We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,028)
Filter reviews
3,028 results
Traveller rating
888
1,065
612
297
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
1,065
612
297
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrays on the baymanta raybay restaurantkeauhou baythe big islandself parkinga mountain view roomfree trolleyocean frontbreakfast buffetcoffee shopgreat poolpoolside barpool staffpool sideoceanfront roombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 3,028 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

You don't always get what you pay for...

With all the nice resorts on the island, I'm surprised Sheraton hasn't done more to upkeep the property. Carpets in the room were stained and dingy. The chair had gum dried on. Shower was dingy at best with visibly stained grout. Water pressure was OK but toilet didn't really flush unless you really wiggled the handle. Basically it looks like the room has been well used since the late 80s and never remodeled. Pool staff was friendly but no one was going out of their way to help you. We wandered around for 30 min with luggage trying to find our room and an elevator passing several staff members, none of whom offered to help. Food and drinks were pricy but nothing you wouldn't expect. The little touches like plastic forks instead of metal and no servers at the pool really set this place below similar resorts. The coffee bar was closed for no particular reason other then maybe it was a slow week at the resort so they didn't think it was worth opening all the advertised amenities.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Aloha Jay V,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kona! Your response will be shared with our team as we move forward with improvements to the resort. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Positives: The hotel grounds are immaculate. The sunset is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The outdoor spaces are stunning.

Negatives: The hotel staff is either overworked or doesn't care. I've stayed at a Motel 6 that had better service. From the greeting to any request I had, the answers and attitude from the staff is on par with a McDonalds. This is a 4 star hotel and DOES NOT have room service. I'm a platinum elite member of SPG and stay at many Sheratons. Some are decent some are fantastic, but this property is such a shame. It could be SO much more with better, caring, attentive staff. The rooms are older too. I can't imagine how the Sheraton brand can hold onto this hotel. This is a Ramada Inn at best. The potential for this place is huge.
Advice to GM- step it up, you have a phenomenal property and a little more charm with your staff could make this hotel great. And with regards to room service, fix that immediately. If I want to order soup in my room, figure it the hell out. C'mon now.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mh77mh77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kona. We value your feedback and will share your issues with our team, so we can improve the overall guest experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again here at the Sheraton Kona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

This Sheraton is in desperate need of a remodel! The elevator was a little scary - slow and shaky. The hallways just looked run down. The bathroom was clean but very old. We also booked a couples package at the spa. It was just an odd experience. I felt rushed. They were behind schedule and shaved at least 5 minutes off the hot tub and the massages. Not the service I expected for a $300+ package. I did like the open air feel of the resort overall but a complete remodel is way overdue!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 18, 2017

Aloha Jamie W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We strive to exceed each of our guests expecations and clearly we missed the mark. Please note we have shared your feedback with Ho'ola Spa as well as our leadership team to ensure this was an insolated incident. Mahalo for staying with us and hopefully we will be able to host you in the near future.

A hoi hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful grounds and resort location. We stayed on the 5th level and enjoyed our view of the mountains, grounds, and a bit of ocean. Very quiet, and slept with our patio door open most nights. A/C was a bit noisy but it worked. Bathroom tub/shower area is a bit worn down but everything was clean and worked. Housekeeping were very friendly, felt front desk wasn't as knowledgeable. Concierge MarLea was very helpful and super nice. We spent most of our days touring the island. Did not eat here, but did use the beautiful pool area.

Enjoyed the quietness of this resort. Would stay again. Luau is tonight so hoping it's a great end to our trip!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sparkyshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

The location of this resort along with the main areas of this hotel are great but the guest rooms are in serious need of updating. Hopefully they are planning to address the rooms. It almost felt like the guest rooms were a part of a different resort since the lobby, pool and restaurant were all beautiful. Aside from looking quite outdated, our bathroom tub was covered in mildew. Would not return to this hotel unless they refurbish the guest rooms.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank melissamccrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 17, 2017

Aloha melissamccrink,
Mahalo for staying with us at the Sheraton Kona. We are happy you enjoyed our gorgeous pool and restaurant Ray's on the Bay. I apologize about the conditions and cleanliness of your guest room. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team. Mahalo for your comments and hopefully we can be your home away from home in the near future.

A hoi hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews