We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic island tour.”

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book In Advance
More Info
US$750.00*
and up
Viator VIP: The Sunset Experience Helicopter Tour from Kona
Ranked #24 of 207 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We did the 10-11 hours volcano tour by air and land. Totally amazing. Very helpful and professional staff. Excellent pilots. Great Bell helicopters with a good view for everybody - maybe a little bit better for the passenger sitting in the co-pilot seat.
We flew from Kona over Mauna Loa and the Kilauea crater with the active lava eruption. So interesting to see this very recent and still on-going geological activity.
Landed at Hilo and then made a 7 hour ground tour before boarding the helicopters once again to fly up the Hamakua Coást and into the Waimanu Valley with the waterfalls.
Pricey but totally worth it.

Thank Olle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"helicopter tour"
in 117 reviews
"both sides"
in 61 reviews
"ground crew"
in 35 reviews
"middle seat"
in 31 reviews
"lava flow"
in 63 reviews
"window seat"
in 31 reviews
"great pilot"
in 28 reviews
"active lava"
in 33 reviews
"open door"
in 15 reviews
"the big island"
in 201 reviews
"hilo airport"
in 25 reviews
"circle island"
in 12 reviews
"green sand beaches"
in 9 reviews
"blue hawaiian"
in 10 reviews
"experience hawaii"
in 13 reviews
"the entire island"
in 28 reviews
"ginger candy"
in 13 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

We went in late July to show my other half the big island since she'd had never been before. I must say it was the perfect way to show some one the Big Island in all its glory in a short amount of time (The flight around the Island was about 3hrs). We saw Stunning waterfalls and active lava flows all in one flight, our pilot was a pleasure to talk to and gave us a knowledgeable tour during the trip and offered to swoop around another time any of us were unable to see major locations.

Thank Emanfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had such an Amazing time on this helicopter ride. Our guide Yori was Fantastic. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Initially we had a tour booked for a Saturday but it was canceled due to weather which is expected there but we were easily rescheduled to a couple days later our choice, we were also offered a full refund if we chose which of course why would we, being we were there for 6 days and were just on day 2. We took this tour the day before we left. I recommend taking it as soon as possible just incase you get bad wether like we did first time around. It also gives you a great overall layout of the island so that you can know where to go to explore. Cant wait to go back and see the volcanos, waterfalls, ocean and more!!! Oh and if you get the opportunity the Co-pilot seat is the best seat for impeccable views and experience!!!! I loved everything about Paradise Helicopters!!!!

Thank Kenya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Great way to get an overview of the Big Island. Ryan was very informative about the volcanos and waterfalls. Helicopter seated 6+ pilot but as a family of 5 we all got window seats and the one middle seat was empty. That was good for photos from both sides. Not as much glowing lava as you would hope for but in our 2 hours we saw some great views and learnt a lot.

2  Thank RichAnderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

i have to give 1 star as no zero star option. booked door off trip at least 3 month ago.
got called from paradise helicopters to confirm the trip a day before the trip. arrived Hilo airport/paradise helicopter office 1:30pm as required and paid parking fee and credit card is charged. At 2:30 which was the departure time, we were told the trip is cancelled due to maintenance issue of the aircraft. Just cold word sorry no friendly gesture that to pay for parking fee ($3 only) or anything to make up for waisting us time. Looks like they do this often. Good thing we planed this as nice to have and we have backup plan. So don't book this at late afternoon if you really want to do it or be prepared to waste 1 hour and 3$ parking fee with your backup plan if booking with this company.

4  Thank jean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise H, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Aloha Jean,

When we are forced to cancel a flight, we do so with our guest's safety in mind. We understand that doing so is an inconvenience for our guests, but at the end of the day, flying safely is our #1 priority. Because there can be any number of things that can cause a maintenance cancel, we never know in advance how long a fix will take. In many instances, it can be as short as a couple of minutes. I apologize that you felt you were not given a better explanation while you were at the airport. If you would like to contact us directly, I would be happy to find a resolution for the parking fee.

Mahalo,
Damon Stirling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing