We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spirit of Aloha at the Sheraton Kona: found at last after initially being lost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Aloha back from the trip a few hours ago.
Just returned from a surprise birthday present to my wife.
The Swim with the Manta rays was high on her wish list. and the Sheraton offered the best location next door.

This once gem of Kona still offers a great location , grounds and activities.
it offers now a great family destination or a great base before going to explore what the big island has in store.
The free trolley to go in the old kona is a plus and with a bit of explaining can offer an alternate to a $ 80 a day car rental option (seating is limited and some other guests could not board 2 trolleys in a row as they were already full) .
time is money in paradise.

Great grounds to The Hotel choices for meal service varied during the stay, the coffee shop at the pool level was open on Friday morning and closed through the following Monday.
the light fare option was the pool restaurant.
High surf forced the closure of half of the available space at the Rays on the Bay restaurant thus creating a shortage of space and requesting reservation for a table.

The size of the property also assures for your daily count of steps should you need to "schlep"
back and forth to the room and pool, restaurants and or excursions.

The Spirit of Aloha was found with the following great employees :

Debra the manager at the front desk who took the time to listen and react in a professional manner when a series of issues arose.

Erin at the front Counter who arranged for the late check out and provided the best information.

Gary at the Concierge desk, a gold mine of information (and Foreigner # 1 fan)

Aunt Jane for Room Service, with the best Aloha greeting in the morning !

The ukulele and Hawaiian dance class in the lobby.

the spirit of Aloha was not felt for the following is written as for the management to be aware of the issues and hopefully remedy it before any other trip to visit the Manta rays in the bay.

Our misfortune for this reservation was to get a parking lot view room in a sold out hotel with No other alternative to switch to after mentioning the following:.

# 4 Am Friday and Monday when the refuse service came to collect the trash with a bang.
-> The hotel should negotiate with their suppliers: 4 Am trash truck or 7 Am Robert bus services both equipped with a backing beeping signal.

# The loudest locks on the doors that made each door closing to sound as if it was slammed....at any time of the day and the night.

I have left the recommendation for management to spend a week day night in room 4367 and experience both. Hopefully this could force some solutions to be found even faster?

#The lack of documentation by employees of an issue into the client file when being addressed thus forcing a re-visit of the disagreement by the time of checking out is borderline insulting and definitely not expected in a SPG / Sheraton brand property.

We will return to Kona for the Fair Winds Manta Cruise.
our choices for rooms and requests will be stronger by our next visit.
Mahalo !

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meherio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

I booked this hotel because it was rated decently but the service was poor to what the Sheraton flag normally provides. The hotel is in a great location with the view and waves being phenomenal. The property itself is dated and far from modern.

The check in was particularly poor since it took a long time. The booking was done incorrectly so one of us had to sleep on a caught, they did however upgrade the room type to a better view. Unfortunately check in took over 20 minutes to do this, when normally its done in minutes. The attitude of the staff wasn't great since I believe they may have been over whelmed with unhappy guests. There were a couple of others I saw whose bookings were also done incorrectly (this could be a Sheraton bookings issue and not this hotels fault).

Be aware that all of the restaurants and bars on the resort close at 10:30 pm. I ordered a meal from one of the restaurants and told them about my allergies but I don't think they paid too much attention since I still had a bad reaction afterward. We were still charged for the bill. I was in a hurry to get back to the room and take a reactine so there was no time to bother arguing over that.

Over all I probably wouldn't stay at this property again when I return in August. I'll likely try another property.

Room Tip: Ask for the view where the water is hitting the rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Khela_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Aloha and Greetings!

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We strive to providing excellent customer service and providing guests with memorable stays, unfortunately we missed the mark. Please know your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

You don't always get what you pay for...

With all the nice resorts on the island, I'm surprised Sheraton hasn't done more to upkeep the property. Carpets in the room were stained and dingy. The chair had gum dried on. Shower was dingy at best with visibly stained grout. Water pressure was OK but toilet didn't really flush unless you really wiggled the handle. Basically it looks like the room has been well used since the late 80s and never remodeled. Pool staff was friendly but no one was going out of their way to help you. We wandered around for 30 min with luggage trying to find our room and an elevator passing several staff members, none of whom offered to help. Food and drinks were pricy but nothing you wouldn't expect. The little touches like plastic forks instead of metal and no servers at the pool really set this place below similar resorts. The coffee bar was closed for no particular reason other then maybe it was a slow week at the resort so they didn't think it was worth opening all the advertised amenities.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Aloha Jay V,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kona! Your response will be shared with our team as we move forward with improvements to the resort. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Positives: The hotel grounds are immaculate. The sunset is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The outdoor spaces are stunning.

Negatives: The hotel staff is either overworked or doesn't care. I've stayed at a Motel 6 that had better service. From the greeting to any request I had, the answers and attitude from the staff is on par with a McDonalds. This is a 4 star hotel and DOES NOT have room service. I'm a platinum elite member of SPG and stay at many Sheratons. Some are decent some are fantastic, but this property is such a shame. It could be SO much more with better, caring, attentive staff. The rooms are older too. I can't imagine how the Sheraton brand can hold onto this hotel. This is a Ramada Inn at best. The potential for this place is huge.
Advice to GM- step it up, you have a phenomenal property and a little more charm with your staff could make this hotel great. And with regards to room service, fix that immediately. If I want to order soup in my room, figure it the hell out. C'mon now.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mh77mh77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kona. We value your feedback and will share your issues with our team, so we can improve the overall guest experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again here at the Sheraton Kona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This Sheraton is in desperate need of a remodel! The elevator was a little scary - slow and shaky. The hallways just looked run down. The bathroom was clean but very old. We also booked a couples package at the spa. It was just an odd experience. I felt rushed. They were behind schedule and shaved at least 5 minutes off the hot tub and the massages. Not the service I expected for a $300+ package. I did like the open air feel of the resort overall but a complete remodel is way overdue!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 January 2017

Aloha Jamie W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We strive to exceed each of our guests expecations and clearly we missed the mark. Please note we have shared your feedback with Ho'ola Spa as well as our leadership team to ensure this was an insolated incident. Mahalo for staying with us and hopefully we will be able to host you in the near future.

A hoi hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful grounds and resort location. We stayed on the 5th level and enjoyed our view of the mountains, grounds, and a bit of ocean. Very quiet, and slept with our patio door open most nights. A/C was a bit noisy but it worked. Bathroom tub/shower area is a bit worn down but everything was clean and worked. Housekeeping were very friendly, felt front desk wasn't as knowledgeable. Concierge MarLea was very helpful and super nice. We spent most of our days touring the island. Did not eat here, but did use the beautiful pool area.

Enjoyed the quietness of this resort. Would stay again. Luau is tonight so hoping it's a great end to our trip!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sparkyshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The location of this resort along with the main areas of this hotel are great but the guest rooms are in serious need of updating. Hopefully they are planning to address the rooms. It almost felt like the guest rooms were a part of a different resort since the lobby, pool and restaurant were all beautiful. Aside from looking quite outdated, our bathroom tub was covered in mildew. Would not return to this hotel unless they refurbish the guest rooms.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank melissamccrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 January 2017

Aloha melissamccrink,
Mahalo for staying with us at the Sheraton Kona. We are happy you enjoyed our gorgeous pool and restaurant Ray's on the Bay. I apologize about the conditions and cleanliness of your guest room. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team. Mahalo for your comments and hopefully we can be your home away from home in the near future.

A hoi hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
9.8 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
41.7 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
45.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $258 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing