing such a detailed review of your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We’re thrilled that you chose to spend two nights with us to relax and enjoy the beauty that surrounds our resort. Our spectacular location along the ocean's lava cliffs provides breathtaking views and sets the stage for a peaceful experience. We do apologize for the delay you encountered poolside and hope that it did not greatly impact your overall stay. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel has just undergone a refurbishment. Even though though the building itself may look a bit dated, the rooms, lobby and facilities are new and clean. We had dinner at Rays on the Bay and it was fantastic, the view and the ambience was really superb. The food was surprisingly good too especially after reading some of the reviews. I especially love the Miso shrimp salad. the cocktails on the other hand were only ok.

Just wanted to say that my family and I had such a wonderful stay at the Sheraton Kona resort and would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
We sincerely appreciate your many kind remarks about our resort, thank you. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay has, as you mentioned, recently completed nearly $20 million in renovations and we are all very excited to share the many wonderful changes with our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining at Rays on the Bay where you can relax by the fire pit lounge; view manta rays just off shore and indulge in some of the freshest local seafood on the island. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family back again and we hope it’s soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We arrived from LAX at 10:30 pm. Our check in was quick and we were told we could grab a bite at the restaurant overlooking the Manta Rays. It is a lovely restaurant but sadly, the food left much to be desired. This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere but really needs quality control help. We ate dinner here the following night and it was another disappointing meal with magical atmosphere and great Hawaiian music! Drinks are very good! Room service omelet was very good but coffee expensive, room temperature and average at best! Not good presentation. If the food was better at this hotel, I believe it would be a 5 star!!! They need food management that "Gets it!"

The bath amenities are very nice! We had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean! I would recommend requesting these rooms even if they are a bit extra. Beds, wonderful! Linens great. Towels just okay.

Would we go back?! Absolutely!!!! Hope they fix the food...but it wouldn't stop us from returning!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Aloha! All feedback from our guests is welcomed and we greatly appreciate that you have provided us with your impressions and suggestions. Thank you very much for the many compliments you have given to us. We truly regret that although you have expressed your pleasure with the atmosphere and music while dining, you were not overly impressed with the cuisine. Our new Chef du Cuisine at Rays is working on refining the menu in our new restaurant and your input is valuable to the process, thank you. Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Booked a room for three days using SPG points and cash but wanted an upgrade to ocean front, knowing this could be tenuous. Young lady at desk accommodated without hesitation (at standard $50 daily fee). We also were extremely early for check in having arrived on the red eye from Vegas before 10 am). The room was ready and we were in immediately. Fantastic room about 50 feet from the ocean. We could see the Manta Rays from our balcony. Request for bottle opener and corkscrew provided immediately. Ate at Rays twice and were very happy there also. Now for the downsides. 1) Smokers next door had to indulge on their balcony. Why put a smoking room right next to a non-smoking? 2) Tennis courts were available but the equipment available was extremely poor. One aluminum adult racquet was all they had so I had to use a kids size racquet. BRING YOUR OWN. 3) Laundry room dryer and soap vend both out of order, so we had to scramble around to find a working dryer. That said the young lady at the front desk (same as during check in) provided a couple of boxes of tide gratis. Overall extremely happy with our experience here and highly recommend to anyone considering Kona.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review and recommendation. The staff at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is committed to ensuring that our guests’ time at the hotel is memorable and we are eager to assist guests in whatever way we can. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your time with us; however, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the few issues you encountered and hope that they did not greatly impact your overall experience. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
50.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.5 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
45.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
8.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing