We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and successful first lesson!”

Surfer Bear Hawaii Surf Lessons
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun and successful first lesson!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Barry and Jeff were skilled and fun teachers - they know the local beach and waves really well and are fantastic at packing a lot into a lesson without it feeling overwhelming. Both my friend and I got up and standing, and the lesson ended when we both felt exhausted and happy. A great way to see the beauty of the island from the ocean's point of view.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank iphogene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very attentive and patient”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Barry was great. Lots of time and attention. A lot of fun for a first time surfer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ESieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous, safe surf lessons for young teenagers!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Jeff and Barry were just great with our 13 year old kids. Our daughter had never surfed before, and our son had surfed 5 times.

Jeff was extremely careful, and stayed very close. He waited until they could both stand up (as well as listen to, and follow instructions!) before he took them to deeper water for bigger waves.

The kids had a 2 hour class, and had so much fun they didn't want to leave the water!

Yeah Surfer Bear!!! Couldn't be better (or nicer!) men teaching kids the joys of surfing, and doing it safely!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-do in Kona”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Jeff and Surfer Bear are the best part of the lesson! Two fun guys who give a great surf lesson. They definitely helped us improve our skills and know the waves in and around Kahaluu. Surf lessons aren't cheap but these two made us feel it was worth it. They are great with any age, any skill level. They're relaxed instructors and ensure your safety. We'll do another lesson next time we're back in Kona. They are great hosts for the Big Island too - not much they don't know!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lesson!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I had a great time with Jeff of Surfer Bear, he was very encouraging and taught at a pace that was suitable for your own needs. Initially there were two of us doing lessons, but after watching the waves, my boyfriend decided he did not want to go out into the water so I went out on my own. Jeff was very flexible when part way through my lesson, my boyfriend said he wanted to jump into the water too and we both had a great time! Thanks!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rx_sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfer Bear Hawaii Surf Lessons also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Surfer Bear Hawaii Surf Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing