We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So Glad Marriott took over the King Kam!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Glad Marriott took over the King Kam!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The King Kamehameha hotel at the bay in Kona, Hawaii, is a Kona treasure. It stands near some sacred hawaiian grounds, namely, the place where King Kamehameha passed away. This hotel has been in a constant state of disrepair for years when the owners were finally refurbishing it. Then Kona was hit with its most recent Tsunami and parts of the hotel were ruined. Now Marriott Courtyard has taken over this hotel and once again it is a pleasurable place. The tsunami really did it a favor; it has been restored and is a beautiful place once again. The Hotel boasts a lovely "new" restaurant on the main floor which is open to the bay and butts right up to the beach, with outdoor fire pits for cool nights. The restaurant is pricey but for those who don't mind $$ it's well worth it. The outdoor pool has been completely redone and is once again very acceptable except for the fact that they constantly keep the pool's water level to the VERY TOP of the pool. the splash-over keeps the surrounding pool area soaking wet constantly. i'm not sure why they do this but that's the way they keep it. The main floor and lobby areas are re-done and boast ancient hawaiian artifacts, canoes, paintings, and stores. i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We love to hear when our valued guests appreciate all the renovations that was done to the property. We have been receiving alot of great comments about our renovations and all the new amenities we offer.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    1,262
    334
    84
    55
See reviews for
748
1,263
150
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel pays tribute to the late 18th century Hawaiian ruler of the same name, and it’s an interesting history that you can read about in the hotel lobby. You can learn all about his life and his Hawaiian conquest and about his wives, yes that’s wives plural. What you won’t be able to do is accurately pronounce his name or the names of any of his family members. In fact, according to Wikipedia his full name is Kalani Paiʻea Wohi o Kaleikini Kealiʻikui Kamehameha o ʻIolani i Kaiwikapu kaui Ka Liholiho Kūnuiākea. It’s a tongue twister of Seussian proportions, if Dr. Seuss had been a Pacific Islander, that is.

Overall, we found the hotel to be pretty nice. I originally booked it for the beach, which seemed waaaaay bigger in the picture. There wasn’t much of one to speak of, actually, and most sunbathers simply hung out at the pool. Beaches on Kona are pretty rare, in fact. The coastline is mostly rocky, and we had to hop in the Jeep in order to scope out a decent beach.

But I think the best part about the Kamehameha is its location, being adjacent to a great walking district full of stores and restaurants. Just head east on Ali Drive and you’ll find pretty much everything in the way of shopping and eating. I sampled a number of local items that were brand new to me, such as marlin sushi, kava root tea, poke, and a confectionary concoction known as Donkey Balls, which fortunately, have nothing to do with the hind parts of an animal named after, well, hind parts. Macadamia nuts, light or dark chocolate, toffee or sometimes sea salt or cocoa powder = total addiction, and we ate them pretty much everyday during our trip.

slacktraveler.com

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlackTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
501 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Let me start by saying that we have stayed in Kailua 4 times now and we will go back, and with near cetainty I can say we will stay at the new King Kam again. However, all is not perfect at this place. The good sides: the location is great for those who want to be able to walk to the bars, restaurants and shopping along Alii drive, the hotel has been completely remodeled from the old days and we liked the new style a lot, the Marriott brand and what is behind it is a positive for us, the staff were very nice, helpful and friendly, the grounds were very nice overall. The less than good sides: dont expect a tropical resort as you might imagine in Hawaii- this is a Courtyard afterall- you are not paying high end resort prices, our room was not completely clean when we moved in- lint, paper on the floor and a couple wrappers- but the daily cleaning was good after that move in, they charge extra $10 for parking- it worked well enough but dont like to pay extra, the materials they used in the remodel seem like perhaps were not the best choices- the color scheme is great but the white hotel room doors and light green walls are already showing signs of significant wear- the place could look and feel shabby pretty soon if they dont keep up, the bed was way too soft for both my wife and I. I never did get a good night sleep in 7 nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your visit to Kona. At Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel we strive to provide our valued guests with the highest level of service. We appreciate your suggestions and feedback as this helps us to improve our service and hospitality for all guests.
We are sorry to hear about your housekeeping issues. I assure you that our cleaning procedures will be revisited to insure that each of our rooms are completely cleaned and ready to welcome our guests. Our service and and cleanliness standards are very high, and we will continue to work towards creating a clean, safe and problem-free stay for our guests.
Many thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to your return to Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Recently renovated. Wonderful location right on the edge of town and adjacent to a beach

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you want value and proximity to town and the Kona coast, rather than resort living, the redone King Kam is perfect: spacious, clean rooms, beach towels, well-stocked bathroom, free ice, refer, a VERY friendly and accommodating staff, private, calm sandy beach, museum-like lobbies with an interactive sightseeing monitor, plenty of parking ($10/day & worth it), attached convenience store, poolside bar and restaurant, and an easy walk to the south end of Kailua town and larger stores a block east. The front desk immediately offered us two better choices when we disliked being next to a noisy air intake & dumpster on the north side. Lagoon tower oceanfront rooms overlook the beach, King Kam's summer home, and the picturesque part of Kailua town ($197). Daughter's courtyard room was also pleasant, but avoid street-facing rooms. Lots of (laughing) kids in pool and spa morning to 10 pm, but the pool is big and there were chaises available most of the time. Music from the bars does float over on Saturday nights. (Early to rise, early to bed? Bring ear plugs.) Hotel coffee policy of 2 pkgs regardless of stay creates more bad will than money saved. Your housekeeper can exchange decaf pkg for reg coffee, but must charge $3 after these first two--gripe to the manager, not her, and buy additional packets at the ABC store downstairs. Only bummer--summer break, King Kam/St. Pat holiday, locals' discount, and lax security meant a full, rambunctious house and several disturbances of an otherwise tranquil setting, the worst being a woman screaming and cussing for hours into the phone while her two little kids cowered on the balcony. Although we reported this to security, the situation was unchanged when we returned two hours later. However, in our ten-year experience of this island, the vast majority of locals are extremely polite, friendly, hard-working, and helpful. Don't miss Place of Refuge, Huggo's on the Rocks for pupus, Mermaids and World Core in Kona Marketplace for cool beachwear, and lunch ($8) or early dinner (25+) at the new Allen's Table in Waimea, well worth the drive; we loved the fried green zebras appetizer and Sam's poached pear martini.

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower oceanfront top floor pool-side corner room (#622) had best view, along with two adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacific_Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Aloha and thank you for posting a great review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovated hotel and all the amenities we offer and also our convenient location. Thank you for your kind words for our staff. I will make sure to share your compliments with our staff.

My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced from neighboring guests during your stay. We hope this inconvenience has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel.

Many thanks again, and should you find yourself coming to Kona again, we would appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This upper-end hotel is right downtown Kailua Kona, with a swimming pool and beach area right up against the waterfront and public pier. The room amenities are clean and well-furnished, although the rooms are not large. The hotel has a smoke-free policy, which we welcomed, but are not sure how well it is enforced. We had a regular room with king bed, mini-fridge and coffeemaker, no micro-wave. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the most comfortable mattress we have slept on in sun destinations, or anywhere while traveling, (we take a 1½ inch mattress topper with us when we travel, but we didn’t use it here). There are some stores on the main level of the hotel, including an ABC store. The art display in the lobby portraying the history of Hawaii is exceptionally well done. A good place to stay, especially if you want to be close to the waterfront and downtown old Kona.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the west side avoid the traffic noise out front (east).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities of the property and the comfort of our rooms and don't forget our convenient location. Many thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

After staying at the King Kamehamehs's Kona Beach Hotel, now owned by Marriott, I have to post a new review. I try very hard to stay away from doing negative reviews, but with such a large corporation like Marriott, I felt it was necessary.

The Hotel has lost most of the staff that used to work there that always made you feel like you are the most important person in the world. Yes, there are still a few left, who try so hard to accommodate the Guest’s needs, but they simply cannot do it all.

The Wait Staff in the Dining Room is just plain HORRIBLE, there is no other word to describe how inattentive and uncaring they are and for the price they are charging, you would EXPECT premium service. The only person who works at the restaurant that we encountered who seemed to care was the Gentleman Host (One of the Employees who have been there for years). The staff is great at clearing dishes from the table, but could care less if you need or want something. And do not waste your money on the Dinner Buffet. When they finished the remodel from the Tsunami and Marriott didn’t own the place it was GREAT, but now that Marriott took over the food (and the service) just plain suck!! Prime-rib tuff and crab rubbery, not a big choice and not worth the price.

The room was not clean. Not to the degree of it being uncomfortable, but enough to make you turn your head. The bathroom was full of water spots on the chrome and black marble counter top, giving the impression of it not being cleaned. One of the rooms we were in had something spattered on the counter, mirror, and wall... I would have thought this was just one instance, but we had to move rooms three times and each of the rooms had something ‘dirty’, in addition to the feeling the bathroom was just not clean. Another room had un-emptied trash in a can. Another room had a dirty bathroom floor. Most things were simply something that would have taken just the “extra effort”. For instance they did a huge remodel and the cloth chair in one room had 8 inch strings hanging off the seating area from the upholstery... How simple would it have been to get a pair of scissors or pull the threads? Just many ‘little” things, not enough to gross one out, but like I said things to turn your head. Please know that the room change the first time is because the Wi-Fi has a very low signal in areas of the hotel - if this is important to you check the wi-fi before unpacking.

Talk about Customer Service..... Half way through our vacation we went to bed one night and “someone” or “something” was banging on the wall. I called the front desk at midnight, 2am, 3:30am, 5am, and at 7am was absolutely was at my wits end. Each time I was told they would send someone from Security. Finally at 7am the person at the front desk reported that security had never gotten back to them, but assured me they had looked into it each time and that they will send someone again and provide a follow up call this time. Delirious from the banging and no sleep, they offered to send someone “again”. At 8:30, I had not heard from anyone and I was ready to start pounding my head into the wall. I called again and the front desk person explained there was a fan banging the wall in the room next to us and that it was drying the carpet where there had been a water problem and that there was nothing they could do about it. She offered to change our room. We packed EVERYTHING up and waited for someone to bring us the key to the new room. The Bell Man came with the new key, (Another long-time Employee with compassion and a brain) helped move us down the hall and I shared the story. After we got moved; he went to inspect the noise himself. He came back to report that it was simply a lampshade banking on the wall from the fan. OMG!!! Could the “others” who went in there, (if anyone did at all), not have figured that out or did they just not care??? We were given to free Breakfast buffet. We went down for the Breakfast buffet and it was just as bad, if not worse than the food and service at the dinner buffet. My son got sick from Breakfast ans we were both so tired we lost an entire day of our vacation, just simply from poor customer service.

The gals at the outside pool bar are all wonderful (old employees) and always very friendly and accommodating. Sit at the bar or hang around the pool it’s very relaxing, but if you expect to lounge by the pool, there are very minimal quantity of lounge chairs – be prepared if you want one..

Marriott needs to step up!!!. They took a quaint little local hotel that was comfortable and had decent food and employees who cared about guests; that I have always rated top of the line and have turned it into an ‘average” place, hardly to Marriott standards.

So, if I went to stay there again, I wouldn’t eat there- no matter how starving I was and I would stop at Wal-Mart and buy a bottle of cleaning stuff to spray things down in the room and definitely will not expect much customer service from employees except the old timers and it’s very easy to figure out which ones they are.

The Hotels up North are much more expensive, some pretentious, some have their benefits, but they just simply are nowhere near town, This is why I have stayed at the King Kam, but next year I will have to think seriously as to what I want to do...

In conclusion, I still gave it a half-way rating because aside from the Royal Kona, down the street, where the rooms have tile floors and remind you of buffet apartments, this is the only hotel on the water, right in the town of Kona, not run down and walking distance of so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical, except for their view - aside from the 'ocean front' at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I would like to sincerely apologize for the situation you experienced while being a valued guest of our hotel. The staff and management are constantly striving to provide our guests with quality accommodations and service. It appears we may have fallen short of our normal goals and standards. I assure you your situation was an out of the norm experience during your stay.

Rest assured we are striving to make improvements in all areas of the resort. Our General Manager has addressed your concerns with the department heads for review and they will take corrective action to prevent future reoccurrences.

We do appreciate your comments as they help us to strive in creating a positive experience for our guests and I am grateful since your review has enabled me to eliminate an issue that will help us better serve our guests in the future.

We hope this inconvenience has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel.

Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, and I hope we will have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing