We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,028)
Filter reviews
3,028 results
Traveller rating
888
1,065
612
297
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
1,065
612
297
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrays on the baymanta raybay restaurantkeauhou baythe big islandself parkinga mountain view roomfree trolleyocean frontbreakfast buffetcoffee shopgreat poolpoolside barpool staffpool sideoceanfront roombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
2,640 - 2,645 of 3,028 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived in thanks giving and had to wait about ten mins to check in, although the hotel has many rooms it doesn't feel crowded and there was plant of outdoor space to relax.

Especially liked the manta ray viewing deck :-) beds are comfortable and pillows amazing!!

The trolley into town is invaluable if you don't have a car as the on site restaurants weren't too exciting but this is frequent and there are always seats!!

The onsite tour booking staff are fabulous and knowledgeable as we're any other staff we dealt with.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It brings us great pleasure to learn about our guest’s impressions and experiences. We’re delighted you were so comfortable on the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ bed dressed with down pillows, down comforters and luxurious, soft cotton linens. Your gracious praise for our staff is appreciated and we hope that we can all welcome you back soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked this place with a deal during the low season and I took a late night flight with my sister from Honolulu to Kona. From the airport, we drove a good half hour before we found Sheraton Keauhou in the dark with the aid of a GPS. When we arrived, the valet staff parked our vehicle and we checked in immediately and had our bags swiftly transported to our room. After undergoing a long renovation, the place looks stunning. We only got to stay the one night but enjoyed a fabulous buffet breakfast included with our package.

Room was typical of most Starwood Sheraton decor with some local flavor. My only complaint is the bathroom being extremely small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Aloha! We are glad that you and your sister had such a lovely visit and enjoyed the breakfast buffet included in your package at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. With the completion of our renewal, it is such a pleasure to be able to share our new look with our guests and we thank you for your compliments. Please come see us again soon. A hui hou kakou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

After 7 very busy days between Honolulu and the Hilo side of the big island we arrived at the Sheraton Kona resort for a 2 night stay (tues/wed). The resort was beautiful, peaceful and very quiet.
- Arrived for check in just before 3. Check in was quick and easy and room ready.
- Pillows. Beds. Bedding very comfortable. Robes in room were a nice convenience. Room nicely refurbished and good size. Room accommodated the King size bed easily with plenty of room for a good sized roll away or 2 (if needed) and still plenty of living space.
- Large lanai with a beautiful ocean front view over looking the Manta Ray viewing area. The view was beautiful as well as the soothing sound of the ocean crashing into the lava rock a few feet away.
- Pool is fantastic how it wraps around into different areas of the resort. If The section near the slide was a bit busier with a few kids we were easily able to move to another area and feel like we had our own private pool and lounging area. Near the waterfall is great or even by the slide. but close to the ocean. The pool waterfall and the ocean crashing against the lava rock a few feet from the pool were very relaxing and drown out other noises. They were in the process of adding 3 easy pool entry chairs for disabled. To date I have not seen these available at other hotels and resorts. I am thankful I do not need to use them. But I was very impressed as this adds a very nice touch. Service from pool bar was slow and expensive. $10 Drinks like Mai Tais and Pina Coladas. lava Flows (yum!). $9 at the actual restraunt bar. Happy hour offered around $2 discount. But almost took full hour to get the 1 drink. The bar tender did not accept orders at the bar. He would send the 1 person by that was taking orders and serving everyone around the entire huge pool area. drink size seemed small as well.
- Dinner and breakfast were both very good . Pizza and 2 good side salads were less than $30. About the same as going out to pizza here on the main land. Breakfast buffet was included with our package. Nice choices for healthy filling breakfast options as well as a few not so health conscious choices. But hey, what'a a vaca. without a few cheat items.
- Close short easy walk to bay where You can rent Kayaks and snorkel/masks etc. FairWinds yours launch from here as well. Had a great snorkel trip on the Hula Kai. Another review. Another time.
- Lot of shopping and good options not to far down Ali street. Shuttles free.

Tip- Boats doing Manta Ray viewing run for about 1.5 hours after full dark. They shine under water lights a little further out from the shore to attract the plankton followed by the Mantas. During this time it was very difficult or impossible to see the Manta Rays from the rooms, restraunt or viewing deck. Wait until the tour boats leave and the Sheraton lights are the main attraction for the marine life. The Manta's are then visible and amazing to watch. Mid Nov. This was anytime after 7:30 on. Manta's were still active after 11on.

1  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Mahalo for sharing such a detailed review of your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We’re thrilled that you chose to spend two nights with us to relax and enjoy the beauty that surrounds our resort. Our spectacular location along the ocean's lava cliffs provides breathtaking views and sets the stage for a peaceful experience. We do apologize for the delay you encountered poolside and hope that it did not greatly impact your overall stay. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel has just undergone a refurbishment. Even though though the building itself may look a bit dated, the rooms, lobby and facilities are new and clean. We had dinner at Rays on the Bay and it was fantastic, the view and the ambience was really superb. The food was surprisingly good too especially after reading some of the reviews. I especially love the Miso shrimp salad. the cocktails on the other hand were only ok.

Just wanted to say that my family and I had such a wonderful stay at the Sheraton Kona resort and would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We sincerely appreciate your many kind remarks about our resort, thank you. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay has, as you mentioned, recently completed nearly $20 million in renovations and we are all very excited to share the many wonderful changes with our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining at Rays on the Bay where you can relax by the fire pit lounge; view manta rays just off shore and indulge in some of the freshest local seafood on the island. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family back again and we hope it’s soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived from LAX at 10:30 pm. Our check in was quick and we were told we could grab a bite at the restaurant overlooking the Manta Rays. It is a lovely restaurant but sadly, the food left much to be desired. This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere but really needs quality control help. We ate dinner here the following night and it was another disappointing meal with magical atmosphere and great Hawaiian music! Drinks are very good! Room service omelet was very good but coffee expensive, room temperature and average at best! Not good presentation. If the food was better at this hotel, I believe it would be a 5 star!!! They need food management that "Gets it!"

The bath amenities are very nice! We had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean! I would recommend requesting these rooms even if they are a bit extra. Beds, wonderful! Linens great. Towels just okay.

Would we go back?! Absolutely!!!! Hope they fix the food...but it wouldn't stop us from returning!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Aloha! All feedback from our guests is welcomed and we greatly appreciate that you have provided us with your impressions and suggestions. Thank you very much for the many compliments you have given to us. We truly regret that although you have expressed your pleasure with the atmosphere and music while dining, you were not overly impressed with the cuisine. Our new Chef du Cuisine at Rays is working on refining the menu in our new restaurant and your input is valuable to the process, thank you. Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews